UML wrote:Essar pulls out of $12b Claxton Bay project
Camille Bethel South Bureau
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl ... =161628486
Tuesday, April 13th 2010
India-based Essar Steel Caribbean Limited (ESCL) has abandoned its controversial $12 billion project near Pranz Gardens, Claxton Bay.
The company closed its offices at Atlantic Plaza, Point Lisas, in January, and company officials have returned to India.
The project may be ’revisited’ several years from now, the Express was told.
Among the employees affected was head of security, former police commissioner Trevor Paul.
The project was up to January of this year being hailed by Energy Minister Conrad Enill as a priority project that would be completed.
Enill had said at a post-Cabinet meeting, ’As it relates to new projects, we have agreed that there’ll be a continued priority for Alutrint, there is going to be a priority for the manufacture of steel by Essar-subject to Essar agreeing that they would go downstream and then there is the manufacture of propylene.’
In December 2005, Essar Steel signed an agreement to set up a two million-tonne iron and steel plant in Trinidad but last year, Clico Investment Bank (CIB) fell into financial problems and there was speculation over Essar’s commitment to the local project.
This was dismissed by both CIB and Essar Steel, who said the deal was on and CIB was committed to financing the first phase of the project that was being built near Pranz Gardens, Claxton Bay.
The pullout by Essar has not been acknowledged by the State.
But international business reports are that the project was put on hold because of a slump in demand and the economic downturn.
The project saw years of protest by Pranz Gardens villagers supported by environmentalists, who also challenged the related Claxon Industrial Port project.
The port, being built by the National Energy Corporation (NEC), was meant to be a supply point for raw material for the steel plant.
Last year Essar secured a mineral concession in Brazil, with the iron ore to be shipped to Trinidad. The NEC is still pursuing its plans to build the port.
Last week came news that the Environmental Management Authority had accepted the NEC’s resubmitted documents for the port and was now awaiting public comment before it decides whether or not to grant the Certificate of Environmental Clearance, paving the way for construction.
Environmentalist Dr Wayne Kublalsingh said yesterday: ’Now the anchor tenant on that estate-Essar-has left, but the NEC still wants to go ahead with the port and they have submitted a number of documents to the EMA.’
He added, ’They have submitted documents for the past three years and in the first two instances were rejected because of insufficient information.’
RASC wrote:That's Billions of $US of missed revenues to the country!
Let's hope this project gets its legs back and is completed in a timely manner.
A world class smelter will make us the envy of the region, not to mention the developing world.
RASC wrote:bluesteel29 wrote:RASC wrote:That's Billions of $US of missed revenues to the country!
A world class smelter will make us the envy of the region, not to mention the developing world.
u hadda b joking
I'm very serious.
bluesteel29 wrote:RASC wrote:bluesteel29 wrote:RASC wrote:That's Billions of $US of missed revenues to the country!
u hadda b joking
I'm very serious.
Trinidad is too small for a smelter plant.
RASC wrote:bluesteel29 wrote:RASC wrote:That's Billions of $US of missed revenues to the country!
u hadda b joking
I'm very serious.
foss wrote:RASC wrote:That's Billions of $US of missed revenues to the country!
who envies us?
no really
d spike wrote:RASC wrote:bluesteel29 wrote:RASC wrote:That's Billions of $US of missed revenues to the country!
u hadda b joking
I'm very serious.
Are there not other projects that would make us the envy of the region, not to mention the developing world... that wouldn't run the risk of screwing with our environment to that extreme?
How will it screw up the environment? Because some liberal quack ram it down your throat that industrial development is hazardous to our health, while they bask in the glory of 300Years past of industrialization?
Please, screw any developed nation person coming to tell us what is good and what is not for our environment. They had centuries to build up their infrastructure unabated and unchecked and now wanna come dictate our pace.
Sorry not having it!
Such as an F1 track?
You're seriously comparing the earning potential of an F1 track to a smelter? I know you love motor sports but let's be for real man. No comparison.
Or how about the setting up of multiple "Mega-farms" alongside villages/settlements in Central Trinidad, where people had depended on Caroni Ltd. for employment, to create new employment, produce raw materials for agro-processing, and ultimately export food and other products to our W.I. neighbours?
Help lessen our massive food import bill, and strive to make the Caribbean more self-sustaining?
Mega Farms is probably the best idea. I honestly have not done much research on it, so I can't really comment as I would like. But from my basic understanding, they can be a bit inefficient...I still like the idea tho-when I do some more reading etc, I'll get back to you on that. Feel free to remind me if too much time goes by. Scene.
RASC wrote:foss wrote:RASC wrote:That's Billions of $US of missed revenues to the country!
who envies us?
no really
Well considering we live alot easier life than most of the developing world, I think alot of people.
Country is still VERY young and has a long way to go still. Healthcare, Crime, Transportation...three biggest issues at the moment.
RASC wrote:d spike wrote:RASC wrote:bluesteel29 wrote:RASC wrote:That's Billions of $US of missed revenues to the country!
u hadda b joking
I'm very serious.
Are there not other projects that would make us the envy of the region, not to mention the developing world... that wouldn't run the risk of screwing with our environment to that extreme?
How will it screw up the environment? Because some liberal quack ram it down your throat that industrial development is hazardous to our health, while they bask in the glory of 300Years past of industrialization?
Please, screw any developed nation person coming to tell us what is good and what is not for our environment. They had centuries to build up their infrastructure unabated and unchecked and now wanna come dictate our pace.
Sorry not having it!
Such as an F1 track?
You're seriously comparing the earning potential of an F1 track to a smelter? I know you love motor sports but let's be for real man. No comparison.
Or how about the setting up of multiple "Mega-farms" alongside villages/settlements in Central Trinidad, where people had depended on Caroni Ltd. for employment, to create new employment, produce raw materials for agro-processing, and ultimately export food and other products to our W.I. neighbours?
Help lessen our massive food import bill, and strive to make the Caribbean more self-sustaining?
Mega Farms is probably the best idea. I honestly have not done much research on it, so I can't really comment as I would like. But from my basic understanding, they can be a bit inefficient...I still like the idea tho-when I do some more reading etc, I'll get back to you on that. Feel free to remind me if too much time goes by. Scene.
UML wrote:RASC wrote:d spike wrote:RASC wrote:bluesteel29 wrote:RASC wrote:That's Billions of $US of missed revenues to the country!
u hadda b joking
I'm very serious.
Sorry not having it!
Such as an F1 track?
doh show d uneducated ass u really are nah!!!
u destroying mangrove firstly...dat affecting fauna and flora...and breeding ground for fish and aquatic life...plus it assist in fitration on water
den we can start with occupational illnesses of ppl workign inside....and pollution and illnesses of the people living nearby
radiation, lack of maintenance, lazy ppl who dumping anything anywhere, etc etc etc.
please jus STFU AND UDFR u dumb ass PNM kant!!
UML wrote:...........Mega Farms, BIOFUEL, automotive industry,etc
Efficient and profitable, huge hog barns are being championed as the future of pig farming. As seen in this Country Canada report, one swine operation can churn out as many as 15,000 pigs a year. Such large-scale operations have doubled pig production in the last decade in Manitoba, giving the province a much-needed shot in the arm. Unfortunately there's a down side: manure and lots of it.
Hog barns store gallons of liquid manure in untreated, open-air lagoons, some as big as a football field, holding up to a year's supply of waste. Pointing to the unsightly manure pits, small farmers say bigger isn't better. They say massive barns pose a threat to the environment. They are concerned about leaks, which could contaminate their water source. There needs to be some protection, one farmer tells the CBC. It is not normal farming, he explains. It is an industry.