knocking sound-- sr20

ivar

knocking sound-- sr20

Postby ivar » December 16th, 2009, 4:22 pm

wen i start my car it starts well but as soon as it starts i hear dis knocking sound , but it stops approx 3 seconds after. not to sure where its coming from. de car is a primera sr20de. any suggestions will be appreciated.

thunder7554

Postby thunder7554 » December 16th, 2009, 6:37 pm

biggreen

Postby biggreen » December 16th, 2009, 7:38 pm

it iz said 2 be normal... this is before the oil oicks up..

Postby turbosingh » December 18th, 2009, 10:48 am

Check ur timing chain,but is common in the vvl sr20.

Goolie

Postby Goolie » December 18th, 2009, 10:54 am

commom in the SR20 DE motors as well. its the timing chain n stops when the oil picks up.

Swifted

Postby Swifted » December 18th, 2009, 11:27 am

sounds like rod bearings. check your oil pressure when the engine is cold and at idle, then when it is warm at idle.

ivar

Postby ivar » December 22nd, 2009, 5:38 pm

tanks guys.................

Premera

Postby Premera » December 22nd, 2009, 7:20 pm

pal, that " diesel engine " sound you getting when you start on mornings i know about, as i HAD the same problem until Neil from AUtorama recommended a treatment called " WYNN'S SUPREME ENGINE TUNE UP "

About a week ago i put it in and two days after NOT A SINGLE RATTLE is heard.....it used to be louder the morning after i really raced the car and since the treatment, no noise whatsoever................NONE.......treatment cost about $ 40.00

Try it and get rid of the problem........if u want i will monitor my car tomorrow morning to confirm any noise when i start and respond...... :D :D :D :D

swift gti funatic

Postby swift gti funatic » December 23rd, 2009, 12:25 pm

it's most likely the tensioner and the timing chain guides that are worn....

solution in a bottle :lol: HA

shimon

Postby shimon » April 2nd, 2010, 11:49 pm

rocco

Postby rocco » April 11th, 2010, 12:42 am

Yea the oil pump ent pick up yet well thats my take on it atleast