HOW TO TELL BAD PRESSURE PLATE

Q.A trading

HOW TO TELL BAD PRESSURE PLATE

Postby Q.A trading » March 30th, 2010, 9:15 pm

SUP, need to know how can i tell if my pp is bad, i thing my clutch is bad because how it was slipping( when i change gears, engine goes but the car doesnt) so i believe the clutch is gone.
But how to tell if i have to change my pp too

thanks alot

Postby crazybalhead » March 31st, 2010, 12:28 pm

dan, it depends.

Your stock PP is meant to hold a certain amount of torque. Is your engine upgraded?

How is the pedal pressure, weaker than before?

All kinda things to consider.

If you have upgraded your torque on the engine, I would say upgrade the PP one time. If yuh on a budget, wait till yuh take down the box and inspect for heat damage on the PP, broken fingers etc. and decide then.

Goolie

Postby Goolie » March 31st, 2010, 4:26 pm

how to tell if i have to change my pp too

U'll most likely have to take down the GB to inspect it. The problem i was getting is that under normal driving conditions, no slipping, however, upon 'pressing' a bit it started slipping. Engine revving up and car not going. Upon removal, PP was seen to be scorched and was rough.

Sargeant

Postby Sargeant » April 6th, 2010, 4:43 pm

I change pressure plate in my car put on a ACT street and strip clutch and pressure plate for 2000 but I find my clutch pedal still soft I was expecting since is copper it go be real hard is this normal

redsupra101

Postby redsupra101 » April 6th, 2010, 7:18 pm

Sargeant wrote:I change pressure plate in my car put on a ACT street and strip clutch and pressure plate for 2000 but I find my clutch pedal still soft I was expecting since is copper it go be real hard is this normal

a copper clutch will not make the pedal harder, it will only make the "play" between clutch engaged and disengaged smaller. a heavy duty/high torque pressure plate is what would make the pedal feel harder.