oxidation wrote:try setting the hard drive as your 1st boot device in the bios and see what happens.
Dragist wrote:Yeo gave these Instructions for someones Phone problems some time ago but I think they are applicable to your case .
1) Put PC in hand palm facing up .
2) Stand over dustbin turn hand facing down .......................... Problem Solved .
original_lollybob wrote:questions:
1. If you stick a non windows cd in the drive will the machine boot?
2. what drive letter is windows installed on...
if your mobo is set to boot to drive C: and you have windows installed on E: F: etc etc... this could be the problem
3. SATA or IDE?
if IDE and u running a master/slave scenario with yuh HDD and CDROM make sure the jumpers correct and the cable properly connected.
Dragist wrote:No Probs .![]()
Did you format the disk or is there a previous Windows Installation on the Drive ?
If so make sure you are booting from the new Installation .
Oh and if it's Vista Repeat steps 1) and 2 )
sfa8us wrote:Well if you are sure that your boot order is correct, then you may need to rebuild the boot config
Boot off the XP CD and when you see
Press any key to boot from CD
Well press a key.
Wait for the XP installer to finish loading and choose the option to press R to Repair.
Press R.
The next screen will ask you which Windows installation you would like to log on to. Normally the following will be listed:
1: C:\WINDOWS
You should only see 1 option unless you multibooting off the same HD or you install XP twice on the same drive
Press 1, then Enter to continue.
You may now be asked for the Administrator password.
Enter the admin password or leave it blank if you don't know it hmm...
At the command prompt type:
fixmbr and press Enter and wait till finished
fixboot and press Enter and wait till finished
Wait until you are returned to the Recovery Console.
Type bootcfg /rebuild
Once you are back to the Recovery Console remove the XP CD and restart your PC.
If that dont wont, try using another HD, check you jumper setting or even try booting with out the optical drive connected.
Soundwave wrote:skylinechild wrote:sfa8us wrote:hoss sorry they, when i was tying the post it only had 4 replys to it, now i click post and see other people post before me lol, sorry they partner
is ok man...i just want a solution to the problem....
kerosene and a match...
Re: strange problem, xp won't boot without a cd in the drive
I just conquered the same issue. If you are able to boot to the SATA drive while the XP Install disc is in the drive, try the following:
1. Make sure explorer options are set to show system files
2. Check to see if you have the following files on your SATA XP install (root of drive):
- boot.ini
- ntdetect.com
- ntldr
3. If you're missing any of the above files, copy them from a working XP install using a USB drive (or burn a disc, use a floppy, etc.). You may need to modify the boot.ini file to match your disk confiuration.
I followed the above steps and was able to reboot without using the CD. Good luck.
jackson5 wrote:Re: strange problem, xp won't boot without a cd in the drive
I just conquered the same issue. If you are able to boot to the SATA drive while the XP Install disc is in the drive, try the following:
1. Make sure explorer options are set to show system files
2. Check to see if you have the following files on your SATA XP install (root of drive):
- boot.ini
- ntdetect.com
- ntldr
3. If you're missing any of the above files, copy them from a working XP install using a USB drive (or burn a disc, use a floppy, etc.). You may need to modify the boot.ini file to match your disk confiuration.
I followed the above steps and was able to reboot without using the CD. Good luck.
taken from here - http://www.techsupportforum.com/microso ... drive.html
if dat eh work try using ah different version ah windows.. ah bootleg or sumthing..
stephengobin wrote:first step, make sure you dont have any usb mass storage plugin on system.
reset the bios by changing the jumper setting on the board.
go to your setup and change your first boot device to harddrive.
second boot device to harddrive.
third boot device to cd.
after that remove your keyboard from your system and then boot up.
if it boots up to windows xp please run a disk check to fix the errors on your harddrive.
audioholicz.co wrote:i got this problem already on a dell.. problem was the install cd it self.. changed the cd and installed from another xp cd and it worked fine after..
if you don't get true pm me..
Rebelb14 wrote:Does emachines create a partition on their system hardrive to store drivers and other files? Maybe their is a file their that will fix this problem. Never encountered a problem like yours, Is jus that these brand name computers like my hp laptop love to have a partition for their files on the harddrive and u deleted it when u did your clean format and reinstall of windows.