issforums.com wrote:AUTHENTIC JORDAN XI GUIDE
More than 90% of XI's are FAKE on Ebay!
In this guide, we will look at ways to separate the FAKE Jordan XI from the AUTHENTIC Jordan XI.
THE EASIEST WAY TO SPOT A FAKE SPACE JAM, IS THE STITCHING ON THE TOUNGE
AUTHENTIC SPACE JAMS READ: JUMPMAN JAM
FAKE SPACE JAMS READ: JUMPMAN JORDAN
Look here: This is what the Words should Read on an AUTHENTIC PAIR
Look at these FAKES: Notice how the tounge reads JUMPMAN JORDAN:
HERE ARE SOME AUTHENTIC SPACE JAM IMAGES TO HELP YOU
100% sure it is fake.casper wrote:DETOUR have the number 11 (space jamz) for $999.99
online selling them for almost $300US and other places in trinidad have them for like $1800TT
nikefreak's Full Review: Nike Air Jordan XI Retro Basketball Shoe
Ok, your probably thinking that it is the year 2004 and this shoe came out in 1996, eight years ago. How could a shoe that is that old be the best Air Jordan ever, considering the new XIX model is superb? Well, it does have a little to do with tradition. This is, easily, the favorite Air Jordan of any that have been released by all the shoe heads like me, or just Michael Jordan fans, period. The flashy patent leather on the upper, the clear soles, the embodiment of sport and dress, just makes this shoe so coveted. Plus, the Chicago Bulls 1996 championship run and magical 72-10 record has a little to do with it also. Now, into the meat and potatoes of the shoe (or rather, the cushioning and upper.)
Well, the first thing you will notice is the patent leather upper, that contrary to what you may think, is not there just for show. It is what is referred to as a rand, a stiff piece that is there to provide your foot with lateral support. In this case, it wraps all the way around the shoe, just above the midsole. This is the main drawing point of this shoe, providing very good support. However, it is really not the best supportive element compared to some shoes on the market today, with the Phylon midsoles and thermoplastic urethane inserts. But it does an admirable job, as my foot never felt uncomfortable making a sharp cut.
The upper is made of a ballistic nylon mesh, with the speed lacing loops integrated into the mesh and leather backing. It is very light and provides a measure of breathability. But, being such a light material doesn't give the ankle the best ankle support, although the high cut does provide good support. A internal support device would have made this much better, i.e. a monkey paw. Nike was just developing this technology though, so it was a little too late to add to this shoe. The laces are quite thick and long. You can just tie them once, but you might want to double-lace them to make sure they don't scrape the court.
The innovation, other than the patent leather, is the full-length carbon fiber spring plate that is employed in the midsole. This is the very first shoe that Nike employed this feature into a shoe. Subsequently, it has been used in many shoes since then. When pressed down by your foot, it immediately springs back into place, providing excellent support and stability for your foot. Don't assume that you will feel the "spring" of the plate, you don't. It's not like the springing sensation you get when strapped to a Zoom Air or Shox-based shoe. It's just there to provide great stability, which I felt through and through. My foot felt very stable through court battles.
Speaking of cushioning, this is the last Air Jordan to exclusively use the Air-Sole unit, every one after that having some form of Zoom Air. It utilizes a full-length Air-Sole unit encapsulated in the midsole, which still provides excellent cushioning and court feel. You won't feel the springiness, but it really feels great on your foot.
The outsole is translucent (on most colorways) and provides excellent traction. There is two herringbone inserts in the forefoot and heel, along with the wavy pattern carved into the outsole. Also, the carbon fiber plate is exposed at the arch and you can see it running under the midsole. The only thing is, the clear soles yellow after exposure to the elements, but that is only natural.
Detailing is great on this shoe, as there is a stylized "23" on the heel and a saying on the tongue that spells out "Jumpman Jordan." At first, its hard to see, but you have to look at it sideways to read it, not head-on.
If you are wondering, the Retro part means that this is not the original release of this shoe, just a re-release for it. Jordan Brand has done this a lot, making consumers very happy with the opportunity to pick up Jordans they may have foregone at one point. (And making others mad, since some consumers want to have the only Jordans out and now they are joined by people who have the chance for older Jordans). I do have to say, that it is extremely difficult to find a pair in deadstock condition, meaning not worn and in perfect condition. I went out to my mall at 6:00 am to wait for these when they came out on the release date and every pair was sold out that day. You can find them on ebay and other shoe selling sites. But be warned, there are many fakes of this shoe, so don't be thrown for a ride. Almost never buy from a foreign seller, since a ton of fakes come from Asian countries. And before you think I am racist or something, I'm Asian, so don't think that!
Also, be prepared to pay a lot of money, unfortunately. A deadstock pair can go for almost $300 or more, depending on the colorway. The white/black-dark concord and black/varsity royal-white aka the "Space Jam," since Jordan wore this one in the movie, are extremely hard to find and expensive. But if you are a Jordan fan, i feel as though they are worth picking up. Note that on the Space Jam colorway, it says Jumpman Jam on the tongue, instead of Jumpman Jordan. There have also been a cool grey/white, white/Colombia blue-black and black/varsity red-white colorways, which are hard to find also. Jordan Brand also released several lowtops in multiple colors of patent leather, notably orange, pink, silver, and a snakeskin print. Plus, a LE low-top edition in white and black colorways were released. These are much easier to find and cheaper.
Well, this shoe embodies all that Michael Jordan is about and is a cult favorite among shoe heads and Jordan fans. It still has great performance to match its style and you can wear it with your Jordan apparel or a tux, as the patent leather matches this well! Some people have wore this at their wedding, matching the colorway to their bride's main colors, or even the bride has worn a pair. You see, the Air Jordan XI bridges every gap!
Note-I'm ranking this 4 stars only because the performance compared to today's basketball shoes doesn't compare in technology. But, from a "love" factor, it's 5 stars in my book!
While some sneaker connoisseurs were able to procure their pairs directly from the Nike compound, the masses were left in the dust. Soon the hype died down.
That is, until the movie Space Jam hit theaters and MJ was again caught sporting the exclusive pair.
Naturally, this caused a stir in the sneaker head community. Enough so that when the AJXI was rereleased in 2001, Nike did sneaker heads a solid by re-releasing the Space Jams in retro+ form.
Though the sneakers weren't identical to the pairs rocked by MJ, they were damn close. The shoes dropped and the townspeople rejoiced. Eight years later, the swoosh hopes to enjoy that same success by re-releasing the retro+.
Though some collectors are fuming because their stockpile from 2001 just took a hit, the upcoming release features a few new wrinkles to differentiate the 2001 version. Namely, the tongue accent of JUMPMAN JAM has been replaced with the original JUMPMAN JORDAN logotype.
While this is awesome, it also makes me question the packaging. As you can see from the packaging photos, the box clearly says "JORDAN JUMPMAN". No bueno, no bueno indeed. But I digress, what do you expect from the swoosh?
pioneer wrote:casper
This one is legit
This is yours
Anyone could spot the difference?
andh oss...epinions is yuh source?
casper wrote:I done yess...d ting nuh fake jed...I posted the pics to my cousin in new york and he told me his is the exact same way and he is one of those who pre-ordered it when it launched last year christmas eve last year...so watever yess