Tires and brakes pad experience

rx80

Tires and brakes pad experience

Postby rx80 » March 22nd, 2010, 6:41 pm

Can you guys post some experience with different brands etc.

I'll be looking for a set of tyres shortly so I'll like to know other experiences good/bad
The foll are what I've used and MY experience with them.

TIRES
Dunlop DSST- Great traction, Some road noise and severe trammling, doesn't grip that well in wet conditions.

Dunlop SP Sport- Fair amount of traction, Very quiet, doesn't grip that well in wet conditions.

Dunlop DZ 101 - Good traction, Damn arse loud, grips very well in wet

Yokohama A13- Great traction (better than DSST), no road noise, grips very well in wet locations, some trammling.

Nexen - OK traction, no road noise, no trammling, doesn't grip that well in the wet (less than DSST and SP Sport)

Brakes Pads

Daishin- Worst brake pads ever, very noisy, damages rotors and doesn't work well when hot. Lots of dust

OHK- Cheap but effective, no noise but the pads seems to burn from hard braking. When it burns it stops gripping well and starts making lots of noise. Lots of dust

Raybestos- These hold very well but the braking compound sometimes develops cracks from spirited driving. Doesn't damage rotors.
Some dust but washes off easily

Hawk HPS- Great pads, no noise, very little dust. These pads however take a little time for them to heat up for optimal performance.

Akenobo- Grips OK, some dust but wears rotors.

Wagner- These work very similar to the raybestos but hey have a litle more brake fade probably in between Raybestos and OHK.

Please comment/ add

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » March 22nd, 2010, 6:48 pm

We had a tyres thread earlier that had some good info..
Same goes for various brake pad threads that have passed along the way

Search is yuh fren breds

That said, youd do well to add this info to both of those two..

oxidation

Postby oxidation » March 22nd, 2010, 8:20 pm

damn an i now installed wagner pads today

rx80

Postby rx80 » March 22nd, 2010, 8:39 pm

^^wagner is a great oem replacement pad so don't worry.

I forgot to mention that my car isn't a normal daily.

Sorry for making a repost guess I didn't search good enough I'll be sure and add the info to those threads.

bigchief3679

Postby bigchief3679 » March 22nd, 2010, 10:39 pm

Daishin: you might be better off placing 2 pieces of plywood in your calipers :lol:

Postby wagonrunner » March 22nd, 2010, 10:48 pm

daishin = dai'sheit.

Been using the titanium brand on my car, and the jeep. Very very happy with.

Postby buzz » March 23rd, 2010, 3:26 am

using bosch

no problems

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » March 23rd, 2010, 7:11 am

I use Michelin tyres and Wagner combination. Never had any problems. Tyres are always bought brand new...thats one thing i dont play with.

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » March 23rd, 2010, 7:40 am

nationals on my ad18v set up....works well!

*thanks Dave!* :oops:

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 23rd, 2010, 9:06 am

Tyres

Bridgestone Potenza - Excellent Wet and Dry traction, wears a bit quickly.
Dunlop Direzza - Fair in wet/dry
Sumitomo HTR-ZII - Very Good WEt/Dry - wears a bit quickly
Dunlop Formula - Very Good wet/dry
Nexen (all) - bollocks.
Michelin (cant remember series) - Very Good wet/dry

Brake Pads
Schneider - Good stopping, lots of brake dust, slight-medium fade
Wagner - V. Good Stopping, less brake dust, slight fade
Hawk - Very good stopping, slight brake dust, less fade
Honda OEM - Very Good stopping, medium brake dust, slight fade
Subaru OEM - Very good stopping, slight brake dust, slight fade

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » March 23rd, 2010, 12:03 pm

Nice review there but I can confirm, NO fade on Hawk HPS.. I have tried to brutalise those things, and the more heat I get into it the better it seems to stop...
Truly exceptional pad....

Michelin Energy MXV4 - Crap for the price.. Noisy, average dry traction, average wet traction... Definitely not the kind of performance you expect from a ~$1500 rubber..

But yea, lets try to move tyre reviews to the tyre thread

Conrad

Postby Conrad » March 23rd, 2010, 12:42 pm

CD4Accord wrote:Definitely not the kind of performance you expect from a ~$1500 rubber..

Well you did get f***ed :lol: :lol: :lol:

HAWK HPS pads all around and with all 12 pistons pressing down on them I can stop on a dime especially when heated up. Can be dangerous when stopping at lights (proper modulation is necessary) because vehicles behind don't expect you to stop in such a short distance.

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » March 23rd, 2010, 1:36 pm

I did not get f******... company car, company paid..
I told them to put bridgestone on the car, they claimed they couldnt get it in size, which is a pack of ass cause I know Ramrattan M in sando will custom order for you if need be

I think someone there pull some kinda inside connections, cause the tyres they put on had been sitting there for almost 2 years...
Anyway, 1 year later, I still have an open dispute with the company for them to replace with Bridgestone...
Now if only I could get them to pay for some RE960 Pole Positions.... They would too if someone had them in stock, but I doubt they would pay for a custom order

yakuza

Postby yakuza » March 24th, 2010, 7:18 am

Toyo Proxes T1R FTW, excellent dry and wet traction.
Runnin National pads without a problem, a little dusty, but easy on the rotors.

madaz

Postby madaz » March 24th, 2010, 8:51 am

Mintex pads great stopping/ plenty dust/ will only last about 4/5 months with hard driving but you will stop on a dime! (very soft)

Triangle, worst
Nexen, burn out on a spot!
I use DZ101 ok enough for the $$$

Any reviews on the BF Goodrich G Force?

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » March 24th, 2010, 1:12 pm

the BF goodrich is a very good tyre with decent grip and they will last...

The only problem is, the price you will have to pay to get it in Trinidad just ridiculous....

yakuza

Postby yakuza » March 24th, 2010, 1:43 pm

^ same thing for the Toyo, $800+ for a 15".

daymean

Postby daymean » March 24th, 2010, 2:21 pm

Michelin Pilot Sport PS2 -
Good wet/dry traction. Quiet on highway. Gives fair indication of breakaway point. Sidewall is not very stiff. Minimal tramlining. Overall good everday tire.

Toyo Proxes RA-1 -
Great dry traction. Poor wet traction. Tolerable roadnoise on highway. Good indication of breakaway point. Stiff sidewall. Minimal tramlining. Wears quickly. Very good tire.

Toyo Proxes R888 -
Excellent dry traction. Poor wet traction. No indication of breakaway point. Medium/Stiff sidewall. Very loud on the highway. Tramlining. Wears quickly. Good track tire.

Seeker

Postby Seeker » March 24th, 2010, 3:11 pm

Good info there "daymean".

slow323

bosch

Postby slow323 » March 24th, 2010, 3:17 pm

buzz wrote:using bosch

no problems

kumho for the tires good wet and dry traction

Postby 3stagevtec » March 24th, 2010, 5:59 pm

wagonrunner wrote:daishin = dai'sheit.

they bite alot better than the wagner.. i'm using them on my Vitara and noticed a huge improvement in braking when i switched from wagner to titanium..

i've read a few reviews of guys saying they don't stop to well when cold but i disagree.. even when cold, stopping power is more than enough until they warm up..

Postby wagonrunner » March 24th, 2010, 8:26 pm

3stagevtec wrote:
wagonrunner wrote:daishin = dai'sheit.

they bite alot better than the wagner.. i'm using them on my Vitara and noticed a huge improvement in braking when i switched from wagner to titanium..

i've read a few reviews of guys saying they don't stop to well when cold but i disagree.. even when cold, stopping power is more than enough until they warm up..

eh no eh.
i have a lil slope to go down in the morning.
maybe 30°, and 30 feet long.
Believe me, unless i roll down with my foot on the brake at 4.30a, the wagon or jeep WILL NOT STOP at the metal grate where it meets the major road.

Postby 3stagevtec » March 24th, 2010, 9:00 pm

30° is a pretty extreme angle! so i can't argue with that..

when i leave home in the morning, i usually get up to about 60km/h going down a hill near me and i am able to easily scrub off enough speed to navigate a junction at the base of the hill, even with the brakes still cold.. never any drama, never any fear of not stopping..

but i do have 12" rotors up front to play with, so maybe that's just me.. :mrgreen:

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » March 24th, 2010, 9:31 pm

Honestly, only kinda pads that should give less bite when cold are something that can perform at high and extreme temps without fade.. eg. Hawk HPS...
I would be rather worried if your average off the shelf pad needs to heat up before giving you the bite you need...
I saw Titanium but pretensive names like that tend to put me off brands, but aye, I guess im just picky...

Anyone ever used Brembo Sport pads, it was that vs Hawk HPS for me, still havent ran Brembo but im 110% pleased with the Hawk...

rx80

Postby rx80 » March 24th, 2010, 9:37 pm

They use the titanium brand on a couple pick ups at work and I'm not impressed at all with them. They hold considerably less than OEM with some brake fade on heavy driving. I think wagner, raybestos and OHK are the best oem replacement pads.

Conrad

Postby Conrad » March 24th, 2010, 9:44 pm

Oh, the HPS is a lil more expensive than all the other pads mentioned here except for the Brembo Sport.

Has anyone used EBC?

Thinking of purchasing fresh pads for the front this coming weekend.

Where can one get the "wire" that holds the caliper pins in on some calipers?

Postby wagonrunner » March 24th, 2010, 9:46 pm

i'm not the brand's champion but i'm happy with it.
titanium has bought me down from up there to 0 enough times for me to be comfortable with them.
i don't require them to do it all the time. i faster back off the gas, and wait, than run up on something and have to stomp. i also dex with it. never experienced fade with them there either.

CD4Accord wrote:Honestly, only kinda pads that should give less bite when cold are something that can perform at high and extreme temps without fade.. eg. Hawk HPS...
I would be rather worried if your average off the shelf pad needs to heat up before giving you the bite you need...

i don't run out the speedo immediately, but when i need to decelerate rapidly, i'm very happy with them. and that tends not to be within two minutes of my early morning start.

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » March 24th, 2010, 10:24 pm

I find that OHK does a pretty good job of stopping, the only complaint is the noise.. they love to screech on the pajero...
That said, it was that, daishin or titanium for the car....
I was getting wagner for the front but couldnt get it for the rear so decided to go all OHK