Question on synthetic oils

cheese pie

Postby cheese pie » May 12th, 2004, 9:43 pm

next ting men say ah put ah rotary in de wagon..

that aint a bad idea

Spyrogyra

Postby Spyrogyra » May 13th, 2004, 7:41 am

Mitsu_Exec wrote:boy....blasted gas tank level was below 1/4....once dat happen...fuel does surge below marker on the fuel pump..modification quirks nah... and ah does get dat back firin $hit...most likely i was takin a corner or pressed the ex right out...

BUT WHAY U WAS??? all these tuner men hiding out..why u eh slow down and lemme catch up so ah cud say hi? eh?

:? :?

next ting men say ah put ah rotary in de wagon..

8)

I was driving the P2 I've had since 1973 goin to ketch zee bus.(until the man stop sticking with the car I buying from him....) down by Canton Palace dey, I woulda pass yuh but the triple plate clutch not working like it should :P . And yeah yuh really did take the corner with some pace.

mattu

Postby mattu » May 14th, 2004, 1:28 am

dura lube any good??

dragzster

Postby dragzster » May 14th, 2004, 3:29 am

i just like some people......i hear synthetic is better so i switch to castrol syntec a very long time ago. no noticeable difference in blended or conventional oils though. this thread leaves me thinking!! :?

Postby ~Vēġó~ » May 14th, 2004, 6:27 pm

the only reason I leave off the Mobil1 was simply because of the noisy lifters.......the shell helix has them very quiet...........however a noticeable change in how the engine feels observed.......seems not as free as with the Mobil :?

VW_Exec

Postby VW_Exec » May 15th, 2004, 1:44 am

tell dem boy vega...

de MOBIL 1 have de engine revvin freely boy...its a world of a difference for me..me eh kno...must be ah MITSU ting nah...only good oil does work in good engines..

8)

Postby ~Vēġó~ » May 15th, 2004, 12:20 pm

^^^^LOL......ent Exec :wink: :wink: :wink:

Postby Dave » May 17th, 2004, 8:37 am

i does use np :mrgreen:

cheese pie

Postby cheese pie » May 18th, 2004, 1:23 am

i does use np

yea right :lol:

Postby Dave » May 18th, 2004, 8:32 am

no really, ran it to clean up the engine and used it for competition in Decmeber last and the engine still around today, allyuh get tie up :|

Spyrogyra

Postby Spyrogyra » May 18th, 2004, 8:42 am

Just on a note, API Classification system for motor oils is not a benchmark, it's a baseline, once an oil meets a minimum requirement for performance it's given the API approval, this is why many oils can make the claim that they exceed API specifications.

G20

Postby G20 » June 10th, 2004, 5:31 pm

ok...question..since we change conventional oil at approx every 3000 miles or 5000 km / 3 months which ever comes first ...how often do we change the synthetic blend or the full synthetic oils since they are said to hold up longer than the conventional ones ?..or do u still change them at the same intervals ?....if they're the same might as well stick to my castrol GTX.....pls folks talk to me

flatline
3NE 2NR Spannerator

Postby flatline » June 11th, 2004, 12:05 am

G20: every 8000 to 10000km

Spyrogyra

Postby Spyrogyra » June 11th, 2004, 7:32 am

it also depends on your "driving conditions" most cars are never driven under ideal conditions so I would advise strongly against going to 10,000 km even on the best synthetic.
The change interval is not only based on thermal breakdown, remember that the oil also cleans the engine so whatever cleaning additives there are in a synthetic oil would become heavily saturated with the corrosive compounds that are a by-product of the combustion process. The bottom line is to listen to your tuner or mechanic and see what he/she says. But a good one will tell you the more often the oil is changed the better for the engine...

EdVedder

Postby EdVedder » June 11th, 2004, 4:55 pm

Mitsu_Exec wrote:i recently switched over to MOBIL 1 last oil change and i can firmly say...SCREW the manufacturers and their with holding of this stuff...

IT MAKES A difference... :twisted:

i WILL pay the extra $100-$150 every oil change in order to keep my engine running like it is now...i dont think these guys just make idle claims/findings...i think ur engine will tell u the difference...

8)

hey mitsu exec....u say how u usin the mobil rite an it wokin good...but u mind tellin me wha kinda car u usin it in or the type of engine ?

i askin coz another thread they say how the mobil doh agree wid mitsu GDI....so i was wonderin..the thread i talkin about is the one wid the hydro tapps nah.

but from wha i know, i thought Mobil 1 was the great grandaddie of all oils

EdVedder

Postby EdVedder » June 11th, 2004, 4:59 pm

i see a man talk about dura lube...i want to know if dat good too ??

EdVedder

Postby EdVedder » June 11th, 2004, 5:02 pm

buh ent wid the natural oil it does get "use up" quicker coz it does not have uniform structure?

but the synthetic does last longer coz it lab made wid a perfect structure....i talkin about the chiral carbons an all them thing...........i dunno everyting off meh head...anybody know ??

if not i will have to go an dig up im meh notes

VW_Exec

Postby VW_Exec » June 11th, 2004, 10:47 pm

4g6X series cyclone mitsu engine in a grocery getter... :?

its not the GDI 4g9X series engines and i dont think the tappets are AS noisy...

the MOBIL 1 oil has really held out and im close to 2000miles ...with ADVERSE DRIVER CONDITIONS...lol...

i think in the other thread u speakin of....vega was sayin he is impressed with the MOBIL 1 in his 4g93 engine but its a lighter weight oil and tappet noise is even more noticeable...if im not mistaken ... he also said the shell helix has solved the noise issue..

im goin to try REDLINE oil next and then AMSOIL...just to get an idea on the best of the lot...but for me..ur regular castrol GTX just disappears in my engine...very scary oil...

dave also has alot of confidence in the Quaker State Syntec Blend and i used some of this when i was boosted...oil held up fine....even if it was for 6 days..lmao!!

but no problems so far

8)

EdVedder

Postby EdVedder » June 12th, 2004, 4:11 am

ok kool well come bac an tell us how the other oils work

anybody else have anyting to add about wha i say above ??

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » June 12th, 2004, 10:17 am

In heard that about the mineral oils..... that they get combusted faster..... but I used Castrol Syn-blend with my corolla and never had as much depletion as some other said. And i rode 8000km before servicing. My mech wa alright with that as well...... but i do mostly highway driving and not hard either.

Then again...... castrol is Toyotas prefered lubricant supplier. I know high reving engines prefer the ligther oils like Hondas and at Renault and Peugeot their engines like heavier oils esp. in Trinidads climate. We had to experiment with a few oil weights when we were servicing Renaults.

I guess yuh ent go know until you try a few of them.

EdVedder

Postby EdVedder » June 12th, 2004, 1:54 pm

hmmmmmmmmm ok kool

well considerin that i ent have all them cars to try out them oils on, i go jus wait till everybody else try it an come bac an tell we.... 8) :lol:

G20

Postby G20 » June 13th, 2004, 11:40 am

flatline..spyrogyra...thanks alot for ur feedback...I think i'll stick to the 8000km..my tuner says that that's a safe limit...a friend of mine gave me a gallon of the Castrol Full Synthectic oil and a Fram oil filter so i'll run that & see how it goes....thanks again :) 8)

G20

Postby G20 » June 13th, 2004, 5:27 pm

well from what I've read in the past threads..DIFFERENT ENGINES WORKS/OPERATES BETTER WITH DIFFERENT OILS...SO ...those of u who have a QG18 engine..let me know what oils u've tried & what seems or is the best performing oil... 8) 8) 8)

lenzomaru

Re: Question on synthetic oils

Postby lenzomaru » February 19th, 2015, 3:53 pm

I would like to use syntec oil, but as a way to save money as this will extend my oil change time, i currently change my oil at 5000 km. With syntec i believe i can go for 10,000 saving me money for oil filters and also the cost to change the oil. My 07' model yaris takes a little under 4 qts of oil

- 4 qt of castrol 10w 30 dino oil is $192 TT
- 4 qt castrol 10w 30 full syntec $340 TT

Since i'll be doing 2 dino oil changes in the same amount of time (10,000km) i'll have to buy 8 qts dino oil totaling $384 TT as compared to $340 TT for the full syntec during the same period (10,000) also i will have to purchase and extra oil filter ($120 TT) and money/time to change it.

so the syntec works out for me

FullStop

Postby FullStop » February 19th, 2015, 5:04 pm

oem branded mazda oil is synthetic,however, mazda does not make a distinction in user manuals about whether synthetic or non synthetic oil should be used, they simply quote the oldest API specification oil that can be used.

I estimate that most brands do this, as a result, the you have the freedom to use whichever brand you prefer, as long as it adheres to the quoted standard.

Sundar

Postby Sundar » February 20th, 2015, 12:40 pm

shell ultra wrks good for me so far, did runnin royal purple before and i jus buy this cause i couldn't afford d purple, as i change over to shell i noticed a lil blue smoke in d beginning on cold starts but it stopped after a two weeks, oil level didn't shake cause i regular check my oil level.

FullStop

Postby FullStop » February 20th, 2015, 8:56 pm

isn't shell helix ultra more expensive than RP?

Sundar

Postby Sundar » February 23rd, 2015, 11:47 am

210 a gallon? really?