Seaworld trainer killer by ORCA!!!

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » February 25th, 2010, 12:27 pm

awaits the newest SOUTH park episode where KENNY will be killed by an ORCA!

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » February 25th, 2010, 12:30 pm

taken from Wiki:
The captive environment usually bears little resemblance to their wild habitat, and the social groups that the killer whales are put into are foreign to those found in the wild. Critics claim that captive life is stressful due to small tanks, false social groupings and chemically altered water. Captive killer whales occasionally act aggressively towards themselves, their tankmates, or humans, which critics say is a result of stress. Unlike wild killer whales, captives have attacked and even killed people such as their handlers or pool intruders, with nearly two dozen attacks since the 1970s.

hot blue wrote:I went to seaworld last yr. It really is amazing to see what these animal are trained to do. I can't begin to imagine how they train such an enormous creature to do something like this.

It is definitely sad what happened, but considering the SOMEWHAT playful nature of these animals, it might have been fun and games for him. When an animal of their size decides to do his own thing, a nudge for them is fatal for us. No animal in captivity(no matter how spacious etc) should be blamed for it's unpredictable actions.
They are still wild animals after all the training etc.

I saw wild orcas a couple years back......about 10 of them, could be more......some were completely breaching the water like in the pic below........and i remember seeing one spyhopping (i've seen many wild dolphins do this as well)
i'm sure seeing them in captivity does not come close to seeing them in the wild......(yes i'm one of those people who believe Orcas should not be in captivity)

BTW Orcas aren't whales, they are a member of the Dolphin family, the largest member i believe.

sensiman

Postby sensiman » February 25th, 2010, 12:39 pm

Soundwave wrote:
MG Man wrote:poor fishie was proly playing with the trainer :|
those buggers very intelligent

she pissed off a penguin, hit was put out, the whale claims the fish bounty now...

not a fish bounty since the penguin is a bird and the whale is a mammal. If a Tuna was involved I would understand.

makes sense
those penguins frickin vindictive

Not all penguins are like that, it's a common misconception brought about by the popularity of Emperor Penguins, since their hierarchical role usually is associated with huge egos, therefore vindictive behaviour against the most minuscule of transgressors.

Postby MG Man » February 25th, 2010, 12:42 pm

sensiman wrote:
Soundwave wrote:[quote="MG Man"]poor fishie was proly playing with the trainer :|
those buggers very intelligent

she pissed off a penguin, hit was put out, the whale claims the fish bounty now...

not a fish bounty since the penguin is a bird and the whale is a mammal. If a Tuna was involved I would understand.

makes sense
those penguins frickin vindictive

Not all penguins are like that, it's a common misconception brought about by the popularity of Emperor Penguins, since their hierarchical role usually is associated with huge egos, therefore vindictive behaviour against the most minuscule of transgressors.[/quote]

oh yeah????
you sure jed???

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » February 25th, 2010, 3:25 pm

it wants to be freed

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/_x3PQ5QhMJs&hl=en_US&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed>

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » February 25th, 2010, 4:23 pm

LMAO!!!!!

Orca=KILLER Whale

Where de fcuk it mark on the whale to put in tank, feed fish, brush teef, train to act like a dog, play with humans, do tricks????

blackboy381

Postby blackboy381 » February 25th, 2010, 7:40 pm

SUPAstarr wrote:1lanate in yuh water orca ded

hahhahahaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

wheelbarrow

Postby wheelbarrow » February 25th, 2010, 7:45 pm

talkin bout whale....

"baby whale"

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/777RrJrnom0&hl=en_US&fs=1&border=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="660" height="525"></embed>

Postby Chimera » February 25th, 2010, 7:45 pm

SUPAstarr wrote:1lanate in yuh water orca ded

jus so jus so yuh killing my orca :|

Postby M_2NR » February 25th, 2010, 8:02 pm

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/bDqjBFZaNS0&hl=en_US&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="560" height="340"></embed>

that sheit is a beast. From the vid, apparently there was some confusion, etc. also it was responsible for deaths/injuries before as well.

For some reason i feeling for bake and shark now.. :| thanks Mini :lol:

Postby shogun » February 25th, 2010, 10:23 pm

Sorry about the trainer,but that killer whale was just "keepin' it real"

TK!

Postby TK! » February 25th, 2010, 10:54 pm

evo-STI-k wrote:but Ent we country have a trained jackarse as the pm?

*wheeez* ...lol

TK!

Postby TK! » February 25th, 2010, 11:06 pm

the trainers are dressed in black and white wet suits. looks like a tall penguin to me.

Postby Cjruckus » February 25th, 2010, 11:20 pm

Well the whale has killed people before..why was he working at sea world?

cmon man, didnt HR see that on the whales resume?

Postby shogun » February 25th, 2010, 11:29 pm

*waits for tuner to insert "Free Willy" caption * again.

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » February 25th, 2010, 11:30 pm

Cjruckus wrote:Well the whale has killed people before..why was he working at sea world?

its killer resume blinded them

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » February 25th, 2010, 11:42 pm

Whale's mother - "but he was a good boy, he ent do nuttin"

DIESELTRINI

Postby DIESELTRINI » February 26th, 2010, 2:56 am

I interned at Sea World years ago in Shamu Stadium as a whale observer. Sit and watch and record everything the whales do for 6 hours straight. There is always someone monitoring them at all times like this.

What you cannot see from these videos is the sheer size of Tilikum compared to the other whales at Sea World. He is huge, at least double the size of any of the others which are mostly females. Some of them I recall named Katina and Kalina.

Tilikum is the one that comes out at the end and used to make some serious splashes by jumping around, but he is old now and does not do too much jumping anymore. When he comes out, none of the other whales can be in the main tank with him, and none of the trainers get in the water with him.

I have always felt that the whales are miserable there because the tanks are just so small, equivalent of a human in a jail cell.

I am sorry that the trainer was killed. But on another note, I will say that while there I noticed that the trainers there are pretty full of themselves and act as if they own the place.

embellishfrost

Postby embellishfrost » February 26th, 2010, 6:33 am

I think it was just playing with the trainer...in the video below they show a killer whale, man handling a baby sea lion, only to bring it back onto the shore and release it.

<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/DWsN63PRCW8&hl=en_US&fs=1&"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/DWsN63PRCW8&hl=en_US&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>

I love going to Sea World/Sea Aquarium and I always thought it to be very educational but as of recently I find myself pondering upon Jacques Cousteau's words "There is about as much educational benefit to be gained in studying dolphins/whales in captivity as there would be studying mankind by only observing prisoners held in solitary confinement".

Postby Sky » February 26th, 2010, 7:27 am

shogun wrote:Sorry about the trainer,but that killer whale was just "keepin' it real"

Allyuh people bad in this place yes :lol:

Chiney

Postby Chiney » February 26th, 2010, 11:57 am

wat goin around comes around..

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » February 26th, 2010, 12:16 pm

Cjruckus wrote:Well the whale has killed people before..why was he working at sea world?

cjruckus- what sea world forgot to mention is that this same KILLER whale has been the resource behind a FEW successful Baby orcas being born in captivity!

yuh still wonder why they continue to keep him?

he apparently would have made an Excellent SPERM whale instead! :lol:

d rasta

Postby d rasta » March 1st, 2010, 2:49 pm

is it possible that due to its age his eyesight is probably not what it used to be? hence it may have rightfully mistaken the trainer for another animal.

either that or he's a crip and the trainer was a blood. 0X

Postby Rainman » March 17th, 2010, 2:04 pm

^d phoq!! :shock: :shock:
whales can speak spanish?