2 years hard labour just for 2 beers?

Postby redmanjp » February 19th, 2010, 11:18 pm

he had to be lying or something? over d limit with 2 beers? he look kinda big so he should be able to handle a few b4 reaching d limit... anyway all yuh watch out, is not only fine yuh getting, d judge could decide to give u jail instead...perhaps we should get personal breathalysers & test ourselves b4 driving

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl ... =161597954

CARL PRIMAL made history yesterday, by becoming the first person to be jailed under the new breathalyser legislation.

Primal, of Beverly Hills, Bethel, Tobago, was arrested on Carnival Tuesday, shortly after he was involved in an accident along the Santa Cruz Old Road, and was charged with failing to provide a breath specimen.

Primal, who was the driver of a blue Daewoo vehicle, was given the breathalyser test when he was caught a short distance from the Santa Cruz Police Station, where his vehicle had stalled. Primal and the other driver were on their way to the station when his vehicle stalled.

At the spot where Primal had stalled, he was told to take a breathalyser test and he complied. When he failed, Primal was asked to take another test at the station. According to the facts laid in court, Primal then told officers he would pass the test with flying colours, since he had not taken a drink in three years and that all he had was about two beers.

The 36-year-old vendor, who pleaded guilty to failing to take the test in court, got a reading of .68 microgrammes, .33 above the legal limit, and was told by the officers that he needed to take another test to be used as evidence.

After many failed attempts to get Primal to comply, Primal reportedly told arresting officer, PC Ryan Cassie, to ’bring yuh gyul ... and yuh would get a good reading’.

Magistrate Indar Jagroo heard that Primal then accused the police officers of making him take the test 25 times and that he was not going to do it again.

In response, Jagroo told Primal that his defence was irrelevant, since it is the law to submit oneself to take the test and that everyone has to comply with it. Jagroo then sentenced Primal to two years in jail with hard labour.

rossi

Postby rossi » February 19th, 2010, 11:21 pm

i hate T&T.

Postby Stephon. » February 19th, 2010, 11:22 pm

Lol fat ass, he go come out small after that 2 years in the hot sun. Drink and drive now beyotch!!!

Postby buzz » February 19th, 2010, 11:35 pm

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » February 20th, 2010, 12:07 am

After many failed attempts to get Primal to comply, Primal reportedly told arresting officer, PC Ryan Cassie, to ’bring yuh gyul ... and yuh would get a good reading’.

Boy Trinidadians is the greatest yes :lol: :lol: This man have no fear or respect for the law

Postby ~Vēġó~ » February 20th, 2010, 1:07 am

dais why he get the jail time........

ray_S.T.R.A_man

Postby ray_S.T.R.A_man » February 20th, 2010, 4:22 am

2 beers= 2 years
1 beer= 1 year i guess.
that is real sheit

WD40

Postby WD40 » February 20th, 2010, 4:27 am

According to the report, he did not receive a sentence for drinking and driving above the legal limit, but for failing to take a second breathalyser test.

Postby brams112 » February 20th, 2010, 4:53 am

no beer no year :lol: :lol: :lol: hire a driver or drink home,allyuh think manning dotish he know trini like to drink and drive so he making easy money,

Postby hustla_ambition101 » February 20th, 2010, 8:05 am

Yunno if the accident did involve of of allyuh or a relative man woulda be calling for the hangman, fact is the drunken kant ran a red light and caused an accident so all that was factored in when passing judgement

Postby hydroep » February 20th, 2010, 8:46 am

Once due process was observed, this is a good result.

Hope to see continued enforcement of the law.

Terran

Postby Terran » February 20th, 2010, 8:52 am

RoTaRyBoYz wrote:

Boy Trinidadians is the greatest yes :lol: :lol: This man have no fear or respect for the law

If I was drunk - and totally wasted - I might have said that too - not out of harrassment.

Postby RASC » February 20th, 2010, 9:32 am

This is R A C I S M to the highest order :!:

Postby eliteauto » February 20th, 2010, 9:58 am

RASC wrote:This is R A C I S M to the highest order :!:

Agreed :!: :!: hope it continues 8-)

Postby Hook » February 20th, 2010, 11:18 am

That article doesn't say much about how things went down. How is an intoxicated man decides he's going into a police station (seriously? would a bleeding man dive into a shark tank?) and what warranted a breathalyzer test when his vehicle stalled? Too many holes. I smell victimization here.

And after Thursday's seeing 12 police statements that no shots were fired, it wouldn't surprise me that I may be on the receiving end of something similar very soon.

Postby RASC » February 20th, 2010, 11:23 am

Soundwave wrote:
RASC wrote:This is R A C I S M to the highest order :!:

you really need to bring back the "Ask Racist RASC a Question" thread...

I think you're right!

http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... p?t=296864

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » February 20th, 2010, 11:30 am

Hook wrote:That article doesn't say much about how things went down. How is an intoxicated man decides he's going into a police station (seriously? would a bleeding man dive into a shark tank?) and what warranted a breathalyzer test when his vehicle stalled? Too many holes. I smell victimization here.

And after Thursday's seeing 12 police statements that no shots were fired, it wouldn't surprise me that I may be on the receiving end of something similar very soon.

Breds like yuh eh realize is Trinidadians yuh dealing wid and anything is possible. If dey could willingly vote in ah kakahole to run the country time & time again, why is the actions of this man have you surprise :lol:

¤Sabrina¤

Postby ¤Sabrina¤ » February 20th, 2010, 11:42 am

http://guardian.co.tt/news/crime/2010/0 ... ts-2-years

Refuses to take third breathalyser test...
Drunk driver gets 2 years
Akile Simon
Published: 20 Feb 2010

Carl Pirmal makes his way into a waiting prisoner transport vehicle at the Port-of-Spain Magistrates’ Court yesterday to be taken to the Port-of-Spain prison where he would begin a two-year jail term. PHOTO: DILIP SINGH
Akile Simon

History was created at the Port-of-Spain Magistrates’ Court yesterday when a 36-year-old Tobagonian man was slapped with a jail sentence of two years’ hard labour, after he pleaded guilty to a charge of failing to submit himself to a breathalyser test. Carl Pirmal got more than he bargained for when the sentence was read to him by Traffic Court magistrate Indar Jagroo yesterday. Pirmal was not as fortunate as David Ramoutar and Dinelvi Tinto who both threw themselves at the mercy of the court by entering guilty pleas earlier this week on similar charges.

Both men were fined $5,000 each by Jagroo, for driving over the prescribed alcohol limit. Pirmal, a vendor who lives in the village of Bethel in Tobago, was the first person to be slapped with a custodial sentence since breathalyser cops hit the streets on December 22, last year. As a first offender, Pirmal could have been sentenced to a maximum of three years’ and fined $8,000, according to the Motor Vehicle and Road Traffic Act. Second-time offenders could be jailed up to five years, suspended from driving for two years and fined $15,000, while third-time offenders could be jailed, fined and disqualified permanently from holding a driver’s permit. The court heard that Pirmal was involved in a minor road traffic accident along the Old Santa Cruz Road, San Juan, on Carnival Tuesday around 8.45 pm. His motor car crashed into the back of a Lancer driven by Nigel Carimbocas.

Officers from the San Juan Police Station went the scene and found Pirmal seated in the driver’s seat of his car. He told officers he was on his way to the station to report the accident when his car broke down. Police said Pirmal’s breath smelled strongly of alcohol. He was taken to the San Juan station and a breath test was conducted, which he failed. While on his way to the police station, Pirmal told PC Ryan Cassie that he had not had a drink in three years. “I go pass that test with flying colours,â€

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » February 20th, 2010, 1:10 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:Yunno if the accident did involve of of allyuh or a relative man woulda be calling for the hangman, fact is the drunken kant ran a red light and caused an accident so all that was factored in when passing judgement

are u a kakasplat?? which part of santa cruz old road has a traffic light???

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » February 20th, 2010, 1:26 pm

ray_S.T.R.A_man wrote:2 beers= 2 years
1 beer= 1 year i guess.
that is real sheit

x2 jus now if smokers smoke out a whole pack in a club they might get 20 years in jail :shock:

Postby MG Man » February 20th, 2010, 2:04 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:Yunno if the accident did involve of of allyuh or a relative man woulda be calling for the hangman, fact is the drunken kant ran a red light and caused an accident so all that was factored in when passing judgement

Postby wagon r » February 20th, 2010, 2:57 pm

....you'll are the worst....but i can't wait for some of you to make yuh own headline...

...the law is what it is, yuh break it, you serve the time.wish they had gone to more of the inclusive fetes to hold allyuh...

Postby RASC » February 20th, 2010, 3:09 pm

Jail their MC... :twisted:

DevilZ

Postby DevilZ » February 20th, 2010, 3:52 pm

allyuh arguin for nothing...they just need to make an example and now one has been made...i sure nobody else gettin tha kinda punishment for drunk driving

_moti_

Postby _moti_ » February 20th, 2010, 4:12 pm

wanna drink alcohol and drive, then stock up on your KY

jail them i say :!: and i not feeling sorry for none ah them cause if the get jail i hope is not no one year sentence :x 2-5 sounds about right :twisted:

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » February 20th, 2010, 5:09 pm

It fackin good for him...want to break the law and be ignorant to the police...they shoulda slap up he MC too....dumbarse

Well done police

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » February 20th, 2010, 7:23 pm

That was deserved... he probably would just have gotten the fine if he kept his damn mouth shut.

Postby Damien » February 20th, 2010, 7:30 pm

What ah shitsnake it good for him dont drink and drive

link

Postby link » February 20th, 2010, 8:23 pm

Hook wrote:That article doesn't say much about how things went down. How is an intoxicated man decides he's going into a police station (seriously? would a bleeding man dive into a shark tank?) and what warranted a breathalyzer test when his vehicle stalled? Too many holes. I smell victimization here.

BUT ????
d man : admit to drinkin' (1)
he D.U.I. (2)
refused to comply with lawful instructions (3)
and, when police lock up he ar$e...is victimisation ???
LOOK MAN....DESIGNATE A DRIVER OR DON'T &^%*# DRINK & DRIVE :x