BMW 3 series install ..IASCA Competitions

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » January 24th, 2010, 9:06 pm

X_Factor wrote:wrt to aiming the speakers in the kicks....how are u gonna do that?

off axis facing each other..i actually just finish pulling cloth and put 2 layers of fiberglass mat on it..this way would add some strength and also make it easier to apply bondo will post some pictures later on..

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » January 31st, 2010, 3:26 am

i swear never me again installing in a bmw atleast not in an e46 again!
i feel bmw when they built the car it was to prevent people from modifying it in anyway :|

Postby kurpal_v2 » January 31st, 2010, 7:51 am

Wham bai? The car bite yuh?

Wait you tripped an airbag sensor and got donkey punched?

rigman00

Postby rigman00 » January 31st, 2010, 8:50 am

same ting with the audi jed....pressure

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » January 31st, 2010, 12:59 pm

yea the light come on..but i hadda drop the car for service jus now :lol:

imagine to take out the kick panel u hadda take out the glove box and then a casing around the glove box :|

an to take out all that is like 15 screws

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » February 2nd, 2010, 4:12 am

ok so it took a day to finish the doors, its dampened but i didnt take a picture, and i reused to stock "foam dampening" ontop of the second skin i used to dampen my doors..

i wont lie it was a pain and i mounted and unmounted the doors a bazillion times to get them to fit in pretty decent! bmw sure did make it a pain in the ass on the coupe doors..the sedan doors are much much easier to work with because of the circular indent..

i also connected the pac tr7 for those who dont know is the video bypass module so i can play videos when the vehicle is in gear..I DO NOT WATCH VIDEOS while the vehicle in gear but i said i might as well connect it..i personally belive screens are pointless in a car but only reason i went with a screen was the HU couldve controlled the 701 processor without the use of the 701 controller

i also connected my circuit breaker which will be used instead of a mainfuse..reason i did this was so if i need to tweek the amps or incase of an emergency a press of a button will break the current flow to all my equpment in the trunk

the rca's ill be using are ixos and jl audio y-jacks

i also strapped all my wires with tie traps every so often so i wont have a mess and i also temporarily labeled the wires, rca etc till im ready to mount

pics will be uploaded when i could find my iphone cable :lol:

i must say i thought doing the dash was the hardest but those doors are a pain..as there was crazy amounts of minor modifying the door card and then mounting the tripple stack baffles.. tripple baffles was used so i can get the mounting depth to mount my midbass

Postby kurpal_v2 » February 2nd, 2010, 5:45 am

Can u get a few pics in with the baffle mounted to the door?

Postby SR » February 2nd, 2010, 5:57 am

what he said :)

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » February 2nd, 2010, 10:45 am

i cant remember if i took pics of the baffle it mounted on the door..i did copy this guy however, and everything he did i tried to copy so credit to him
http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread ... light=door

if that door wasnt such a pain i wouldve taken it down but ill post up which ever pictures i have

also everything i did removing panels etc..i looked up diy tutorials, videos etc..so that way i know what i getting myself into and i dont think i broke anything yet 8-)

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » February 2nd, 2010, 11:30 am

cutting out the rings

positioning rings for the midrange..after talkin to a few members on the forum i decided to go with it completely off axis, imo it wouldve looked better with it angled at the opposite listner but the more off axis the less can go wrong with tuning..

circuit breaker and ground point..

yes yes i kno its basically the same amprack as the one i had in the mazda..here you would notice the holes that would i will feed the power wire,rca and speaker wire into the amps..it was also painted blue to blend with the color of the car..the big circle is for the fan on the a6..i also added that piece to the amprack, tho it woulnt be visble
an there is somthing very teasing about this picture 8-)

my table..i mean my amprack cover :lol:

dampening the doors

in this pic you will see 1 of the holes i cut so i can vent the speaker into the door..here you would also see the speaker wire i ran into the doors

cutting a template so i can cut my baffles..also i using a jigsaw and i did say my sheit would be ugly :lol:

here i used hotglue and duct tape to hold it in place while i keep testing to find the sweet spot when mounting

speaker mounted and testing the clearance between the door and the grille..

running wires for the d310 brain and the 701 processor as i mentioned earlier..

rigman00

Postby rigman00 » February 2nd, 2010, 12:27 pm

gd work.....more practice with the baffles

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » February 3rd, 2010, 12:35 pm

acoustic foam lining the back of the box

subwoofer in
http://s877.photobucket.com/albums/ab33 ... g&newest=1

wiring up the amprack

amplifiers dropped in.. now wire termination is going to be difficult because of the tight fit..and i mean tighter than a virgin :lol: but i put some extra length on the power wire when cutting so ill use that to my advantage when terminating wires..

viking1705

Postby viking1705 » February 3rd, 2010, 12:53 pm

looks good.but hoss som a dem pics like your hand shaky or wa :lol:

Postby X_Factor » February 3rd, 2010, 5:08 pm

wow, 4 amps

arc n thing!!

i hope u up there in july eh

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » February 3rd, 2010, 5:13 pm

yup 4 amps! the arc is class d and a 4 channel

so its 2 4 channel and a 2 channel and a mono on bass

ChristianRD

Postby ChristianRD » February 3rd, 2010, 5:36 pm

Look at powaaaa

1MADE

Postby 1MADE » February 3rd, 2010, 6:43 pm

Install shaping up nice can't wait to see the final build....

jeff

Postby jeff » February 3rd, 2010, 8:36 pm

niceeeeeee!!! pimp when u come back down can u cut my baffles for me plz :oops:

Postby X_Factor » February 3rd, 2010, 8:39 pm

and i thought i was bad at cutting stuff...but now i feel like a boss!!

rigman00

Postby rigman00 » February 3rd, 2010, 8:42 pm

jeff allyuh real wile

Postby SR » February 3rd, 2010, 8:51 pm

pimp yuh want lix

yuh have access to tools galore but i still give an A for effort for a do it yourselfer on a BMW

better be done by march

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » February 3rd, 2010, 9:23 pm

well i have a rel tight fit hadda get some right angle ends for the rcas
i went 1 radio shack and they had 3 and by the time i reach the next radioshack they take off the lights jus as i was appraching the door :(

i use a jigsaw for everything and i did say at the beginning of the thread my baffles gonna look rel fugly..point is that it strong and secured :lol:

but thanks for all the comments fellaz
i ended up with some extra dampening and i did my trunk lid..covered the flaps on the fenders and did under the backdash so the bass wont rattle it

and SR it go be done in the month of feburary :lol:

Sully

Postby Sully » February 4th, 2010, 7:07 am

pimptacular wrote: it go be done in the month of feburary :lol:

Good to hear. I'm coming up for a listen.

Don't study them about the baffles that's not something that will be within view. It's always more satisfying when you do it yourself.

Postby kurpal_v2 » February 4th, 2010, 7:49 am

Techflex or loom?

I'm still getting over the shock of u cutting your own baffles.

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » February 4th, 2010, 2:30 pm

i not that good with powertools and i not ashamed to admit that

and loom.. i get kinda broke elate midbass and arc audio not cheap and i didnt budget for it

but for those who wondering why 4 amps

a4 will be used for midrange and tweets

the arc will be bridged for midbass..reason i went with the arc is that i needed a small amp because of space issue, the power rating was in the area i was looking for and its also efficient as hell

a6 to play the subwoofer

and the a2 will be used later on when i decide to toy with rearfill..only reason ill be willing to toy with rearfill is because its possible to do, and i could take off the rear if i wanted off the deck from what ive read up about the h701 and i would alteast have something to do later on and not become bored with the system

an only reason i had to cut it was cuz u wasnt herekurpal_v2, :lol:

Postby SR » February 4th, 2010, 2:55 pm

welllll

i still have the DLS A1 whcih could be used for the rear fill and u use the a2 on the mid bass

:)

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » February 5th, 2010, 6:38 pm

so i power up everything..and it sounding like utter toots :lol:
so now i hadda read and study that manual to figure out how to set the xover points etc

and i still have to set gains etc.. so ill post back

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » February 6th, 2010, 11:44 am

ok so ive been trouble shooting some issues i had for the past day
and i hadda give much much credit to jeff and his patience and helping me out by trouble shooting from all in trinidad :lol:

Postby kurpal_v2 » February 6th, 2010, 11:51 am

what issues you had?

Who pamela horn you with this time?

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » February 6th, 2010, 12:30 pm

my sub wasnt playing and gettin no sound.. an talk bout paranoia i swear my amp gone bad and jeff tell meh check the rca :oops:

and my midbass was distorting..playing pretty good and playing low but distorting and he tell me wa to do..and give me about 15 diffeernt ways to check it and trouble shoot and it working now jus by adjusting the db slopes..

so right now i need someone who knows how to tune and use the 701 cuz i in over my head with that..as ill be the first to admit my tuning skills arent that great..and even when i competed i still had silent riot take a quick listen and do some adjustments when i competed

so i waiting anxiously for march when a certain judge coming to convince him with a 6pack to tune :lol: