dx wagon EE102/103 suspension upgrade

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

haydn28

dx wagon EE102/103 suspension upgrade

Postby haydn28 » January 28th, 2010, 12:37 pm

looking to upgrade the suspension on the ee102
mostly at the front ,

L.f. the L touring stabilizer bar and strut bar at the moment .

any helpful suggestions r welcome what to use and where to get the items 8-)

josh.dookie

Postby josh.dookie » January 28th, 2010, 12:59 pm

Hyper Fast had the stabilizer bar and strut bar that u looking for,came across it a while ago while hunting for parts!

subzerounlimited

Postby subzerounlimited » January 31st, 2010, 5:16 pm

if yuh installing the stabilizer bar youll probably need to change the cradles to accomadate the link from the stabilizer bar. the clamps for that bar will be hard to get... most places only have the bar alone... think i suppose to have i strut bar for the ae100 lemme know if youre interested.

Postby Hook » January 31st, 2010, 9:44 pm

If you have the 1993-1995 DX wagon then the cradles look like this

In which case , u can get the entire rear bushing to accommodate the stabilizer bar in one shot and just bolt it up, once u get the u-clamps or have them made.

If it's the 1996-1998 DX Wagon then the cradles look like this.

It's gonna be a little harder to get, as those rear cradle bushings are pressed out instead of having the entire back end replaced.

haydn28

Postby haydn28 » January 31st, 2010, 9:53 pm

^^^ gotz the 98 model hook , what to do?

had a chat with eliteauto , he's getting the strut bar for me

Postby Hook » January 31st, 2010, 10:44 pm

Yea the upper is no scene, u could get that stock or aftermarket. EA still has a stock v-shaped bar somewhere, so I think so u good there. All you'll need is to do is drill the two pits in the centre of the firewall (the spots for the holes are already indented) to bolt the top of the V onto it.

Problem is, the stock lower bar, dey does throw away in the Bamboo. Once iz not a fancy colour then it not coming in the container unless it's already on a front cut.

Your best bet at that point is to look for a front cut and if you could get it, and then you'll buy your end links new.
The cool thing is that your cradles can accommodate either bar which with the older cradles bolt vertically through holes in the cradle (120Y stabilizer bar end links will work just fine, u may want to use the yellow polyurethane rubbers for a tad more stiffness), while the newer ones, which bolt with a balljoint type coupling, you'll need end links like this, which u can get in the stores easy.

If I'm not mistaken, somebody (trdsportsm?) on the forum had a full AE101 front subframe for sale a while back complete with cradles and maybe the lower anti-sway bar, but I'm not sure which one. It should still be there though, seek it out.

haydn28

Postby haydn28 » January 31st, 2010, 10:52 pm

thanks m8 :)

Postby eliteauto » February 1st, 2010, 1:46 am

I have the upper bar for you, if you want a pair of cradle arms from the GT................

I have a pair also, you will need to change the bushings which are easy to get, still trying to get the lower sway bar

ledreppelin

Re: dx wagon EE102/103 suspension upgrade

Postby ledreppelin » April 6th, 2011, 11:17 pm

I need a strut bar for a corolla dx wagon EE103

Around

Postby Around » May 8th, 2011, 12:53 pm

any luck? i want one (WTB) to retrofit to my ae100

Postby Hook » May 11th, 2011, 12:09 am

ledreppelin wrote:I need a strut bar for a corolla dx wagon EE103

Around wrote:any luck? i want one (WTB) to retrofit to my ae100

Please all all WTB posts in the appropriate thread/forum, NOT in the tech threads.

Return to “TOYOTA”