MAZTUNE's 1983 BD 323/ laser hatch 4WD GTX build

MAZDA People United - it continues here

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » August 30th, 2009, 7:30 pm

haha yea boy. well i endup kicking d rx a day so i guess it get christen

Anywho, so we had to get a clutch for the laser at this time, now knowing this is a 4WD we did not want a clutch kit to shock the gearbox and put strain on the transfercase so we opped for an ACT street and Strip kit, the Z61-HDSS. So we rather the clutch slip a little instead of breaking gearboxes...

Last edited by MAZTUNE on September 3rd, 2009, 8:40 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby j.o.e » August 31st, 2009, 8:40 am

lol..i remember the wrc style drive over d drain.....4wd drive pull u back out the drain..check systems and GO! (before the maco neighbours come out to investiquire)....I had the perfect angle to get this on video...damn ....no camera on me :lol:

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » August 31st, 2009, 2:48 pm

haha yea boy ppl come out laser done out of d drain and driving off haha

mafia generation

Postby mafia generation » August 31st, 2009, 5:36 pm

ok so i pretty sure this is d same ride i saw las year!!!

made a post bout it too.....

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » August 31st, 2009, 6:18 pm

hmmm serious??? where??

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » September 3rd, 2009, 8:29 am

so anyhows on with the story, lots to go still:

Camden opened and we started racing the car with the small brakes rotors all cleaned now :oops: BUT got loads of brake fade.

Since we put in that B6T we noticed the crank pully wobbled a bit, but we did not take it on thought it was just a slightly bent pulley. So as racing went on, it got worse, also engine timing began to move from 12 degrees(stock) to 15, to 17 sometimes lower. So we decided to check that pulley out, seems we was suffering from the B6T and BPT fault, a broken key on the crank. This meant that the crank was spinning not in correct time with the pulley, so timing off all kinda problems, good thing this engine is 7.6:1 compression or we would have some bent valves etc. We had 2 choices, do the solve and use a Big Nose B6-DE (323F, 2nd gen) crank and oil pump without the keyway failure problem or switch head and blocks to race next day.We did not have a B6-DE crank so we changed the head and block , never did like that one from the rally car anyhows. it gave me a vibe.... :shock: realized the box has a chip on the transfercase gear so changed boxes one time to a nice low mileage foreign used one.

So switched head and blocks and was up running with correct timing of 12 degrees.

here is some trinituner pics of us racing in Camden 2008:

the best time this car ran was 14.9 with a stock intercooler. Had to keep spraying the intercooler with ice water just to keep charge air down, its small and a pure waste. :)

Notice the double wings on the rear hatch. these came directly off the GTX. madd eh??
Last edited by MAZTUNE on September 11th, 2009, 10:00 am, edited 2 times in total.

Postby 7143 » September 3rd, 2009, 9:14 am

lard the front of both cars almost identical....that look real sweet.... and th e white lookin bess....

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » September 11th, 2009, 9:58 am

found some pics of the build again so i add it in.

Postby 7143 » September 11th, 2009, 6:42 pm

^plz do :lol:

Postby Maserati » September 14th, 2009, 5:51 pm

wow what a build...from all the stress to a lovely ride.
well done.

GoS

Postby GoS » September 14th, 2009, 8:21 pm

maztune i remember when yuh partner had broken the windshield on the track at Camden i was one ah the red cross personnel who attend to him when he get the cuts on his hand all i was saying i had him damn windshield and you come and talking to me telling me about the two car is 4wd i watch u like wtf i remember u told me that u did it your self i was :shock: and u say u gone

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » September 14th, 2009, 8:37 pm

guilty on sight wrote:maztune i remember when yuh partner had broken the windshield on the track at Camden i was one ah the red cross personnel who attend to him when he get the cuts on his hand all i was saying i had him damn windshield and you come and talking to me telling me about the two car is 4wd i watch u like wtf i remember u told me that u did it your self i was :shock: and u say u gone

no the guy u treated was me , yea i forgot to add that bit will add it in!! maztune is me khaleel and my brother khayam but i was driving the car that day.

GoS

Postby GoS » September 14th, 2009, 8:48 pm

oh ok kool cah remember dude but the car look sweeet. does hardly see it now the both ah them in fact

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » September 15th, 2009, 8:40 pm

its around in south

Computerman

Postby Computerman » September 30th, 2009, 3:36 pm

So what's next?

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » September 30th, 2009, 5:18 pm

MAZTUNE wrote: So as racing went on, it got worse, also engine timing began to move from 12 degrees(stock) to 15, to 17 sometimes lower. So we decided to check that pulley out, seems we was suffering from the B6T and BPT fault, a broken key on the crank. This meant that the crank was spinning not in correct time with the pulley, so timing off all kinda problems, good thing this engine is 7.6:1 compression or we would have some bent valves etc.

saw this samething happen to a zm also
common with mazda?

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » September 30th, 2009, 10:36 pm

no the early engines before 1994 suffered with this problem. all engines after 1994 uses the big crank system without a keyway to prevent this type of failure. The key is molded into the crank, not a removable one like the older ones. so u in d clear dont worry man :D

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » December 7th, 2009, 10:03 am

Ok, how is everybody. Well the story continues, we built a custom made 3 core radiator, Flexalite 2" thick electric fan and XO2 tube and fin intercooler.

Custom 3-core Radiator.

The Bumper and Grill was removed with minor cutting to the body to fit the intercooler.

Flexalite 2" fan

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » January 24th, 2010, 2:56 pm

intercooler installed, the car is cooling pretty well, charge air pretty low. will take more pics in a bit.

speedemonz

Postby speedemonz » January 24th, 2010, 10:36 pm

This thread was timely for me I haven't driven my car in about a year and seven months, this was what i needed to raise my spirits ............great build and continue doing what you all are doing :D :D :D :D

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » January 25th, 2010, 7:16 pm

thanks man. lots more to come in the future, once money permits. next upgrade, we are looking at upgrading brakes and suspension.

Computerman

Postby Computerman » January 26th, 2010, 9:40 am

Yuh make meh feel to do a 'write up' of my car too!!

Here it is:

"My car slow!"

xtech

Postby xtech » January 26th, 2010, 9:46 am

aye start your own thread

:x :x

gallantpan

Postby gallantpan » January 26th, 2010, 11:11 am

Computerman wrote:Yuh make meh feel to do a 'write up' of my car too!!

Here it is:

"My car slow!"

Stop play in possum, yes the 323 is a sleeper but there is a good story on it.

AcousticEng

Postby AcousticEng » January 26th, 2010, 1:56 pm

Computerman wrote:Yuh make meh feel to do a 'write up' of my car too!!

Here it is:

"My car slow!"

hahaha so slow RB20DET cifero does get leave out...

Computerman

Postby Computerman » January 27th, 2010, 8:18 am

xtech wrote:aye start your own thread

:x :x

xtech

Postby xtech » January 27th, 2010, 8:46 am

^^^^ :? :? i was serious u know.....

but i guess nobody cares
:roll: :roll:

Computerman

Postby Computerman » January 27th, 2010, 10:46 am

xtech wrote:^^^^ :? :? i was serious u know.....
:shock: :shock:
Hard luck dey... didn't realise you were serious. Doh study it.

gallantpan

Postby gallantpan » January 27th, 2010, 2:04 pm

This Computerman, eh...

josh.dookie

Postby josh.dookie » February 17th, 2010, 4:20 pm

I guess this answers my previous question! Very nice as usual man!

Return to “MAZDA”