RB20DET Question

alleykat2020

RB20DET Question

Postby alleykat2020 » January 22nd, 2010, 9:26 pm

Simple question: What is the recommended octane for use in a stock RB20det.

Basically want to know if it's safe to use 92 octane (super) in my car and what are the potential consequences of doing so.

Cheers.

Oh, one more thing. Opinions on raising the back of your bonnet with washers. Does it actually help keep the engine bay cooler?

alleykat2020

Postby alleykat2020 » January 23rd, 2010, 7:12 pm

Nobody got an opinion here?

smell

Postby smell » January 24th, 2010, 2:26 pm

The japs tuned your Rb20det ecu to run on 100ron fuel and given our best (premium 95) still isn't good enough u want to go lower again!

U may get away if it was a NA engine but being turbo charged and have to run in our high ambient temps i would not go lower than premium if i were u.

alleykat2020

Postby alleykat2020 » January 24th, 2010, 3:02 pm

Cool. Thanks for the info.

alleykat2020

Postby alleykat2020 » January 24th, 2010, 3:48 pm

Anybody else?

mitsu4life

Postby mitsu4life » January 24th, 2010, 4:40 pm

well if you run super in it, it will most likely ping every time you go into boost, the car will probably run horrible too...no power and may even break up higher in the rpm range.

worst case you'll detonate the engine to death, if you ask me not worth the risk running super in a boosted car.

as for raising the back of your bonnet, yes the engine bay will be cooler, but i dont see this being necessary...get a 3 core radiator, besides if i'm not mistaken next to the bonnet hinges there a some hooks that in the event of a front end collision supposed to prevent it from come into the vehicle cabin. Raising the back will lift it over those hooks an god forbid an front collision the bonnet will come through the wind screen...you want details of what happens after that???

5forward

Postby 5forward » January 24th, 2010, 7:11 pm

^True dat brodda.A lot of people dont know about the bonnet clips

alleykat2020

Postby alleykat2020 » January 24th, 2010, 7:16 pm

Good info fellas. Thanks. Pays to ask questions round here. :D

DJ Nexxus

Postby DJ Nexxus » January 26th, 2010, 1:41 pm

super will not kill your engine pal, that is why the ecu's have a knock map!, anyway I have been running super on my 25DET for over two years now, with no problems whjatsoever, just keep your tunups on schedule, and don't try to boost the crap out of it using super, with the stock turbo and stock boost, you will be fine. if for some reason you find yourself stuck in traffic or something where the ambient air temp would cause the super to knock, the ecu will just resort to the knock map until conditions change, and the only difference you will feel is a slight loss of peak power, either way, I don't think you will be launching the car in a 1/4 mile style during traffic right?!!!

josh.dookie

Postby josh.dookie » January 26th, 2010, 2:20 pm

super will not kill your engine pal, that is why the ecu's have a knock map!, anyway I have been running super on my 25DET for over two years now, with no problems whjatsoever, just keep your tunups on schedule, and don't try to boost the crap out of it using super, with the stock turbo and stock boost, you will be fine. if for some reason you find yourself stuck in traffic or something where the ambient air temp would cause the super to knock, the ecu will just resort to the knock map until conditions change, and the only difference you will feel is a slight loss of peak power, either way, I don't think you will be launching the car in a 1/4 mile style during traffic right?!!!

Excellent piece of first hand advice to follow, got couple partners who run super on their rb powered vehicles to no consequence.. So as far as i know, it will not damage your engine, as correctly mentioned previously the use of the knock sensor in your engine, wud retard the timing of your engine to accomodate the octane of fuel being used!

josh.dookie

Postby josh.dookie » January 26th, 2010, 2:20 pm

Excellent piece of first hand advice to follow, got couple partners who run super on their rb powered vehicles to no consequence.. So as far as i know, it will not damage your engine, as correctly mentioned previously the use of the knock sensor in your engine, wud retard the timing of your engine to accomodate the octane of fuel being used!

alleykat2020

Postby alleykat2020 » January 26th, 2010, 7:02 pm

josh.dookie wrote:

Hmm. That's what I was thinking. ^^^

I didn't hear any pinging when I was running on super, but I drained the tank anyway and tossed in all premium. My intercooler is currently in the engine bay (which defeats the purpose even though it's got a fan on it), so it gets pretty hot after a few minutes. When I install a FMIC, I'll try super again. The fact that DJ Nexxus uses super in his RB adds some credibility to the knock map thing. I found the same basic info on the web.

Anybody got the stock intercooler piping for the RB by chance? To sell I mean. :D

Midnight_Demon

Postby Midnight_Demon » January 27th, 2010, 8:55 am

alleykat2020 ,i use super in my car now and then (if i brokes :oops: or if the gas station has no premium) and as DJ Nexxus said ... it works fine, NEVER had any breaking up problems, no power loss to talk about, no pinging no problems with a/c in traffic everything is fine with VERY little temperature change. ofcourse if i know i going to be running the car hard i put premium.

josh.dookie

Postby josh.dookie » January 27th, 2010, 9:16 am

majority says super, and is reliable sources we hearing from!

alleykat2020

Postby alleykat2020 » April 7th, 2010, 11:12 am

Using Super again after installing fmic with heat shielded pipes etc.
No pinging so far and I've thrashed it a few times just to see if it would detonate.
Nothing.......
Not as much power as the premium though, but ok for daily driving.
Will drain the tank and toss in premium should I be called out though......... :twisted:

Sargeant

Postby Sargeant » April 8th, 2010, 9:12 am

alleykat how much boost you running in your ceffy we should have a race lol but I hadda get some shocks yes one of meh back shocks ben anybody have some rear coilovers for sale

alleykat2020

Postby alleykat2020 » April 13th, 2010, 8:17 pm

Sargeant, Stock 10lbs. Everything stock except 3" exhaust.
What you runnin'......... :D