Postby eliteauto » January 17th, 2010, 1:14 pm

10,000 BTU, but the 9000 will suffice

Dragist

Postby Dragist » January 17th, 2010, 1:23 pm

This is a general guide .

http://ccl-tt.com/tips.htm

This is a base you add more as you add how many people will be in the room and what equipment PC's and such .

When I was in the industry it used to be a standard that a 10X10 Room you use a 12,000 BUT unit , yes depending on ceiling height amount of windows and if and get direct sunlight you may get away with a smaller unit .

Now I have been out of that industry over 10 Years now so Efficiencies may have changed .

That's why I suggested that you contact Genair or keep it in the 2ner family , I think that Calvin 4Everstock is still in the business .

Postby Monk BANzai » January 17th, 2010, 1:25 pm

Calvin has been very helpful...he's to get bac kto me with more info/prices....

Postby sharkman121 » January 17th, 2010, 1:28 pm

i runnin a 12000 BTU KATASHI, in my living room for about 4 yrs now. At first i was a bit suspect about the brand as i had never heard of it but it has made me a believer, especially since its underpowered in pushing the whole living room and my son strains the compressor by constantly playing with the remote an turning it on and off.

am looking for a 9000btu for a smaller room also, about 10x12 roughly so am glad this topic was raised.

Banzai yuh go let meh kno what u get thru with, cuz ah might do the same with regards to which size unit u eventually choose. I think the 9000 btu should prove sufficient though.

Dragist

Postby Dragist » January 17th, 2010, 1:28 pm

Cool well you in good hands there .

Postby X_Factor » January 17th, 2010, 1:46 pm

as Dragist said

if the room gets alot of sunlight (evening sun) etc
amt of ppl in the room
times where the unit will be on the most (e.g) mostly in the nights etc

that also determines the final size u get

i was also told, that to save on electricity a bit, hav a normal fan as well to circulate the air( read that on a similar post here as well)

e.g) 23-25deg with a fan on you while sleeping will/should be sufficient
vs
17-20 with no fan while sleeping

unless u really like it cold

Postby sharkman121 » January 17th, 2010, 1:51 pm

well in my case, no almost no sunlight+ low ceiling + 1 or 2 ppl frequenting room(usually 1) + small room= 9000 btu shud do the trick.

shoppin around for best prices also.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » January 17th, 2010, 2:00 pm

banzai, the room for that 9000 btu in this climate is probably small with 1 sealed window, a drop sealing, properly shut door and probably in an inner room within a house or an outer room with the outside window wall seeing direct sunlight for at least 6 hrs right?

Postby Ignorant Ignis » January 18th, 2010, 9:02 am

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:Calvin has been very helpful...he's to get bac kto me with more info/prices....

^^^^is calvin from abel a/c we talking bout? 626? ........... if it is then, yuh in good hands.