WTK: Toyota Altis

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

rottedv

WTK: Toyota Altis

Postby rottedv » January 12th, 2010, 4:39 pm

Reviews please!!! Good comments, bad comments, looking to buy one nah so ah want some advice.... What you guys think of the car?? Parts easy to get? What about upgrades? Can nze suspension work on this car? General thoughts!!!

rottedv

Postby rottedv » January 13th, 2010, 6:21 am

no one???

Toyota ppl doh help out each other???

better I buy a civic oui!! :mrgreen:

Mercenary

Postby Mercenary » January 13th, 2010, 7:34 am

Buy the Altis with the flare kit...at least it looks better than the one without it.

AYE_SOLDIER

Postby AYE_SOLDIER » January 13th, 2010, 8:52 am

suspension the same as NZE
engine too
all body parts available in trini, it might be a abit costly thats all.
my views the car ugly

i'm just saying...

skablow

Postby skablow » January 13th, 2010, 10:24 am

Toyota All The Way Ugly Or Nice VERY Dependable and Reliable!!!!!

praise

Postby praise » January 13th, 2010, 2:40 pm

Body parts are hard to get and real expensive. Some insurance companies do not insure them because of this. Some parts are different from the NZE, like rear wheel bearings and engine mounts. Good vehicle otherwise.

josh.dookie

Postby josh.dookie » January 13th, 2010, 4:27 pm

pulls pretty well for an auto 1.6, nice soft ride and feel to the car. generally nothig will go wrong wit it cuz iz a toyota.. Pretty nice as a daily driver!

Postby cinco » January 13th, 2010, 5:13 pm

body parts are the same as the 9th generation USDM toyota corolla

Postby bluefete » January 14th, 2010, 8:19 pm

Nice ride. Colfire does not insure because they say parts are hard to get. Good car otherwise.

gundeleroy2k

Postby gundeleroy2k » January 14th, 2010, 8:44 pm

what is the cheapest insurance out there

TRDcorolla

Postby TRDcorolla » January 14th, 2010, 8:57 pm

^ third party :lol:

NuffRespect
Location: In Partycrasher Office, to the left of Spongebobb and to the right of Partycrasher!

Postby NuffRespect » January 14th, 2010, 9:58 pm

Great car...parts readily available, very reliable...very good gas consumption, go ahead get it!

cyborg007

Postby cyborg007 » January 14th, 2010, 10:06 pm

sold many nze and altis never got any complains... only problems came across were A/C problems!!! condensor evaporator n tng.. daz bout it no engine/suspension...
bess car..

rottedv

Postby rottedv » January 15th, 2010, 6:41 am

bluefete wrote:Nice ride. Colfire does not insure because they say parts are hard to get. Good car otherwise.

Parts that hard to get?? I doubt cause nze corolla was brought only locally and sold in Japan, same with Fielder wagon so I imagine that in years to come those parts would be hard to get but hte altis was sold througout asia and in the usdm so....I'm insuring the car in Sagicor...no probs there and yuh seeing a good amount of altis on the road and foreign used dealers still bringing them in....

so doh buy the civic? :lol:

cyborg007

Postby cyborg007 » January 15th, 2010, 10:34 am

bluefete wrote:Nice ride. Colfire does not insure because they say parts are hard to get. Good car otherwise.

tell colfire check in bamboo.....
a couple places start bringin sinngapore car parts a wile nw...
autostock... p.town..

AYE_SOLDIER

Postby AYE_SOLDIER » January 15th, 2010, 2:27 pm

sagicor doesnt insure fully comp either
altis owners!
anyone with fully comp?
and what insurance co.?

psykiddo

Postby psykiddo » January 15th, 2010, 2:34 pm

ent u tell me u get fully comp in sagicor rottedv, or they foolin u up?

Bosse

Postby Bosse » January 15th, 2010, 4:14 pm

PM Me with your details. I can get you all comprehensive insurance with a very Good Company

rottedv

Postby rottedv » January 15th, 2010, 6:59 pm

AYE_SOLDIER wrote:sagicor doesnt insure fully comp either
altis owners!
anyone with fully comp?
and what insurance co.?

Sagicor insured mine fully comprehensive....will get the car tomorrow though.... One difference though...the Invoice I got from the place said that the car was a corolla not the altis....maybe that was the convincing factor

AYE_SOLDIER

Postby AYE_SOLDIER » January 15th, 2010, 10:21 pm

rottedv wrote:
AYE_SOLDIER wrote:sagicor doesnt insure fully comp either
altis owners!
anyone with fully comp?
and what insurance co.?

Sagicor insured mine fully comprehensive....will get the car tomorrow though.... One difference though...the Invoice I got from the place said that the car was a corolla not the altis....maybe that was the convincing factor

oh see because when i called i said altis
and to think i have a policy with sagicor as well
and they still said no fully comp.

Makko Jammah

Postby Makko Jammah » January 17th, 2010, 8:58 pm

Driving the car a few months now, and I must say it drives pretty well. No complaints there.

My only complaint is the front seats ...I find them really uncomfortable especially on long drives.

Short drives you may not feel anything. If you are small framed, then you may not notice anything.

But the seats are a little short (i.e. the length of the seat), so if you have long legs, no amount of adjusting the knee tilt, height etc... may improve the comfort level...

Anyway, thats me ...before you buy make sure the seat is adequate for you.

Makko Jammah

Postby Makko Jammah » January 17th, 2010, 9:01 pm

btw ..Maritime insures it fully comprehensive. I found it was too high though, even with maxed no claim discount, and other discounts from having other policies with the company....

I suppose the insurance is going to be higher than "normal" for a "risky" car like the altis... :)

rottedv

Postby rottedv » January 17th, 2010, 10:56 pm

Well i.ve bought one and so far so good...the suspension reminds me of my liftback 92.....I'm 6 ft tall and the seats are long enogh but I have sent the seat far enough back..

AYE_SOLDIER

Postby AYE_SOLDIER » January 26th, 2010, 8:23 am

Makko Jammah wrote:btw ..Maritime insures it fully comprehensive. I found it was too high though, even with maxed no claim discount, and other discounts from having other policies with the company....

I suppose the insurance is going to be higher than "normal" for a "risky" car like the altis... :)

agreed!
and TATIL...too!

cheapest i came across is ALGICO...(fully comp.)

josh.dookie

Postby josh.dookie » January 26th, 2010, 9:09 am

Yo imtiaz wat u doin wit the hatcback? Hear u running sweet on 12pounds jed, have a partner that interested in the car, all he hear is u were the original owner of my car an his reply waz "that car hada be bess,dat man doh buy rubbish lol"

rottedv

Postby rottedv » January 26th, 2010, 5:19 pm

True, I doh really buy rubbish but the car sell ah while now....I bought the altis and I have had hardly any probs with it....

The guy who bought it though selling it now cause he wife quarelling he say....Me eh know what he do wit the car....S.W. 16 on the forum...He calling way more than he pay for it though...

josh.dookie

Postby josh.dookie » January 27th, 2010, 9:07 am

Shux, waz worth a shot enquiring, gl with the altis, use to use one in work, nice daily driver man!

ztune

Postby ztune » January 29th, 2010, 9:28 am

rottedv, its a really good car. maintenance is low and it works really good on gas. its also quite comfortable. nze parts can be used here as well in terms of ends, joints, suspension, interior replacement...etc etc...car drives pretty nicely once taken care of. as for performance upgrade, locally, i havent seen or heard any altis being upgraded, however, there is an altis in singapore that has a 3sgte engine, google and you should find it. For the time being though you can install a k& n filter, install iridium plugs, do some work on exhaust, use strut bars, lowering springs, projector lights for front and rear carbon fibre lights are available along with mesh grill as these are all available right here in trini and on tuner. when installed it makes the car a bit more fun to drive.

personally, with my experience, when i change parts in this car, it takes two years before the same parts needs changing, which i am quite comfortable with.
on the downside though, toyota should have worked on a better rear suspension, as it is a bigger car resting on the same nze suspension which causes the rear suspension to be a bit weak, so if your deciding to install music or carry a heavy load in the back for everyday driving, the car might feel a bit sluggish. however, without the load, the car rides really nice.

AYE_SOLDIER

Postby AYE_SOLDIER » January 30th, 2010, 8:35 pm

well said!

rottedv

Postby rottedv » January 31st, 2010, 7:02 am

when you change parts??? Original parts from toyota? Are they not expensive?

Don't have to worry bout the load in the back cause it just my wife and I for now. What I have found is that the car real economical. The first week I drove the car I travelled 538km on 120 gas super with ac.... Dais wah we talking bout!!!

What rim and tyre combo would you guys recommend to maintain ride quality and better handling?? Remember My wife driving too so remember d potholes...I have on right now the original stuff 14'' rims with 185/70 profiles...

Return to “TOYOTA”