AC smell

biggreen

AC smell

Postby biggreen » January 7th, 2010, 7:34 am

Hi, i am getting a smell coming out of my ac, now it is not the rotten smell when the oil is leaking but something like silicone, just a bit milder.

Any ideas what this may be? oh, and the ac works great..

minipresident

Postby minipresident » January 7th, 2010, 7:40 am

it could be the blower motor looking to kick out. any funny noise?

praise

Postby praise » January 7th, 2010, 8:44 am

You did not mention what vehicle you are speaking about. Sometimes rubbish acculates in the evaporator and causes it to smell. It may even damages the evaporator. Put in an ac filter or replace the existing one. Also, Wynns have a product that remove all foul ac smell that is a do it yourself product and available at parts outlet nationwide.

biggreen

Postby biggreen » January 7th, 2010, 10:54 am

minipresident, no noise.. praise, it is a nissan, 2002 model. it was parked up for abt 1 year tho.. but it cools very good...

praise

Postby praise » January 7th, 2010, 10:59 am

Change A/C filter and run the wynns product for air condition.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » January 7th, 2010, 1:11 pm

try gasing it up, sumtimes a leak causes the smell...

eitech

Postby eitech » January 7th, 2010, 4:05 pm

how does the wynns product work?

Idle_Torque

Postby Idle_Torque » January 7th, 2010, 8:39 pm

about the product that removes the smell, whats its name??

Buy Air refreshen to kill smell.?!

praise

Postby praise » January 8th, 2010, 7:40 am

Wynns Airco Clean. Simple start your car, turn up all windows and turn a/c on at the highest speed. Put the Airco in the car and open the can . Exit car leaving all doors and windows closed and leave engine running for fifteen minutes. Switch off and leave car open for another fifteen minutes to air out. Now you are done.

moti

Postby moti » January 8th, 2010, 9:00 am

and if that don't work then change the cabin filter as it may need changing.
when was the last time you changed the filter?

biggreen

Postby biggreen » January 8th, 2010, 9:06 am

moti, never changed it, but in another car i tried washing it once, it worked.. Idle_Torque, i don't want to mask the smell, i want to get rid at the source..

thanks for all the info..

moti

Postby moti » January 8th, 2010, 9:15 am

then take the filter and wash it. put it back in and start the car.
leave the ac on for about 2-3 mins with all the doors open.
close all doors and see if the smell is still there.

since 2002 that filter has not been changed so i would suggest you try that first.
wash it and see if the sent stops (cheap and DIY)

Postby ~Vēġó~ » January 8th, 2010, 9:28 pm

^^^I agree with cleaning filter first......a rinse in water may not be enough though.....more than likely it would be able to survive a simple dip in laundry detergent and water for a much more effective cleaning (you'd be surprised to see how black that water'll get!), then possibly a dip in a diluted mixture of bleach and water......rinse, then air dry.......
Last edited by ~Vēġó~ on January 8th, 2010, 9:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.

moti

Postby moti » January 8th, 2010, 9:31 pm

~˜VëgŲ˜~ wrote:^^^I agree with cleaning filter first......a rinse in water may not be enough though.....more than likely it would be able to survive a simple dip in laundry detergent and water for a much more effective cleaning (you'd be surprised to see how black that water'll get!), then possibly a dip in a diluted mixture of bleach and water......rinse, then air dry.......

yup just don't trow into washing machine

D_bodyguard

Postby D_bodyguard » January 8th, 2010, 10:07 pm

scrap down your pocket and you will see the chamber held by 2 screws ....take out filter and leave outside . Get lysol disinfectant and whine up glass and spray in car till the smell is concentrated in the car .....and let it recycle with HOT AIR on not cold air and let it circulate for 15 minutes .....after wind down windows and leave blowing for another 15 min on hot .....then run it on cold for 5 min to blow out smell .....wash out filter ...replace and air freshen yh car and you good to go ....will get the smell out if is mildew!!

turbonator

Postby turbonator » January 9th, 2010, 12:40 am

~˜VëgŲ˜~ wrote:^^^I agree with cleaning filter first......a rinse in water may not be enough though.....more than likely it would be able to survive a simple dip in laundry detergent and water for a much more effective cleaning (you'd be surprised to see how black that water'll get!), then possibly a dip in a diluted mixture of bleach and water......rinse, then air dry.......

You shouldn't wash out that filter because the water weakens the filter (at least the ones in the b15/almera/wingroad/ad wagon). When this happens (if the air is being pulled through the filter) the filter drops down on the fan. Just replace it with something like this

IMHO it works a lot better than the original nissan filter.

ruffrider27

Postby ruffrider27 » January 9th, 2010, 8:13 am

were u get that to buy turbonator

turbonator

Postby turbonator » January 9th, 2010, 3:38 pm

Surprisingly enough I went all over looking for the ac filter for the b15 and they never had. Ah even check motorist and they only had some cheap ones that wasen't even fitting well. Ah gone by ah auto supplies shop by me to buy some hose clips and they had the Fram filters there :lol:

moti

Postby moti » January 9th, 2010, 6:04 pm

yup agree on washing may weaken them as i never washed mine.

how about if he just washed them to see if the smell stops, but he will still have to purchase one as he never changed it.

biggreen

Postby biggreen » January 9th, 2010, 10:11 pm

turbonator, which parts place is this you are talking abt?

Postby ~Vēġó~ » January 10th, 2010, 6:09 am

You shouldn't wash out that filter because the water weakens the filter (at least the ones in the b15/almera/wingroad/ad wagon). When this happens (if the air is being pulled through the filter) the filter drops down on the fan. Just replace it with something like this

strange, I've washed my filter 2wice with no problem......and it is the paper type.

moti

Postby moti » January 10th, 2010, 11:57 am

~˜VëgŲ˜~ wrote:

strange, I've washed my filter 2wice with no problem......and it is the paper type.

nice so someone washed theirs and it holds up.

then i suggest you wash yours and try that first

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » January 10th, 2010, 3:08 pm

if you washing your filter be careful do not apply too much pressure on it eg pressure washer nor hight pressure from the pipe.... use a bucket and soak it. a lil microwaving for a dry might be good.

turbonator

Postby turbonator » January 10th, 2010, 3:45 pm

biggreen wrote:turbonator, which parts place is this you are talking abt?

Its located in central along the caparo valley main road. Just before Palmiste Rec. Ground.

btw what vehicle yuh want it for? Ah could find out if they have it first, might save you the trip.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » January 10th, 2010, 3:49 pm

^^^exactly......I simply dipped the filter a couple times in the concrete tub of water to get out the major particles, then again in the breeze/water mixture to clean and then bleach mixture to kill whatever that may be growing/living in the medium......

turbonator

Postby turbonator » January 10th, 2010, 3:49 pm

Anil_Sooknanan wrote:if you washing your filter be careful do not apply too much pressure on it eg pressure washer nor hight pressure from the pipe.... use a bucket and soak it. a lil microwaving for a dry might be good.

With the original filters in the b15 as long as it get soak in the water it does get weak :|

eitech

Postby eitech » January 10th, 2010, 7:02 pm

i got a replacement b15 filter in an auto shop in st augustine.

moti

Postby moti » January 10th, 2010, 9:24 pm

there are substitutes at parts outlets and original at your dealer

Evoloution

Postby Evoloution » January 12th, 2010, 4:20 pm

where can you get nze filters other than toyota

biggreen

Postby biggreen » January 15th, 2010, 10:21 am

turbonator, iz ah s15, so they may not have it mostlikely.. Anil_Sooknanan, wazz up, i washed filters before, i use the warm water in a bucket, then air dry... with some sun...