*** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 27th, 2009, 9:59 am

NICE setups Mr. Go Slow and ru$$ell

Mr. Go Slow, the TV seems under rated for all that kicka$$ audio you got

and Ru$$el any reason you wall mounted the TV so high on the wall?
seesm to be viewing height when standing, not sitting.

I'm just being picky eh :lol:

very nice stuff

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » December 27th, 2009, 10:31 am

^tv is actually in perfect viewing distance and height when i lying down in bed to take in a flick :lol: and its 2 L's not one :x :x :x

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 27th, 2009, 9:19 pm

^ roger roger :lol:

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » December 29th, 2009, 8:35 pm

heard a............wait................. felt a Velo sub recently is more like it,my word,that thing is amazing, one day!

Postby 16 cycles » December 29th, 2009, 9:18 pm

^ ain;t that the truth !!!

someone was relating to me...

40" sony xbr 9 total paid - 9900TT with duties / tax and shipping

though tax and duties still paid, kindess of customs officer resulted in a not so steep price

just sharing for those willing to go this path...

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 29th, 2009, 10:11 pm

ru$$ell wrote:heard a............wait................. felt a Velo sub recently is more like it,my word,that thing is amazing, one day!

which Velodyne Sub?

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » December 30th, 2009, 5:21 am

^the DEQ-12R i think it was,btw Dane 3NE 2NR, vanns is having a year end sale where you can pick up those quintet SL's on the cheap:

http://www.vanns.com/shop/servlet/item/ ... quintet-sl

http://www.amazon.com/Klipsch-Quintet-T ... 675&sr=8-1

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 30th, 2009, 9:01 am

^ already got it at Best Buy earlier for US$342 and the Klipsch Sub 10 for US$226.30

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » December 30th, 2009, 9:06 am

^shipping with laparkan?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 30th, 2009, 9:31 am

^ tropical shipping

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 5th, 2010, 4:03 pm

this was taken from another thread on HDTV's which has been locked
http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... 71#4117071

we can continue the conversation here.

crazybalhead wrote:A little advice, I have a 720P toshibe more than two years now, and the picture is GREAT. BUT, it's only great with my older Sony DVD player. With a newer player (some sheit player) that I got free, even with S video, and component video, it looks TERRIBLE.

Make sure yuh source material is up to standard.

I've hear a PS3's blu rays look great, I've seen a first Gen Blu ray from sony play and look like an ordinary DVD.

As usual with electronics, your source material is always as important as the final reproduction, be it Audio or Visual.

well obviously if you want to watch ripped, compressed pirated material it will show like crap on any TV.

If the quality of burn DVD's is ok for you and you think its just as good as an original then it doesnt matter what TV you buy cause you wont be able to tell.

I'm talking about ppl in general

Since this is an audio and videophile discussion thread we will assume that everyone has original DVDs and BluRay movies when discussing head unit and player quality.

Not all players are the same.
You can look at the same original DVD disc on a crappy Panasonic TT$400 HDMI DVD player that upscales to 1080p or you can look at the same disc on an OPPO DVD upscaling player for US$600 that uses an Anchor Bay or Faroudja upscaling processor to bring the picture to 1080p. The quality difference is astonishing.

Most newer TV's have upscaling chips in them - again some are better than others. Most will only scale from an analog input, assuming that all HDMI inputs are already truly HD.

CNET has a nice listing of blu-ray players here
http://reviews.cnet.com/best-blu-ray-players/

remember a blu-ray player will play blu-ray, DVD, Audio DVD, CDs and SACD discs.

If you find your player is showing like crap then try the analog out and pass it through an upscaling receiver or use the upscaler in your TV if it has one.

The PS3 is a good blu-ray player - but its not the best

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » January 5th, 2010, 4:49 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR, wrote:

Mr. Go Slow wrote:
ru$$ell wrote:
^nothing you'll notice,trust me,the only way your gonna notice slowdown is if a 60hz tv is directly next to a 240/120hz tv,then you can compare,other than that,you'll be fine,

E X A C T L Y Cool

well not exactly

it's true that you can't miss what you don't see, but...

try looking at transformers 2 on a 60hz TV and then watch it on 240hz TV and you will see how much frames the 60Hz dropped out in the high speed action sequences.

watching football on a 60Hz TV you might miss the ball for a second or two as it flies across the screen because of some dropped frames

playing deathmatch on a 60Hz TV you might miss another player scoot across a small section of the screen and not realise he moved from the left of you to the right of you because of some dropped frames.

also if you want to watch the future 3D movies with your new TV in a year or two from now you will need at least a 120Hz TV.

If none of those things matter to you then go ahead and buy a 60Hz TV

Mr. Go Slow, I've read people say "nothing you'll notice" to a comparison between Panasonic speakers and PSBs

Well I have sensitive ears, so I can completely relate to your analogy ... However, my wife honestly, can barely discern between a quality source and absolute rubbish.

I have her listen to my Sennheiser HD600's powered by an external USB DAC / AMP and she'll say it's nice, but then happily listen to music through her laptop speakers right after that :?

So that said, I'm not as big a gamer as i used to be, but I do remember playing some PS3 by a bud on his 60hz Sharp Aquos and (seemingly) not missing a thing ... Then again like the DVD upscaling you mentioned, not all are created equal and I remember reading on cnet that some 120hz were no different to some 60hz ... and not all 60hz were necessarily laggy ...

So it's a case of no absolutes is all I'm saying I guess.

That said, my HT speakers are itching for an upgrade lately, I definitely place more emphasis on sound as opposed to visuals.

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » January 5th, 2010, 4:51 pm

Mr. Go Slow wrote:I have her listen to my Sennheiser HD600's powered by an external USB DAC / AMP and she'll say it's nice, but then happily listen to music through her laptop speakers right after that :?

epic! :lol:

Postby crazybalhead » January 5th, 2010, 5:09 pm

Mr. Go Slow wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR, wrote:

Mr. Go Slow wrote:
ru$$ell wrote:
^nothing you'll notice,trust me,the only way your gonna notice slowdown is if a 60hz tv is directly next to a 240/120hz tv,then you can compare,other than that,you'll be fine,

E X A C T L Y Cool

well not exactly

it's true that you can't miss what you don't see, but...

try looking at transformers 2 on a 60hz TV and then watch it on 240hz TV and you will see how much frames the 60Hz dropped out in the high speed action sequences.

watching football on a 60Hz TV you might miss the ball for a second or two as it flies across the screen because of some dropped frames

playing deathmatch on a 60Hz TV you might miss another player scoot across a small section of the screen and not realise he moved from the left of you to the right of you because of some dropped frames.

also if you want to watch the future 3D movies with your new TV in a year or two from now you will need at least a 120Hz TV.

If none of those things matter to you then go ahead and buy a 60Hz TV

Mr. Go Slow, I've read people say "nothing you'll notice" to a comparison between Panasonic speakers and PSBs

Well I have sensitive ears, so I can completely relate to your analogy ... However, my wife honestly, can barely discern between a quality source and absolute rubbish.

I have her listen to my Sennheiser HD600's powered by an external USB DAC / AMP and she'll say it's nice, but then happily listen to music through her laptop speakers right after that :?

So that said, I'm not as big a gamer as i used to be, but I do remember playing some PS3 by a bud on his 60hz Sharp Aquos and (seemingly) not missing a thing ... Then again like the DVD upscaling you mentioned, not all are created equal and I remember reading on cnet that some 120hz were no different to some 60hz ... and not all 60hz were necessarily laggy ...

So it's a case of no absolutes is all I'm saying I guess.

That said, my HT speakers are itching for an upgrade lately, I definitely place more emphasis on sound as opposed to visuals.

Well that sucks. When we moved in to the house, my wife wanted us to set up the speakers and TV befre doing anything else. :lol: :lol: :lol:

She also puts up with hours of test tones and moving speakers. :lol: :lol:

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 5th, 2010, 9:23 pm

Mr. Go Slow wrote:I definitely place more emphasis on sound as opposed to visuals.

perhaps I put more on visuals, but I always try to balance the two

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » January 6th, 2010, 3:42 pm

Mr. Go Slow wrote:I definitely place more emphasis on sound as opposed to visuals.

perhaps I put more on visuals, but I always try to balance the two

well said, i hate reading about idiots who tend to claim they have the "Golden Ear" or in the other case "sharper eye". Its all about attention to detail and how much attention you pay to each one. i myself try to balance off both,but things can get one sided from time to time.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 6th, 2010, 3:53 pm

i4u has alot of features on home theater stuff from CES
http://www.i4u.com/article-topic-10.html

Here is a fine example of the tech hype dictating products. Every manufacturer is now pushing an LED TV

backlit LED's with diverse local dimming are the only panels capable of truly competing with plasma in terms of black levels and in turn PQ. But at a MUCH higher cost for the backlit LED.

Most LED LCDs still cant compete with the top plasmas in terms of speed and picture quality. Viewing angles on plasma is better than LED LCD too.

Postby Country_Bookie » January 6th, 2010, 8:53 pm

What kind of decoder box do I need to watch Free to Air tv locally on an LCD tv?

A 'oman from courts tell me it not possible to use a LCD without cable or directv.
:(

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 6th, 2010, 9:59 pm

Country_Bookie wrote:What kind of decoder box do I need to watch Free to Air tv locally on an LCD tv?

A 'oman from courts tell me it not possible to use a LCD without cable or directv.
:(

eh?
once the TV has a tuner built in then you can just plug in an antenna to the coax on the TV.

if the LCD doesnt have a tuner then its a monitor, not a TV.

aR&D

Postby aR&D » January 6th, 2010, 11:22 pm

In regards to the 2010 World Cup being aired in 3D, i also saw a commercial highlighting the new feature of 3D screens or processing for LCD and plasma flat screens

so in light of the avatar 3D break through / popularity of 3D with more and more programming to be filmed in 3D, is 3D capable flat screens now a feature to ensure any flat screens to be purchased must have?

Tired Accord

Postby Tired Accord » January 7th, 2010, 9:16 pm

^^^aR&D - I was just reading up on the 3D TV being the potential new wave. Apparently there was a blu-ray 3D standard created - so it should gain more ground quicker. It is notioned to be ~US$200-300 more per TV with 3D capability. See here: http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/34666354/ns/technology_and_science-tech_and_gadgets/?GT1=43001. Based on initial reading, though, it seems it will be a while before it hits stores, and then for bugs to be worked out, then for prices to come down (of course price may not be an issue for some). Apparently, though, Hyundai :!: :!: in Japan and LG in Korea are the main ones so far with the TV's :?: :?:

Aside from that, anyone has, or knows where I can get component video cables reasonable? Not the $400+ ones at Radio Shack...Well actually Radio Shack in Gulf only had 18 ft ones....I see Amazon has Belkin 6 ft for US$10 - so there must be cheaper ones around...?

Postby X_Factor » January 7th, 2010, 10:26 pm

^^ wat length u need? and does it hav to be brand specific?

i should hav 1 or 2 cables somewhere around, but since i went to hdmi, im not sure if my mom throw them away while cleaning for xmas

its the type u get with dvd players, generic and approx 4ft

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 7th, 2010, 11:00 pm

Panasonic released their 3D HDTV at CES two days ago along with other manufacturers
Panasonic says it will be available in stores in Spring 2010

I am not so sure WHAT a 3D TV really does

It seems that once you have a set of 3D shutter glasses and a TV capable of 120hz or higher (to be able to display two images at at-least 60Hz each) you can get 3D

http://www.ultimate3dheaven.com/wi3dshthfort.html

So it seems to me that a 3D TV is a HDTV that can achieve over 120Hz refresh and < 8ms response time (which is most new HDTV’s) and it has a built in IR transponder for the 3D shutter glasses that it comes with, instead of having to get your own transponder and shutter glasses. I am not sure though.

I am sure though that between companies like Dolby, the blu-ray and HDMI developers and the TV manufacturers there will be some "proprietary" format on 3D blu-ray movies. Much like Dolby True-HD audio and DTS HD Master Audio both require HDMI 1.3 and Blu-ray and a compatible receiver to be able to hear such great quality 7.1 audio. It wont even work with optical audio because optical audio cannot transfer data and the high bandwidth of HDMI for truly lossless audio.

Enter HDMI 1.4 :|

EL JEFE

Postby EL JEFE » January 8th, 2010, 12:03 am

Well the search continues for a tv. I went to Courts and Fens today and left disappointed. Courts didn't have the tv I was looking for and when I asked them if they ever carried it, and at what price, they told me yes, we sold it for $6,999 :shock: That was the Samsung LN32B530.

Went over to Fens and saw the Series 5 but instead it was the LN40B530. Now I have space for the 40 inch, but that is right under my A/C unit, that is a big hell no. That one was $8,500.

I was told to do my research on the LG32LH30
http://www.lge.com/us/tv-audio-video/te ... 32LH30.jsp
and the Sharp 40E67U
http://reviews.cnet.com/flat-panel-tvs/ ... olBtm;rnav

I don't like either of those tv's.

What do you all think about Panasonic tv's ? I think I have to start contemplating that brand now. While watching Top Gear I noticed that they have a Panasonic :D :D

Anyone got a Panasonic here ?

Postby X_Factor » January 8th, 2010, 1:07 am

i got the 42X1 plasma and its pretty decent for the price
original dvd's are really nice and natural tru hdmi upconversion
not too bright and the sound is nice compared to some others while we were shopping around

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 8th, 2010, 10:51 am

EL JEFE, did you read the CNET reviews on 32" LCD TV's?

http://reviews.cnet.com/best-32-inch-hd ... contentNav

it seems that you can ONLY get a 32" since you say a 40" can only fit under the A/C unit which you dont want to do.

There is also another top 10 32" LCD compilation from a UK site here
http://www.techradar.com/news/televisio ... ?artc_pg=9

the thing is that they put alot of their decision towards LCDs with built in tuners for UK TV broadcasts which will not be a factor for us here.

Panasonic has some fantastic plasmas that compete directly with Samsung and king of the hill Pioneer. However their LCD offerings are not top notch but still ranked very good in the top 10.

At the end of the day online reviews can only go so far - you need to see the TV and decide if its what you want.

Tired Accord

Postby Tired Accord » January 8th, 2010, 11:27 am

X_Factor wrote:^^ wat length u need? and does it hav to be brand specific?

i should hav 1 or 2 cables somewhere around, but since i went to hdmi, im not sure if my mom throw them away while cleaning for xmas

its the type u get with dvd players, generic and approx 4ft

X I had in mind a 3' and 6'. Are you referring to the "generic" red/white/yellow cable that you may have? If so - can anyone confirm if these can be substituted for component video cable? I suppose it should...?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 8th, 2010, 11:53 am

Tired Accord wrote: Are you referring to the "generic" red/white/yellow cable that you may have? If so - can anyone confirm if these can be substituted for component video cable? I suppose it should...?

yes they are both just 3 RCA cables tied together
don't expect any great quality from generic cables though

remember it would be video only

Postby X_Factor » January 8th, 2010, 2:49 pm

Tired Accord, ur outa luck, i knew i used the component RCA (G/B/R) before i got the hdmi cable and now i cant seem to find them, even my S video cable im not finding...so ur outa luck there

amazon has them from 3US-15US, 15US isnt that bad for monster /mediabridge cables, as i remembered seeing some in radioshack for 3-400TT

ohh, i still hav an extra 6ft hdmi 1.3 cable if anyone interested

Postby X_Factor » January 10th, 2010, 2:02 pm

http://www.diymobileaudio.com/forum/12- ... -pics.html

got this link from a partner

but check it out, Home audio on a next level!!