BMW 3 series install ..IASCA Competitions

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » December 23rd, 2009, 4:01 am

oh i also forgot to mention
it also wont be mono as each speaker will have its own power, its own signal and dedicated bands of eq

the mono rearfill is as i mentioned above but not done right now as its not a focus or necessary

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » December 23rd, 2009, 2:32 pm

SR, the 701 and the brain could and will fit behind the paneling on the left side but not in the pockets i was originally looking at so now time to improvise and work somehting new out
:(

Postby SR » December 23rd, 2009, 6:45 pm

they should fit close to the shock tower or remove the pockets completely and fabricate a bracket for them

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » December 23rd, 2009, 10:06 pm

[IMG::]http://i877.photobucket.com/albums/ab338/vidizzle/IMG_0142.jpg[/img]

[IMG::]http://i877.photobucket.com/albums/ab338/vidizzle/IMG_0141.jpg[/img]

well i tried all how to get them to fit with the stock brackets in place and have room to run wiring but in the end i ended up taking them out, so yeah ill be fabricating something for the d310 brain and the 701 to fit in there an it also would make life much easier when running wires.

i ordered some dampening today and should reach within the nex few days
then ill start to work on that

DuAL StaR

Postby DuAL StaR » December 23rd, 2009, 10:30 pm

pimp good luck dude... will keep an eye on this post to see how this goes... but be careful with the power tools lol
keep all 10 finger and toes.....

carfreak1024

Postby carfreak1024 » December 24th, 2009, 12:17 am

^^^^some funny but really good advice.

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » December 26th, 2009, 11:46 am

will be doing some work on the car today hopefully and will give updates later

Postby SR » December 26th, 2009, 3:12 pm

watch out for the airbag sensors

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » December 26th, 2009, 7:50 pm

well i going to mount the a2 in the fender instead and look at another location for the d310 brain and the 701..wa happen is when i start to measure the length of the cable from the hu to the brain it not long enough it can reach the trunk but not to that specific location i was looking at..

i did some measurements, got all my wiring etc and heard some hertz mille comps today

so hopefully tomorrow some fabrication and building would take place,

as for the airbag sensors, i know i hadda be careful lol i deffinitely dont want that blowing out on my face cuz its like getting slammed into a wall lol.. but i using this as a guide and reference when scrapping

http://www.e46fanatics.com/howto/howtod ... owto_id=25

i didnt get as much work as i liked as alot of stuff i ordered havent arrived in the mail so thats also had a contributing factor

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » December 27th, 2009, 5:41 am

i was wondering..what you guys think, on axis or off axis for the midrange in the kicks..
pros and cons of each if possible

jeff

Postby jeff » December 27th, 2009, 7:01 am

pimptacular wrote:i was wondering..what you guys think, on axis or off axis for the midrange in the kicks..
pros and cons of each if possible

what range are they playing

Sully

Postby Sully » December 27th, 2009, 11:07 am

pimptacular, As for the length of the cables. I ran the brain of the HU under the drivers seat, and the 310 in the rear near the amps. This keeps the length of the RCAs <3ft. I also had the Alpine KCA420i ipod controller. That resided in a space in the center console. There was also a cable for that run from the 310.

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » December 27th, 2009, 5:49 pm

jeff, well i was initially lookin at around 350hz to 5k at a 24db slope maybe even up to 6k on the same slope

Sully,thanks for the advice I'll definitely be looking into that

updates is progess have been slow..due to some cables and damepning and my circuit breaker etc not arriving yet.. and it doesnt make sense to run wiring now only to go back after to add in a cable
i also got to get started on the kicks as well but only after i run my wiring and im done with the interior of the car..

the d310 hu and the stock bmw hu..

the stock subwoofer..

the view from the back after a party :oops:

the dash with the wiring harness and the radio antenna adaptor..

also what you think about mounting amps upside down? as im rethinking that idea of mouting it under the backdash

Postby SR » December 27th, 2009, 9:04 pm

mounting upside down will only work if you have external cooling added

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » December 29th, 2009, 12:29 am

took the dimensions for the sub box and cut the 3/4 inch mdf to suit

testing the space for the 2 channel amp

looking at another location for the 4 channel and the mono..

i received my 300 amp inline circuit breaker in the mail today along with my optical cable that i will be using to send the signal from the d310 headunit in the dash to the alpine 701 processor.

ChristianRD

Postby ChristianRD » December 29th, 2009, 2:01 am

nice equipment

Postby kurpal_v2 » December 29th, 2009, 8:20 am

w8...YOU cut mdf? :shock: :shock: :shock:

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » December 29th, 2009, 11:09 am

:lol: well u eh here to do it fuh meh so i had no choice...the beyotch goin n be the amp rack :lol:

Postby SR » December 29th, 2009, 2:01 pm

ha ha ha

home depot cuts mdf to whatever size u want when u buy the sheet

carfreak1024

Postby carfreak1024 » December 29th, 2009, 3:13 pm

^^^^yeah, but god some times they could make some dumb mistakes, one time they let a trainee handle my order and every single cut was off by 1/8", as the man forget to take into consideration the blade length and he cut on the outside of the line he draw!!!

but the install lookin really nice boi, keep the pics comin, if i was there like i supposed to be i woulda gladly give you a hand.

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » December 31st, 2009, 8:02 pm

ok so i finally made some more progress today with the car
here the pics

Sub box being put together

testing with the sub box in place to take measurements for the amp rack

my inline circuit breaker and fiber optic cable came in the mail today

center console in the process of being taken out to run the wiring thru the middle of the car

after much much fustration and fifteen mins and fiddling with behind the deck area to get clearance for the hu to slide in..i get this

fiber optic cable in the dash

i had to take a grinder and round the square edges because when connected to the hu it slips right out

testing to make sure the d310 hu fits properly and its secure

3 main wires behind the hu ran into the trunk

my dash, trim and glove box put back up

not bad for a day's work, most of the time was spent taking apart the interior and trying to get those cables through under the carpet..its a tight fit and the carpet is stiff as hell!

i think 1 of the hardest part is done, whats left is building the main amprack . running of speaker wire down the sides and fiberglass pods for the midrange driver.. then its wire up and tune :D

Postby kurpal_v2 » December 31st, 2009, 8:50 pm

shadow dog strikes!! :shock: :shock:

Looks like the the 323 v1, flip the amps and false floor ftw..

Postby ~Vēġó~ » December 31st, 2009, 9:14 pm

nice nice.....was just wondering about the size of the screws used to build box----were they not a bit too short?

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » December 31st, 2009, 9:38 pm

~˜VëgŲ˜~ wrote:nice nice.....was just wondering about the size of the screws used to build box----were they not a bit too short?

screws used was 1 5/8" screws on 3/4" mdf and i didnt get any problems

Postby SR » January 1st, 2010, 2:17 am

if u remove the glove box u will get more room to get your hand behind the dash to clear the cables

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » January 1st, 2010, 3:52 am

SR wrote:if u remove the glove box u will get more room to get your hand behind the dash to clear the cables

i actually did remove the glove box but i couldnt fit my hand in there..too many obstructions in the way for me to even get a finger behind the deck area, i shouldve taken a pic..but i ended up removing the cage that holds the hu in place and the ac controller and push the wiring harness up and to the left and that basicaly cleared up the mess of stock harness..

it worked out pretty good

when next you coming up?

Postby SR » January 1st, 2010, 8:55 am

march

rigman00

Postby rigman00 » January 1st, 2010, 11:24 am

nice work

threeplumes

Postby threeplumes » January 2nd, 2010, 11:20 am

nice

Sully

Postby Sully » January 3rd, 2010, 1:13 pm

~˜VëgŲ˜~ wrote:nice nice.....was just wondering about the size of the screws used to build box----were they not a bit too short?

If you use sufficient wood glue, then the screw lengths should be fine. However, I'd still use 2" screws to hold the MDF together.