the rad not gettin enough breeze to cool the coolant at stop an go intervals

silver racer

Postby silver racer » November 10th, 2009, 6:34 pm

check fan or thermal sensor unit.

adriano7910

Postby adriano7910 » November 11th, 2009, 12:35 pm

oily residue was a previous problem b4 the gaskets where changed. hasnt happen since. i did wat you said and there was no gas pressure in the radiator just the usual hot water that wld pour over when u open a warm/hot full radiator. fuses, relays, rad fan and fan switch where checked today. all good. and another think i forgot to mention which i didnt think was relevant but found out it cld be today when i asked out of ignorance:- the car often weak starts when u start it for the first time after a while of rest and if u imediately switch off and start it again itll start more or less normal after. checked another mechanic but we was busy but i talked to him. he said it cld be the the head cracked (which causing the starting issue and the heating problem)even doh it was shaved and he said it cld be a bad water pump(malfunctioning or rotted fins). i need you all second third ninth opinions plz. thanks for the continued support

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » November 11th, 2009, 12:54 pm

this has happened to me twice...losing coolant.... except no oil in my coolant....when this happens I know it's because of some pinhole leak somewhere in the cooling system ... I don't bother to try and find it ... I simply replace all cooling system hoses, thermostat and pressure test the radiator and service it if required...refill with Honda coolant....always solves the problem

So the main difference here is the head gasket replacement and shaving you did....I suspect it's what others have been saying....cracked head

maZdaspeed6

Postby maZdaspeed6 » November 11th, 2009, 1:04 pm

Postby Morpheus » November 12th, 2009, 1:23 am

Nooooooooooooo.....cooling system problems!! My both previous car had me going through this.

One was a leaking hose, sprays coolant/water when the pressure in the system raises. Most times you wont see it because by the time you check, the heat in the engine bay already evaporate it.

The second was a faulty radiator cap :?

Follow the advise you getting here. Most of these guys are talking from first hand experience I am sure

And good luck

Postby sMASH » November 12th, 2009, 2:46 am

when my b13 head was leaking i did not get oil in my radiator.
to me, it sounds as though the heat from the engine not being dissipated properly, due to the fact that the temp increases and decreases due to different conditions. if the rad fan or the water pump not functioning properly, the heat would not be removed from the water and it would raise and lower the temps the thermo unit is sensing. the heat buildup would cause the water to evaporate as it not being cooled sufficiently by the radiator.
i not suspecting the problem is a leakage alone as the temp raises and lowers. it would remain constant as long as there is water circulation and cooling, then when the water level drops, it would go up, and only come down when the system cools.

not suspecting is a head leak because when i had a single core with the rb, the temps raised and lowered with driving speed, day to night temps. apparently the rad was just sized to this engine, and there were no faults in the system, just not enough cooling was goin on. the two core had it rock steady.

adriano7910

Postby adriano7910 » December 19th, 2009, 4:55 pm

update: turns out the new head gasket was defective so the car is in the shop as we speak replacing it. i hope no other gaskets got burned in the process of driving with the new(bad)head gasket. this was realised on a maracus run. lost a lot of radiotor coolant. level was really low. i let it cool filled it back started the engine with the radiator cap off.and wat do u no.to my surprise water shot out of the radiator and was sligthly bubbling during idling suggesting loss in compression i believe it is. headache and lot of wasted money. thanks for all the help guys

Mosaic

Postby Mosaic » December 19th, 2009, 7:21 pm

Hmmm,

New head gasket didn't last? Perhaps you should get a performance gasket. Possibly they shaved 2 much on your head and now your compression will defeat a regular gasket as well as overburden your cooling system. Add another fan to your radiator, either a push or a pull. Do u have a knock sensor in your car? Cuz if not you could be detonating with Hi Comp on Super gas causing Head gasket failure on hi load trips like maracas.

Pull your plugs and inspect for shiny particles embedded in the porcelain....if you got those sparklies u got detonation.

C is for Cyc

Postby C is for Cyc » December 20th, 2009, 1:17 am

I tink there is a test for blown HG..i dunno if this is true..but i saw my mechanic take an bottle half filled with water turned it over an placed it in radiator if u get bubbles shooting out in a tornado like movement..Head gasket gone if not its not your head gasket...i wanted to see if the above was true so i tested the test :mrgreen: on 6 vehicles accesible to me

suzuki liana
b11 sunny
honda eg8
almera
b15
cefiro (mines which was only vehicle with bubbles)

you all can clarify this

adriano7910

Postby adriano7910 » December 21st, 2009, 6:06 pm

got back the car. works perfectly. as for the amount shaved its far below half the amount that is specified as safe for head shaving of this particular head.i also recheck the radiator after running the car hard at a radiotor shop where the pressure tested it. nothing moved. radiator collant level remain constant no hose leaks but i may reclamp all hoses over to make sure. so thanks for all the support guys and will keep u all posted if anything changes and advice is needed 0X