BBQ question to coal or not to coal

Postby pugboy » September 24th, 2009, 12:15 pm

worst is when the oil/fat drops on the direct flame, burns and releases carcinogens
don't talk about all the carbonized crud which people expect on their chicken

Postby Maserati » September 24th, 2009, 12:16 pm

shaneelal wrote:
bushwakka wrote:cookin wit coals is unhealthy.....the smoke from the coal makes 'tar' similar to that from cigarettes

I believe there were studies linking Barbecue to causing cancer.

steups everything causing cancer or some disease these days...you got to die at some point..I don't want to avoid good tasting food so that I'll not get cancer and then only to die in some car crash.

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » September 24th, 2009, 12:24 pm

pugboy wrote:worst is when the oil/fat drops on the direct flame, burns and releases carcinogens
So you don't like a the bark?? That's the best part of BBQ

I hate when people mask the flavor of the meat with a bunch of heavy sauces etc.

Postby eliteauto » September 24th, 2009, 12:30 pm

cancer meat FTMFW

Postby pugboy » September 24th, 2009, 1:38 pm

i was referring to the pure carbon served by many of the bbq joints,
bark is not burnt.

RoTaRyBoYz wrote:
pugboy wrote:worst is when the oil/fat drops on the direct flame, burns and releases carcinogens

I hate when people mask the flavor of the meat with a bunch of heavy sauces etc.

Postby RBphoto » September 24th, 2009, 2:15 pm

William H scott was closed by the time I went to buy it, like they get a early day off as the eve of the holiday :(. I think is a sign I should go with a full propane setup :twisted: Will have to wait till tomorrow to get it.

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » September 24th, 2009, 2:39 pm

pugboy wrote:i was referring to the pure carbon served by many of the bbq joints,
bark is not burnt.

RoTaRyBoYz wrote:

Yea that burnt crap is bad for your health.. That's why I like it SLOW & LOW

There's still hope for us smoke lovers --> http://smokintex.com/blog/?p=797

Postby pugboy » September 24th, 2009, 3:15 pm

they have a good sale going on right now, i pick up an angle grinder

crossdrilled wrote:William H scott was closed by the time I went to buy it, like they get a early day off as the eve of the holiday :(. I think is a sign I should go with a full propane setup :twisted: Will have to wait till tomorrow to get it.

Postby pugboy » October 5th, 2009, 5:42 am

new pit is complete, 5 shelves 24x18

also made up an electronic temp controller running a pc power supply fan with a pid I bought off ebay for $65us, a readymade controller setup would cost more than twice that :)

this aint no micky mouse equipment
need to find a proper place to store it out of the weather

Postby X_Factor » October 5th, 2009, 6:28 am

^^ downstairs by me!!

who say bbq lime?

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » October 5th, 2009, 3:13 pm

Dem pugboy, you ain't no joke :shock:

That's a sweet setup you got there... I'm still trying to source an empty 150lb propane tank locally so I can get this project finish by spring '10

ps. post some pics of the fire box area.. Thanks

Postby RBphoto » October 5th, 2009, 3:30 pm

pugboy, I pick up the 5.7A hammer drill/ rechargeable driver set for less than a gran. Good deal.

Postby pugboy » October 5th, 2009, 4:14 pm

this thing weighs a good few hundreds lbs and is a pain to move even with the wheels but i guess because there are no handles.

I'll post pics later this week, still trying to cleanup and I have to get the rest of the grates made, only have 1. Have to drill and mount a thermometer in the door.

Also have to bake some cookies to see if any areas hotter than others and put some deflectors to even out the air flow from below

I put hammerite paint on the cooler sides but it didnt stick good, although it normally does and i degreased, gonna have to scrape/sand it off and let the surface rust a bit before i repaint.

I hear BOSS stationery store is selling Big Green Egg ceramic cookers now.

Postby pugboy » October 30th, 2009, 9:42 pm

the Weber dealer is having a sample day at TruValu Trincity tomorror Saturday lunchtime, sample food cooked on Weber equipment
including bbq smoked beef brisket by yours truly

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » December 10th, 2009, 10:31 pm

Ep 2 of BBQ Pit Masters starting tonight at 10pm ET on TLC.....

Postby X_Factor » December 10th, 2009, 11:13 pm

ah loving the marinade injectors
:shock: :shock:

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » December 10th, 2009, 11:31 pm

it looks like an old bicycle pump :lol:

Postby SR » December 11th, 2009, 6:16 am

yeah but dem is firm believers of dry rubs and no marinating

i disagree

meat needs to be seasoned and marinated for at least an hr prior to cooking

Postby X_Factor » December 11th, 2009, 2:14 pm

^but u think after they pump 10+ gallons of marinade into the meat then letting it cook for 15 hrs or more, they would tell the difference?

if it was just rub and cook, i could understand that tho

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » December 11th, 2009, 2:28 pm

^exactly..

Notice they talked about several key areas on a hog that you MUST inject.. I think injecting the meat is a better way to go..

On a side note- on Monday I'll be paying a visit to the supply store to get a 30qt pot to deep fry a turkey.. Will let you guys know how it goes. Fry turkey is supposed to be better than bake turkey

larafan

Postby larafan » December 11th, 2009, 2:31 pm

RoTaRyBoYz,

And orn tuesday we shall be gathering the swine! :mrgreen:

Postby X_Factor » December 11th, 2009, 3:02 pm

I think injecting the meat is a better way to go..

i bought a little plastic injector and about two weeks ago, i baked some chicken wings, pumping some marinade into the meat and leaving it to rest for about 2hrs if so much...and WOW.....totally amazing, flavour down to the bone, really

i did about 6 with a traditional green seasoning mix in addition to some dry salts

and the rest with just the dry stuff

the dry ones did taste alot better, the wings with the grean seasonings, apparently, the green seasonings sorta steamed inside the meat and was not to tasty

i ordered a lamb shoulder to experiment with on sunday!!
if my cuz returns the cam i'll post some pics

Postby Maserati » December 11th, 2009, 3:09 pm

pugboy wrote:I hear BOSS stationery store is selling Big Green Egg ceramic cookers now.

Any idea of the price?

Postby pugboy » December 11th, 2009, 5:07 pm

a green egg is a good few hundred usd retail so would be a good few thousand if you multiply by 12

Postby X_Factor » December 13th, 2009, 9:06 am

http://www.amazon.com/Taylor-Commercial ... 02&sr=8-38

is that a good thermometer to buy?..thats all i missing now
i fed up with the non digital type

Postby SR » December 13th, 2009, 9:30 am

injecting marinade

Postby pugboy » December 13th, 2009, 11:25 am

that works well
i have 2 of those but you have to be careful changing the battery
the contact casing can be broken and its no good after that

X_Factor wrote:http://www.amazon.com/Taylor-Commercial-Waterproof-Digital-Thermometer/dp/B00009WE4B/ref=sr_1_38?ie=UTF8&s=home-garden&qid=1260709502&sr=8-38

is that a good thermometer to buy?..thats all i missing now
i fed up with the non digital type

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » December 13th, 2009, 3:06 pm

Ah need a lil assistance fellas... I plan to deep fry a whole turkey this christmas and I'm thinking about giving it a lil asian flavor.. Trinidad - Chinese style chicken is the bomb, I was thinking about do the same seasoning for my Turkey.

Can someone provide me with a recipe for the chinese seasoning? Ah done have the vetsin (MSG) already, what else do I need to get?

Postby X_Factor » December 13th, 2009, 3:45 pm

i think soy-sauce and sesame oil gives it that chinese flavor mainly the soy sauce but not much as it would get really dark
in addition to the normal dry seasonings and some green ones- all purpose seasoning salt, garlic powder, celery salt, shadow beni, lil chive etc

thats what i use when doing that type of chicken

i would love to hear other recipes

Postby SR » December 13th, 2009, 4:05 pm

5 spice chinee seasoning powder