3NE2NR Official Phototakerouter & Photography Thread...

Postby Maserati » December 8th, 2009, 1:23 pm

Notorious Scullman wrote:Maserati, from the reviews I read some months ago, the Sigma is just as good all-round as the Canon f/2.8.

f/4 lenses are all well and good for bright sunlit sports, but once you have an overcast day, or start heading into dusk, you'll appreciate the benefits of the larger aperture of the Sigma.

I own a Canon 70-200 f/4L and it is an incredible lens, but having used a few Canon 70-200 f2.8L's (and pretty much any high-end f/2.8 lens for that matter), it's not a difficult decision to make to go for the larger aperture.

However, and it's a big HOWEVER! Canon L lenses typically do not depreciate, once well-maintained.

Sharpness at f/5.6-f/11 IMO is irrelevant, as you intend to shoot subjects in motion, where shutter speed and light sensitivity would be your priorities.

Something to bear in mind is that your flash (whether pop-up or hotshoe) has a much further effective range at f/2.8 than at f/4, and flash freezes motion.

cool thanks

Notorious Scullman

Postby Notorious Scullman » December 8th, 2009, 11:50 pm

crossdrilled wrote:Ok camera, but for that price you could buy a Nikon D40. Why not go SLR and done? D40 with a sb400 flash and the 35mm f/1.8 DX lens is all you need for what you want to do, and what I use 90% of the time.

I have been seeing that it is discontinued, but it is still widely avalible and going cheap. Far superior to the sony you are looking at.

Lol, cmon!

That's not good info. A Nikon D40 cannot start to perform what that Sony can.

They asked for "For family and general life shooting"

The Sony is a 9MP 10fps Camera with 20X optical zoom Image stabilisation, 6 blade aperture AND shoots 1080p HD Video.

You're suggesting a 6MP, 2.5fps camera with a 35mm lens? :?

Postby RBphoto » December 9th, 2009, 9:07 am

I can do more with my D40, faster, better than they can ever hope to acheive with that monstosity which has a sensor the size of my pinky fingernail and half the focus speed and low light capabilities of my 35mm lens.

But that is just my wicked skills. :P

What is the big deal with HD video? Nobody uses it's full potential on a P&S and worse yet do not use a tripod. Oh look at my home made video that looks soooo cool in HD but like I am on a boat at sea. If you are serious about video, best to buy a 3ccd camcorder and a tripod. I use my camera phone for video.

9fps does not help the fact that most people do not shoot in continuous mode, so might never be used. Just more junk to clutter up the hard drive.

I can go into the technical details of why I think a tiny SLR is better than a super zoom for the way I shoot, but I only speak for myself.

At the end of the day, it is up to the photographer to use the instrument that they see fit, and the amount of care, patience and dedication they have for the art which make a good photo, not the type of camera. My 2 Guyaneese cents =/= to your 2 EC cents.

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » December 9th, 2009, 7:20 pm

Not photoshopped....

cressida_override

Postby cressida_override » December 9th, 2009, 8:09 pm

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » December 9th, 2009, 9:44 pm

Good point there fellaz.

I have been thinking about the DSLRs actually.

there are the 2 that im weighing against eachother.
I kinda like the Canon more tho. Does anyone here use this model.

Canon Digital Rebel XSi 12.2 MP Digital SLR Camera with EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS Lens

Nikon D40 6.1MP Digital SLR Camera Kit with 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED II AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor Lens

:wink:

blukish

Postby blukish » December 9th, 2009, 9:46 pm

Mishi does he have sight in both eyes?

Postby MG Man » December 9th, 2009, 9:55 pm

prolly does....just differential pigmentation

Bacon

Postby Bacon » December 9th, 2009, 11:12 pm

Any opinions on the Nikon D5000

I am a lil novice and thinking this might be a good place to start.....any thoughts?

Nother ques....Nikon vs Canon?

Midnight_Demon

Postby Midnight_Demon » December 9th, 2009, 11:22 pm

^ canon.

Midnight_Demon

Postby Midnight_Demon » December 9th, 2009, 11:31 pm

Bacon

Postby Bacon » December 10th, 2009, 12:03 am

WDMC :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:

Sweet........

Midnight_Demon

Postby Midnight_Demon » December 10th, 2009, 12:44 am

^ lol :lol: :lol:

Postby RBphoto » December 10th, 2009, 8:22 am

Fire_Fighter786 wrote:Good point there fellaz.

I have been thinking about the DSLRs actually.

there are the 2 that im weighing against eachother.
I kinda like the Canon more tho. Does anyone here use this model.

Canon Digital Rebel XSi 12.2 MP Digital SLR Camera with EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS Lens

Nikon D40 6.1MP Digital SLR Camera Kit with 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED II AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor Lens

:wink:

I have both canon and nikon DSLR's.

I love my D40 for simplicity of use, small size, and 90% of the features I need. It is my daily shooter. It is the cheapest DSLR on the market right now, and i am actually thinking of buying another one with the recent price drop. The kit lenses in both the nikon and canon suck IMO.
I only use the 35mm DX lens which I bought afterwards on my nikon. In six months since I got it, I only used the kit lens twice.

I Have a film Canon SLR, the EOS 3, and bought scully's 28-135 zoom to use on it. That lens was so good I bought a older canon DSLR body to shoot it digital. I have come to appreciate my lighter nikon setup, but the older semi pro DSLR gives me more creative options. I think the XSI has live view and movie capture. I have played with what I think is the Xti (can't remember if it was the XSI) and gotten oppinions from the owner. Be warned, you need a microphone attachment to get sound with the canon in your video, and a large memory card, and a battery booster grip so you have enought juice to run the setup for a decent amount of time. Some people find live view useful, but I don't realy need it. Up to personal taste I guess.

Nikon and canon do not make shite (except this new D3000 business that nikon just released, don't think it is better than the D40, from reviews, but not a bad camera per se). Either one is a close your eye and buy option. The XSI has a few things things more advanced than the D40. The D40 hits back with a 1/500 flash sync which is quite useful.

At the end of the day the D40 kit from adorama with the kit lens and the 55-200mm lens is cheaper than the XTI with kit lens alone. You can get the D40 kit pluss the great 35mm f/1.8DX lens for about 90 US more than the XTI with kit lens alone. It wins on price.

The sony you are looking at is not bad, and to get that type of zoom out of a SLR will cost mucho denero. The antishake in most new cameras just amp up the iso so they can remove the shake with faster shutter speed. However, the fast auto focus and low light capabilities of an SLR are what in my oppinon make it better for "everyday" shots, as most family shots outdoor are kids at play, so fast AF is essential, or indoor, where a bounce flash and low light capabilities come into play.

Your call fyah man.

Postby RBphoto » December 10th, 2009, 8:40 am

Bacon wrote:Any opinions on the Nikon D5000

I am a lil novice and thinking this might be a good place to start.....any thoughts?

Nother ques....Nikon vs Canon?

Nikon and canon are both good. If you want good used stuff though, go Canon. Nobody sells their nikon stuff :(. D5000 is a tough call. Shares most of the stuff with the D90, but does not take advantage of all of the great electronics packed in there by suffocating it with the D40 control setup. I would go D90 if I am spending all that money on a camera to get the extra external controls. If this is the price range where you want to hang your hat, I would not suggest the D40, as it is simply not as advanced as the D90 electronics jammed into the D5000.

D5000= great camera, but the D90 would be better purchase.

Bacon

Postby Bacon » December 10th, 2009, 10:42 am

Cool.....Thanks,

I will post some options closer to the time......looking to profit from a Boxing day deal.......so i will post them then.........for a value/price analysis.....

Freelander

Postby Freelander » December 10th, 2009, 1:15 pm

the nikon D40 is very outdated i wouldnt compare it to the xsi at all

Postby RBphoto » December 10th, 2009, 1:31 pm

Freelander wrote:the nikon D40 is very outdated i wouldnt compare it to the xsi at all

Which one do you use?

Freelander

Postby Freelander » December 10th, 2009, 1:32 pm

ive played with 2 of my friends d40s and i own a xsi

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » December 10th, 2009, 1:34 pm

CrossD real good stuff there bro.

Nikon D40 6.1MP Digital SLR Camera Kit with 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED II AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor Lens by Nikon
$458.93

Canon Digital Rebel XSi 12.2 MP Digital SLR Camera with EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS Lens (Black)- Canon
$569.00

From what you said perhaps its a good idea to buy a body only and a 35mm lens.

Postby RBphoto » December 10th, 2009, 2:21 pm

Fire_Fighter786,

Where you see that price for the XSI? :shock: I was seeing it for 650+

Fyah bun the D40 for that price.

Um, I would go for the kit lens in your case, as you will not have a zoom. I have two zooms so I can afford to say what I want about the kit lens. There were two events where I could not be mobile and really needed the flexibility of the zoom. I would encourage you to get the prime in addition to the to the kit lens.

Not encouraging slackness eh, but my friend with an XSI bought the kit with the kit lens (which is obviously discounted), then went to another best buy to trade in the kit lens for another zoom he wanted. They gave him the FULL price rebate on his kit lens!!!

Freelander, I thought that the cost differential was quite vaster. The D40 is a little outclassed, but it ain't outdated, quite capable and it does take phenomenal shots, and easier to use. If the man on a 400 dollar budget, I thought that saving 200 over the XTI would make sense, but for the prices he quoted there, I have to change my position. Personally, I would still buy another D40 for myself as I am familar with the controls, menus and quirks.

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » December 10th, 2009, 2:27 pm

CD here is the link for where im plannign on getting the camara.

http://www.amazon.com/Canon-Digital-Cam ... N62AA2VTHV

:twisted:

Postby RBphoto » December 10th, 2009, 4:08 pm

Yeah, mark down from 649..

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » December 10th, 2009, 5:33 pm

blukish wrote:Mishi does he have sight in both eyes?

I've been told yes by the owners...

Postby Monk BANzai » December 10th, 2009, 5:44 pm

MISHI wrote:Image

Not photoshopped....

Yeates....is this the same dog from 2008?

(runs n hides)

Postby Maserati » December 10th, 2009, 5:52 pm

^like he bite yuh :lol: :lol:

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » December 10th, 2009, 6:00 pm

lol nah... saw it couple days before and had to go back and get a shot...

Bacon

Postby Bacon » December 11th, 2009, 12:09 am

Went and play with a D5000 today....with a 18-105 lens.....Felt nice in my hands but but I not smart enough to figure out how to use it :oops: :oops: :oops:

Goin and check out the D90 weekend..........

Notorious Scullman

Postby Notorious Scullman » December 11th, 2009, 1:08 am

crossdrilled wrote:
I have both canon and nikon DSLR's.

I love my D40 for simplicity of use, small size, and 90% of the features I need. It is my daily shooter. It is the cheapest DSLR on the market right now........

Umm...maybe...BUT

Nikon D40 6.1MP Digital SLR Camera Kit with 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED II AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor Lens $458.73

http://www.amazon.com/Nikon-Digital-18- ... 284&sr=8-1

Canon Rebel XS 10.1MP Digital SLR Camera with EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS Lens (Black) $459.00

http://www.amazon.com/Nikon-Digital-18- ... 284&sr=8-1

$0.27c Cheaper than a newer camera with more than 50% higher resolution, and an image-stabilised lens. :lol:

Once again, I have to defend the capabilities of kit lenses.
They are not to be judged as crap. They are only what you make of them.
I have taken great photos with kit lenses and so have many others.

Canon 18-55mm f.3.5-5.6 Kit lens on a 6.3MP Canon Digital Rebel

Canon 18-55mm f.3.5-5.6 II Kit lens on a 10.1MP Canon Digital Rebel XTi

Theses were all taken with a Canon 18-55mm f.3.5-5.6 Kit lenses that are so old they can't be bough new anymore and used to come free with entry-level Canon bodies.

It's really not fair to talk them down if you only used it twice yourself.

Postby 16 cycles » December 11th, 2009, 2:08 am

trying to stage this photo but not satisfied at all with the shots...

need some lighting or a background or something