need help with a 2jzgte upgrades, quarries?????????

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

Drizzles

need help with a 2jzgte upgrades, quarries?????????

Postby Drizzles » December 7th, 2009, 11:21 am

Frist time owning ah turbo-charged engine

recently bought ah Toyota Aristo with ah 3.0 2jzgte engine, it's stock no upgrades, if i have to put ah garrett t3/t4 turbo wat other things would i have to get apart from just the turbo.......
The car have ah problem it not holding the pressure wen the turbo kick-in and it sounds like it breaking up kinda like over reving dunno wat causing it. and the water tempreture keeps going up weneva i the turbo kick in.
When the car idling the white smoke comes out the muffler, not sure if it's normal????
Wondering if ah emanage blue would solve the problem and make the car run better stock with more boost???
it's at 5 lbs ah boost now.[/b]

dry

Postby dry » December 7th, 2009, 11:25 am

go get your head gasket changed.

Drizzles

Postby Drizzles » December 7th, 2009, 11:28 am

parts in grenada kinda scarce for them engine.....
how much does it go for in trini???

rx80

Postby rx80 » December 7th, 2009, 3:34 pm

The second turbo in the car sounds likes it's gone. Reason the 2JZ is sequential so one spools up then the other, thats why the smoke and temperature abnormalities when you rev higher. The rear turbo without the wastegate normally goes first.

drunk24-7

Postby drunk24-7 » December 8th, 2009, 10:19 am

Ensure that the radiator is big enough for the car. Also ensure that its not corroded or clogged as well.

Breaking up? Make sure the harness is wired in properly( electrical), injetcors are clean, plugs are not fouled etc. Would also make a bit of sense to check fuel pressure to make sure its getting fuel.

White smoke, whilst idling. Check valve seals...

Other professional tuners might have other ideas.
I had similar problems. These were some of my solutions

Drizzles

Postby Drizzles » December 8th, 2009, 10:55 am

okay... it had an e-manage ultimate piggy back plugged on to it but the guy didn't sell the it with the car, dunno if dat cause the problems now...

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » December 8th, 2009, 12:18 pm

Call this guy - he can guide you accordingly - 344 5690 - tell him Vinod passed on the number. Excellent mechanic

Postby gt4tified » December 8th, 2009, 11:01 pm

dry wrote:go get your head gasket changed.

x2.

sureshot_james

Supra/aristo engines from japan

Postby sureshot_james » December 10th, 2009, 1:37 am

your problem is your have an engine from japan they come with ceramic turbines in them. Your #1 turbo has broken turbine and probably 2 also. You will need to replace them with us spec or go single. i have tons of parts left over from my build if you need.

MarkMohammed

Postby MarkMohammed » December 16th, 2009, 4:28 pm

I in the same boat as u fella, first turbo vehicle too. Same 2jzgte.

Dont just assume the second turbo gone just yet. Check the actuators and the vsv's. Make sure the vacuum lines are in good condition too. It have two valves dat does bring in the second turbo. One on the exhaust outlet and one on the air outlet of the turbo. See if them ting stick.

As for the braking up sound, Checks your plugs. If u could get your hands on ah wide band, see wat goin on there. I bet its running real rich.

For the temperature, just make sure the radiator have enough water. Open the cap and check. Make sure your fans cutting in. I donno how to check the thermostatic valve but i guess once u seein water flowin in the radiator via the fill cap, it should be good.

Drizzles

Postby Drizzles » December 16th, 2009, 11:42 pm

iight i'll check, thanks for the info people..........

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » January 1st, 2010, 7:57 pm

if you want to check to see if the turbos are gone, set the entire turbo system to parallel mode....you'll hit 10-12psi on 1st, 2nd and 3rd, 4th and 5th, might spike to 18. For gearbox that is, on auto u might see 14-15psi....If you see less than 10, thats when u no a turbo is gone. Could be anyone.

Breaking up....it can be bad plugs, fuel filter, fuel pump going bad, fuel line kink, or, if you're head gasket is gone, its possible.

Also, if you temp goes up, does it go back down after a while or while driving normal? If not, then head gasket gone....Does it white smoke all the time or only for a little while on startup or such? White or Blue smoke, is what u need to exactly check, if turbo is gone, u will get blue smoke but it might look white to u....

Been thru all these problems on a 1jz and 2jz, and had them sorted out with research and patience. Toyotas dont like hurryness, so doh rush and do this and that, u might over spend for no reason.

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » January 1st, 2010, 8:02 pm

Also, thermostat tends to stick alot in out weather for some reason, i have had to remove mines on all my JZ engines i've owned. Make sure you have proper sized fans as well, i used two 10" fans before and when i switched to two 12", i saw a better temp. reading.

Open cover, check to see if water is flowing or shooting out....if its not flowing, could be thermostat sticking or stuck already, if u rev it and water starts pushing out, could be gasket gone.

Where you from? maybe i can be of assistance

Drizzles

Postby Drizzles » January 2nd, 2010, 9:19 pm

thanks for the infor i'll also check up on wat u explained to me......i'm from Grenada.

Return to “TOYOTA”