WHICH dog food do u use??

nivek

Postby nivek » December 2nd, 2009, 6:03 pm

when my rott wasa growing up every time we had to change food , from purina to pedigree,alpo and so on...........right now she eating eukanuba rel best food with a scoop a kenic its a bit costly $425 for a 35lb bag @ barkin dogs chag but u wont regret spending d money

G-DUB

Postby G-DUB » December 2nd, 2009, 7:34 pm

Royal canin

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » December 3rd, 2009, 7:37 am

I grew up my Rot on Science Diet and the results were great. When i switched to other dog foods, the dog's "smell" changed and was a bit more "smelly" and also his droppings changed in consistency.

When i returned to Science Diet - all was well.

slimshiney

Postby slimshiney » December 3rd, 2009, 9:25 am

Mine..he runs on rice/ purina mix and one boil fish a day :lol:......sweet coat shine ...

gundelero

Postby gundelero » December 3rd, 2009, 9:52 am

hustla_ambition101 wrote:try eukanaba, one of my friends used to feed this to his rott and the dog grew up to be the size of a pony, it also commanded thousands for stud work

i give my akita/shepherd this and she is huge, has the shiniest coat, and very active and agile.

i use beneful for my little terrier.

nick1323

Postby nick1323 » December 3rd, 2009, 9:58 am

Pro plan with some meat but i hear this EVO rel good

Postby UML » December 3rd, 2009, 10:07 am

Dion76 wrote:the dog is 5 months old

i put redcell sometimes

therein lies ur probles....dogs dont like the taste of red cell

use cod liver oil...or simply crack an egg in the chow

Postby UML » December 3rd, 2009, 10:09 am

Cjruckus wrote:My dog likes Chocolate Brownies best. Its always good to give him one after a meal.

chocolate is not good to give dogs.....no type of human snacks.....humans can break it down...dogs cant...u might be killing him and not know!!!

Postby UML » December 3rd, 2009, 10:19 am

you must gradually introduce new dog chows to ur dogs.....switching just so...affects their stomach and digestion

otherwise chicken head, chicken butt and chicken foot :mrgreen:

dman

Postby dman » December 3rd, 2009, 11:31 am

i use canidae -- als and lamb and rice formulae

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » December 3rd, 2009, 3:41 pm

UML wrote:
Cjruckus wrote:My dog likes Chocolate Brownies best. Its always good to give him one after a meal.

chocolate is not good to give dogs.....no type of human snacks.....humans can break it down...dogs cant...u might be killing him and not know!!!

TRUE x 300

Terran

Postby Terran » December 3rd, 2009, 8:17 pm

^ That and curry. Hint, hint... Honda Hoe.

link

Postby link » December 4th, 2009, 8:33 pm

Sportmix High Energy.....all my mongrels, frm pothong up bussin' it up
..$240/50lb bag
rgds

Postby gt4tified » January 2nd, 2010, 1:44 am

Just-turned-adult female half-shepherd/half-ridgeback >>>>>>>>> Alpo. Off an on, I give her some sardines and rice and some cod liver oil in the chow.

Postby sMASH » January 2nd, 2010, 8:32 am

from de rott to the beagles to the pompeck to the pot mixes, all ah dem want fish an rice. we give dem purina, pedigree, alpo, pricemart, dog ration (from grocery) and dem eh wah none... went days without eatin. we cook chicken parts and rice, neither.

is either table scraps, mini beasts they cetch in de place or fish an rice.

joashmgn

Postby joashmgn » January 2nd, 2010, 9:54 am

any of you'll tried Earthborn Holistic???

Check it out... it's a very good chow... sells for $400/ 28lb bag which may seem expensive but with the reduced amount that you're feeding the animals it works out to the same as all of the 50 lb bags...

The reason you feed them less is because the chow is very high in nutrients etc and contains NO fillers so the amount of Eukanuba, Pro Plan, Pro Pac, Purina, SportMix etc. for them to be nourished is cut in half on the Earthborn Holistic... Same principle actually with the Evo, Healthwise, Canidae, Innova and these other high end dog foods...

Check it out...

Rx

Re: dog food

Postby Rx » January 2nd, 2010, 11:08 am

foxy girl wrote:
g unit wrote:Purina Dog Chow, No Name Dog Food and Hot Water (for sauce) all in a mix

and sometimes day before leftovers in the mix too

Your mom should put some water in your plate..... lets see how you'd like dat

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: ouch :lol: :lol:

link

Postby link » January 2nd, 2010, 4:56 pm

joashmgn wrote:any of you'll tried Earthborn Holistic???

Check it out... it's a very good chow... sells for $400/ 28lb bag which may seem expensive but with the reduced amount that you're feeding the animals it works out to the same as all of the 50 lb bags...

The reason you feed them less is because the chow is very high in nutrients etc and contains NO fillers so the amount of Eukanuba, Pro Plan, Pro Pac, Purina, SportMix etc. for them to be nourished is cut in half on the Earthborn Holistic... Same principle actually with the Evo, Healthwise, Canidae, Innova and these other high end dog foods...

Check it out...

BUT...then u will hve yr dogs hungry ALL THE TIME.........even if they are getting required nutrition :!: :!:

G-DUB

Postby G-DUB » January 2nd, 2010, 8:28 pm

joashmgn wrote:any of you'll tried Earthborn Holistic???

I`m thinking about switching to this chow...I have my dog on Royal Canin large breed puppy but he`s allergic to something in the chow so i`m thinking about the Earthborn Holistic or the Artemis.

joashmgn

Postby joashmgn » January 9th, 2010, 8:21 pm

link wrote:BUT...then u will hve yr dogs hungry ALL THE TIME.........even if they are getting required nutrition

not necessarily man... after changing the chow i started off feeding the dogs the same amount as they used to be fed and they left a considerable amount in their bowls because they were satisfied... and that's good enough for me...

G-DUB wrote:I`m thinking about switching to this chow...I have my dog on Royal Canin large breed puppy but he`s allergic to something in the chow so i`m thinking about the Earthborn Holistic or the Artemis.

Both excellent chows... Artemis was only recently introduced to our market and I have yet to try it... mainly because i have nuff Earthborn Holistic on my hands for the while... but as my stockpile begins to wane i'm definitely gonna try the Artemis... but only the puppy chow though... the adult chow isn't rated as high as the puppy chow... strangely enough...

image91

Postby image91 » January 10th, 2010, 12:58 am

Call Pittstop Kennels.
797-9703 , they'll point you in the right direction ;)

Aphrodite
Location: living my life ....and loving it every step off the way :)

Postby Aphrodite » January 10th, 2010, 1:52 am

i normally feed my dogs pro plan puppy chow,rice and liver..chicken neck every so often..

i use the puppy chow over the adult chow cause your dog gets more vitamins..

plus the vet's recommend you feed any dog under a year 2 to 3 times a day..

TrinbagoMan

Postby TrinbagoMan » January 25th, 2010, 12:30 pm

Where is the cheapest places to get chow

Purina or Pedigree

or another good one

Its for a adult male rott.

G-DUB

Postby G-DUB » January 25th, 2010, 8:33 pm

Who sells Eukanuba chow?

MasterShake

Postby MasterShake » January 25th, 2010, 11:08 pm

used to use diamond dog chow but now i use pro plan large breed....on both my rott and Belgian Shepard

TrinbagoMan

Postby TrinbagoMan » January 26th, 2010, 10:47 am

:idea:

***TRINISON***

Re: WHICH dog food do u use??

Postby ***TRINISON*** » September 11th, 2010, 2:28 pm

Where do you get Evo in Chaguanas??? And how much for it???

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 11th, 2010, 8:34 pm

The rott gets Purina Large Breed lamb.
Thinking about mixing in some beef liver / chicken on an alternating basis.

Her appetite has dropped, but she is not losing weight and I am feeding her the recommended amounts from Purina's site...

I've been told that slow growth is a lot more stable than forced growth, so I am letting her grow the old fashioned way...

*Nebula*

Postby *Nebula* » September 11th, 2010, 10:32 pm

I have a picky eater in my hands; bought the pedigree puppy chow he ate it for a week. Now he just won’t even attempt to try it again. Then I started giving him some liver and rice, it was good for a short period. Then I started trying various combinations with the chow and liver etc he will nibble the food and walk away...

The only thing he is consistent with is drinking milk; he drinks a lot of it. He is seven weeks old and he got his first rounds of booster shots so he is pretty active and peppy, but he gives me a headache with his eating habits. I really can't give him milk alone I want him to start eating solid food consistently.

He's a mix breed Rottweiler/German Sheppard. Any of you got any suggestions or recommendations? I 'm really worried...

douglaking

Postby douglaking » September 11th, 2010, 10:48 pm

Is Pro Plan any better than the rest?