Muslim denied entry into Trinidad..........from Tobago!!!

Raaan

Postby Raaan » November 29th, 2009, 11:26 pm

rollingstock,
I don't know what democratically elected governments has this 'ethnic group' bombed and forcefully removed from power.
You say these muslims persecute people who try to exercise their freedom of speech: while this Tobagonian muslim who excerised his freedom to speech was in fact persecuted and locked up.
Have you no shame?

Maserati,
There have been muslim immigrants in these western countries for over 1000years, and for even longer in European countries.
These immigrants are part of the fabric that makes up these nations.
These people have been coexisting and living in peace with their neighbours for the most part.

Since you know so much, what specific laws do muslims want changed in these western countries?

Postby Maserati » November 29th, 2009, 11:44 pm

Raaan wrote:Since you know so much, what specific laws do Muslims want changed in these western countries?

my bad I meant more like they expect a country to give them special treatment.
I live in Canada and quite a bit of Canadians openly express dissatisfaction with Muslims (and other immigrants) from the way in which they fail to dress in a more western manner, learn and adapt to a more western culture. some do not mix with other people (white).some do not even bother to learn English.
I am Muslim too and in the mosque up here it is very different from Trinidad, quite a bit of anti-western sentiments.
I'd rather not be grouped with them.
There is alot of Islam phobia here and in Europe since 9/11 and it has increased with the London,Madrid bombings.

Postby M_2NR » November 29th, 2009, 11:52 pm

Maserati wrote:
Raaan wrote:Since you know so much, what specific laws do Muslims want changed in these western countries?

my bad I meant more like they expect a country to give them special treatment.
I live in Canada and quite a bit of Canadians openly express dissatisfaction with Muslims (and other immigrants) from the way in which they fail to dress in a more western manner, learn and adapt to a more western culture. some do not mix with other people (white).some do not even bother to learn English.
I am Muslim too and in the mosque up here it is very different from Trinidad, quite a bit of anti-western sentiments.
I'd rather not be grouped with them.
There is alot of Islam phobia here and in Europe since 9/11 and it has increased with the London,Madrid bombings.

they have failed to adapt. They cant accept the idea that islam is modern that a jubba n thoub is not the only muslim wear. Yes a woman should cover her body and not expose it (no i not supporting those who throw away the hijab) but wearing as they say western clothes is not haram once they covered.
TBH too many seem to separate the world into west and east and to them(teh moslems up deh), the east is there way n nothing else, when Islam isnt that. There is no east/west in Islam and this what many cant grasp for some odd reason.

ase_tt

Postby ase_tt » November 30th, 2009, 12:09 am

wah make allyuh feel the trinidad & tobago protective services had a clue he was on his way to trini?...im positive the were alerted by some foreign body of security. It have real foreign police in T&T for CHOGM

trini_ravi

Postby trini_ravi » November 30th, 2009, 4:51 am

but the man ain't do anything...

he write a letter on an issue voicing his opinion....

then try to travel to Trinidad.... WDMC

i would sue the state for detaining me and spoiling my Eid celebrations...

ejimmy

Postby ejimmy » November 30th, 2009, 5:42 am

trini_ravi wrote:but the man ain't do anything...

exactly

but when one's education dwindles in secondary school and ceases by the end and one gets no opportunity to continue further and become more intelligent,

we have treds like this where 75% just hate, 20% dont know whats going on 5% understand and try to explain to the lesser mortals

so i say blame the minister of education for not providing proper education to us thereby allowing us to not be able to properly understand articles we read and properly analyse and assess it from all corners, for sitting with a remote in one hand, a doubles in the other and blindly believing everything we hear on tv
and for taking sides in an issue whilst having no idea what the opposition's stance is, but damn right for sure my side is correct.

thats the culprit here, minister of education..

trini_ravi

Postby trini_ravi » November 30th, 2009, 6:54 am

^^^ is a well though out plan that has been proven since the beginning to time....

if they don't know any better they'll believe anything and we could get away with murder....

ent they say Trinidad have a high tertiary education rate... but is what they teaching... ah set of 'book sense' drones who can't think outside of what was told to them... no social development ie Sams, SBCS, TTIT in my days... *let me stop this rant before the mafia come for me tho*

JoeZwalez

Postby JoeZwalez » November 30th, 2009, 9:33 am

Interesting reading indeed! Most people wont understand this unless it comes home to their front door. The day one of us writes Manning expressing dissatifaction over taxes or UdeNOTT and they prevent you from driving into port of spain, it may bring a different response.

Since when is profiling legal in Trinidad? Where is the just probable cause? Why did they not detain David Abdullah for forwarding a letter on behalf of FITUN to the secretary general of the CHOGM expressing 'deep concern' for the state of our country?...C'mon people....is ole talk not sh*t talk!

Postby Maserati » November 30th, 2009, 11:30 am

ejimmy wrote:
but when one's education dwindles in secondary school and ceases by the end and one gets no opportunity to continue further and become more intelligent,

we have treds like this where 75% just hate, 20% dont know whats going on 5% understand and try to explain to the lesser mortals

:idea:

noobie

Postby noobie » November 30th, 2009, 11:31 am

JoeZwalez wrote:
Since when is profiling legal in Trinidad? Where is the just probable cause? Why did they not detain David Abdullah for forwarding a letter on behalf of FITUN to the secretary general of the CHOGM expressing 'deep concern' for the state of our country?...C'mon people....is ole talk not sh*t talk!

The article stated that this person was an individual of Interest to both American and British intelligence. i.e. he is being watched, monitored and most likely investigated. Your comparison to Abdullah is therefore irrelevant.

Postby rollingstock » November 30th, 2009, 11:57 am

Raaan wrote:rollingstock,
I don't know what democratically elected governments has this 'ethnic group' bombed and forcefully removed from power.
You say these muslims persecute people who try to exercise their freedom of speech: while this Tobagonian muslim who excerised his freedom to speech was in fact persecuted and locked up.
Have you no shame?

Dude do you live under a stone, does july 1990 set of any bells, an innocent police officer was killed whilst performing guard duties at the police headquarters, cause bombing the building was more important to them than this man's life, after shooting him multiple times they drove over his body, there's 9/11 and so much more examples, that's a stupid statement to make. The point in fact is that there are radical muslims that i hate, and there are the "normal" muslims that i have no problem with, i am a christian and if you study theology a little you would realise that muslims and christians beliefs go hand in hand, and are derived from the same beliefs from the old testament. The fact that Mr. Abdullah was targeted was only because of the fact that he set of certain alarm bells, old people say show me your friend and i'll tell you who you are. Next thing i guess you will defend Hitler for killing Jews cause they persecuted Jesus Christ???????????????

JoeZwalez

Postby JoeZwalez » November 30th, 2009, 1:15 pm

noobie wrote:
JoeZwalez wrote:

The article stated that this person was an individual of Interest to both American and British intelligence. i.e. he is being watched, monitored and most likely investigated. Your comparison to Abdullah is therefore irrelevant.

Writing a letter expressing an opinion makes you an individual of interest???

Irrelevant u say? Again i ask, since when do we allow our citizens to be profiled by a foreign Fand they our very own people to violate our rights!
Sounds like a familiar M.O

noobie

Postby noobie » November 30th, 2009, 1:25 pm

JoeZwalez wrote:Writing a letter expressing an opinion makes you an individual of interest???

The letter was not what made him an individual of interest.
He already was under investigation when he wrote the letter.

Again, this fact makes the rest of your statement irrelevant.

Trinidad and Tobago has a responsibility to co-operate with foreign governments and intelligence agencies to combat terrorism worldwide. Our security agencies would have had sight of the reasons that he was of interest and could make their own conclusions as to whether these reasons were valid or not. Clearly Trinidad and Tobago security forces decided that there was valid reason to keep this person under scrutiny.

mannh01

Postby mannh01 » November 30th, 2009, 1:35 pm

If the man is a trinboganian, why deny him free access to his country. So why don't they ban manning from moving around, he is responsible for all the deaths due to crime, sick people dying due to poor health facilities, poor road conditions, stripping of tint, banning of street racing, etc, etc.
Is that not worse than a measely letter to sarkozy defending women's right to wear the hijab/burka?

Come on people, this was an apparent ploy to shift attention away from the PM, you all don't see that?

Postby rollingstock » November 30th, 2009, 1:37 pm

^^^ you're trying to defend stripping of tint and street racing :shock:

Postby sMASH » November 30th, 2009, 1:51 pm

i write letter to express opinion...i get rough up by police

democracy winzzzzzz
:?

Postby *$kїđž!™ » November 30th, 2009, 2:07 pm

yeah but what was written in the letter?????.......think about it......

Postby sMASH » November 30th, 2009, 2:14 pm

OPINION!!!!!!! no threats!

noobie

Postby noobie » November 30th, 2009, 2:25 pm

The letter was not what made him an individual of interest.
He already was under investigation when he wrote the letter.

Postby cinco » November 30th, 2009, 4:14 pm

all this simmi dimmi
when the shite hits the fan do you think tt army can do anything? when chavez decide to roll een who u tink manning calling fuh back up?
get real people this is what you call saving face. He had to do this to show cooperation with the larger powers so when his time comes he can say "Eh remember dat fella ah stop from travelin within his own country? Well bless meh nah"

ejimmy

Postby ejimmy » November 30th, 2009, 6:59 pm

lol chavez doesnt have a track record for moving in and claiming other ppl country (in the name of peace and security)

The ppl manning sucking up to on the other hand, well you all done know..

TK!

Postby TK! » December 1st, 2009, 9:51 am

this is a stupid thread full of ignorance, arrogance and cowardly fools.

didn't anyone watch V for Vendetta? or read 1984 ...?

when our freedom to write a letter, is cause for persecution, and we ACCEPT it as OK; then we are surely fools.

Emil

Postby Emil » December 1st, 2009, 9:59 am

^Thinking the same thing...the point is the man is a national living in his own country, if they have grounds to arrest him, then arrest him, but you can't stop someone moving around in their own place without charge.

Some real "irrelevant" statements being made here.

ejimmy

Postby ejimmy » December 1st, 2009, 12:20 pm

yep shows how stupid trinis are, thats why i started this, from observing the initial comments to the article.
They accepted somn wrong if carefully analysed as ok.
But remember they didnt do it empty handedly,
there was a doubles in one and a appleJ in the other,
so give them some credit..

Postby rollingstock » December 1st, 2009, 12:37 pm

The fact of the matter is that it's better to be a little proactive than reactive, after 9/11 how many instances of red flags going up were ignored only in retrospect to realise that something could have been done. T&T is still a democratic country and citizens rights are adhered to, imagine if it were another country, look at the U.S.A imagine being taken away from your family and taken to Guantanamo and not knowing if and when you will be released, and being tortured and not knowing if you will get a fair trial if any. The truth is there was enough information for the security forces to detain him that we will not be privy to. Mr Abdullah himself admitted that he was not ill treated and was actually treated well whilst in custody. And acts like these happen everyday in T&T, how many young men are held by police and kept for the requisite 48 hours and then released without being charged. The security forces had a job to do, keep the CHOGM delegates safe whilst in our country which they did, would you rather ensure that one man's rights is temporarily ignored or an International incident.

Postby crazybalhead » December 1st, 2009, 12:39 pm

ejimmy wrote:
trini_ravi wrote:but the man ain't do anything...

exactly

Intelligence does not work this way

so i say blame the minister of education for not providing proper education to us

WUT???

thereby allowing us to not be able to properly understand articles we read and properly analyse and assess it from all corners, for sitting with a remote in one hand, a doubles in the other and blindly believing everything we hear on tv
and for taking sides in an issue whilst having no idea what the opposition's stance is, but damn right for sure my side is correct.

thats the culprit here, minister of education..[/quote]

Wow boy....

Postby crazybalhead » December 1st, 2009, 12:41 pm

TK! wrote:this is a stupid thread full of ignorance, arrogance and cowardly fools.

didn't anyone watch V for Vendetta? or read 1984 ...?

when our freedom to write a letter, is cause for persecution, and we ACCEPT it as OK; then we are surely fools.

OBVIOUSLY this is not the only reason. DUUUUUUUUUUUUUHHHHHH.

:x

Postby rollingstock » December 1st, 2009, 12:45 pm

Emil wrote:^Thinking the same thing...the point is the man is a national living in his own country, if they have grounds to arrest him, then arrest him, but you can't stop someone moving around in their own place without charge.

Some real "irrelevant" statements being made here.

I don't think anyone's personal views on a topic is irrelevant, we all have our own views and believe that we are right, i could be wrong as $hit, but it's my personal view and there's always more in the morta than the pestle, so i take nothing at face value, i look at the facts that are there and what would illicit that reaction.

JoeZwalez

Postby JoeZwalez » December 1st, 2009, 1:24 pm

it is good that we can all express our opinions respectfully and I personally can appreciate all views even though they differ from mine. Looking at the bigger picture, we are a small sample of the wider population.

Looking beyond the incident, we should ponder the issue and see what impact it has on us as citizens, and on what i personally perceive as a subliminal attack on our democracy and the level of protection that our laws and constitution affords us.

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » December 1st, 2009, 1:28 pm

sux to be him , could very well be a nobody with a humble opinion...or a purist with a reason to cause harm ...point is he has been deemed a liability due to his actions...