JZS 161 owners..past or present a moment please

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

.:PROZAC:..

JZS 161 owners..past or present a moment please

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » November 12th, 2009, 11:33 am

What non-engine issues and concerns did you have with this car?
What problems did you have, what was prone to failure or was bothersome?

I'm looking for some first hand feedback. I am thinking about picking up a used one with<140 000 km.

sincerely,
Zac

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » November 12th, 2009, 3:26 pm

pulling 2 much pantie :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

cutthroatInt

lexus

Postby cutthroatInt » November 15th, 2009, 11:29 am

really good car...

know someone from the east that carries it to car shows, does burn outs, no problems to date.

Gs300, another one of my dreams yet to become reality....

i believe these wud come VVTI. 2jzge and 2jzgte.

its toyota built. dont tink there might be much problems.

but at 140k kms you might want to change timing belts, tranny fluid and all other oils. do a service on injectors etc.. normal service jus to have a base to work on since its a used car you're looking to buy.

Im not sure if the tiptronic tranny gives any trouble after a while of use.
I have a padna with the AS200 tiptronic and uses it from time to time since they had the car and havnt had any problems thus far.
so im assuming toyota/lexus wud have a similiar or even better build on the jzs161.

what price range are u gettin this for prozac? 120-140?

wud u get a loan from credit union to buy one of these? :mrgreen:

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » November 17th, 2009, 11:16 am

That's what I figured myself. Seems to be a very solid platform.
Sold the S14 and Primera and time to get into a more mature ride, fedup with this race car non-sense.
Timing belt and water pump were done, guy has it on 20s..not my taste atelast the ones he has on.
cutthroatInt car is in Canada not Tdad sorry.

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » November 17th, 2009, 1:38 pm

^^ oh... ok kewl...

but its a nice ride

Altezza576

Postby Altezza576 » November 17th, 2009, 4:53 pm

GS's are solid cars. You wont see any problems at all.

Assuming its a clean well taken care of car... Do the following...

Timing Belt and Water Pump.... (lexus recommends at 90K)
Spark plugs - Denso Iriduim preferred for VVTi
Tranny Fluid flush and refill with Correct Toyota fluid. (dont use Canadian Tire crap)
Clean MAF sensor on intake pipe. (electrical contact cleaner spray - let air dry 12hrs)

You should be good to go...

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » November 18th, 2009, 10:36 am

Thanks for the info.
I didn't knwo you were still around. You were with lexotic tuning right, had a brother with a nice P11 too.

Altezza576

Postby Altezza576 » November 18th, 2009, 7:01 pm

yeah Im still here.... I am just trying to pass the torch to the newer guys.... but no one has stepped up these days... you an always catch me on AIM or Facebook. Im actually trying to sell my JZA80 and buy either a GT3 or a R8.

Return to “TOYOTA”