No more Petrotrin?

neilsingh100

No more Petrotrin?

Postby neilsingh100 » November 17th, 2009, 7:48 pm

Heard on the news about some high level talks to close down Petrotrin and create a new company and some 2000 workers to get retrenched.

Any truth here?

playerskrew

Postby playerskrew » November 17th, 2009, 7:49 pm

Ah Here dat 2...

air wick

Postby air wick » November 17th, 2009, 7:50 pm

they always talking that talk

yet still contracts givin out and ppl getting permanent

playerskrew

Postby playerskrew » November 17th, 2009, 7:52 pm

Yeh Real Politics....

Postby hydroep » November 17th, 2009, 7:58 pm

I remember a lecturer telling us that there are refineries the size of Petrotrin that operate with a staff of no more than 200 people...:|

Emil

Postby Emil » November 17th, 2009, 8:14 pm

I heard that is the plan from an OWTU rep as well, but so far just an idea by the authorities...that will lead to real srike action and protests yes...real stress.

Government should insist they restructure and get rid of some of those useless TSTT workers also.

neilsingh100

Postby neilsingh100 » November 17th, 2009, 8:20 pm

there is also talk that the government is going to sell its 51% stake in TSTT

guess the free ride has to end sometime :)

Postby UML » November 17th, 2009, 8:37 pm

UML wrote:set to rise considerably.....i was reliably informed from an internal source in a construction company doing work here that 3,000 jobs would be cut in February 2010.

Postby Redman » November 17th, 2009, 8:43 pm

Didnt the PM discuss a super energy company

I think that they might go towards the Exxon Mobil ,BP,PDVSA model of vertical integration- E and P to Retail Market.

Later

RYO3149

Postby RYO3149 » November 17th, 2009, 8:54 pm

ent they jus bailed out GTL... how will that be affected now????

Postby tr1ad » November 17th, 2009, 9:02 pm

allyuh like to listen to innuendo eh

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 17th, 2009, 9:32 pm

Redman wrote:Didnt the PM discuss a super energy company

I think that they might go towards the Exxon Mobil ,BP,PDVSA model of vertical integration- E and P to Retail Market.

Later

EnronTT.
Because this time, no-one will get caught.

Postby Damien » November 17th, 2009, 9:36 pm

sinistersam

Postby sinistersam » November 18th, 2009, 10:22 am

heard this also

from wat i was told, they were planning to send home worker this year but the government told management to hold it of till after the CHOGM.....

as for the union.... they could do wat they want the company's management doesn't care anymore...the union could tell the workers to stay home and protest.....and the very next day the workers return to work, is cut pay and warning letter, in they arse.....the union lacks the punch it used to have....others say the union management get buy out so they don't really care to fight.

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » November 18th, 2009, 10:50 am

i hear dat from my pops.he saying is shell buying it.not sure

Postby SR » November 18th, 2009, 10:53 am

about time
petrotrin is overstaffed
weed out the non performers

yuh know the ones who just collect a salary and spend it by the bar when they should be working

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » November 18th, 2009, 10:56 am

SR wrote:about time
petrotrin is overstaffed

yuh know the ones who just collect a salary and spend it by the bar when they should be working

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » November 18th, 2009, 10:57 am

i think gov. needs to do action before talking.....

devrat

Postby devrat » November 18th, 2009, 10:57 am

SR wrote:about time
petrotrin is overstaffed

Totally agree, Petrotrin is too labour intensive...i have worked in larger, very cost effective refineries with a much smaller work force.

Postby Greypatch » November 18th, 2009, 12:14 pm

about time BUT may NOT happen

Postby Damien » November 18th, 2009, 12:18 pm

the amount of service companies will feel the pain of this as well :shock:

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » November 18th, 2009, 1:35 pm

i heard something similar going on in bp but they don't have that to study right now, their bonus is the talk of the town.

Postby RASC » November 18th, 2009, 1:38 pm

Still trying to figure out the issue ppl are having with making the plant more efficient and less reliant on labour. The more automated the better! Gov't will be doing a great service to the nation by retrenching the loss ends, and tightening ship!

Postby RASC » November 18th, 2009, 1:39 pm

Damien wrote:the amount of service companies will feel the pain of this as well :shock:

Good... 8-) More efficiency!

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » November 18th, 2009, 1:46 pm

n cut down d alcoholism in d coutry :!: :!:

FORZA_PRETTYBOY

Postby FORZA_PRETTYBOY » November 18th, 2009, 2:46 pm

hydroep wrote:I remember a lecturer telling us that there are refineries the size of Petrotrin that operate with a staff of no more than 200 people...:|

he doesn't know what he's saying,even if it was highly automated(it's not),200 wouldn't even b d bear minimum 2 run those plants(26 & growing)

robarri

Postby robarri » November 18th, 2009, 6:10 pm

FIRE DEM ALL AND PRIVIATIZE ITS ASS!

JWT

Postby JWT » November 18th, 2009, 9:22 pm

actually Petro canada if i am correct is coming to take it over is only a matter of time after the upgrade.

Seriously over staffed.

sinistersam

Postby sinistersam » November 19th, 2009, 6:13 pm

for those that say privatize petrotrin, they don't have a clue as to wat big a mistake that is.

petrotrin contributes alot of income towards the economy of the country.
if the government was to privatize it, they would be killing their goose.

i agree the petrotrin maybe overstaffed, but that's only in some areas, such as admin.

it's hardly likely that the maintenance departments and operations departments are over staffed

trini_ravi

Postby trini_ravi » November 19th, 2009, 7:07 pm

^^^ good point and i hope people outside the industry would understand the economic value...

i am all for non governmental allegiances and privatization but i am against foreign investors taking away our oil $$$....

example needs to be taken from Chavez...