W.T.K why my music keep on getting hot and tripping.

stonelove48

W.T.K why my music keep on getting hot and tripping.

Postby stonelove48 » November 7th, 2009, 11:41 am

Yea tuners need some help.............i bought some small music system for my car and don't know y my music keep on getting hot and tripping fast..........like in about 1/2 hr to 45 mins...............if so long............ones cool down...........it's playing againg normal..................any help tuners......................ohh it is under the car seat.

and it's a 1. Power acoustic amp..........1600 Watts, 1 10" Pioneer subs 500W, 2 6 * 9 pioneer, 2 pioneer 6" door speakers and 2 tweter.

Any help guys.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » November 7th, 2009, 11:44 am

if d gain is set high then lower it down .....

stonelove48

Postby stonelove48 » November 7th, 2009, 12:02 pm

thanks will check it out and lower it...........(...Rovin...), how much should i lower it.? lower it while u playing the music or not?

theblitz

Postby theblitz » November 7th, 2009, 12:10 pm

2ch or 4ch amp?

Coil config of the sub?

It could be that the load you are running is below stable for that amp as well.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » November 7th, 2009, 12:32 pm

^^Yeah, more than likely its an impedance problem.

subzero8714

Postby subzero8714 » November 7th, 2009, 12:45 pm

i have to go with silent_riot and theblitz it will most likely be an ohms configuration problem, other than that, maybe u should put the amp in the trunk instead and put a fan or two on it, this will give u longer playing time, but would be damaging components on the amp board due to wrong impedance loads

stonelove48

Postby stonelove48 » November 7th, 2009, 1:14 pm

theblitz, it's a 4 ch amp................the subs is a 10" pioneer speaker, don't know anything about the coil for the speaker or notthing like that............really like the help...........so i can check it out

theblitz

Postby theblitz » November 7th, 2009, 1:52 pm

How is it hooked up? Sub on two channels bridged and two speakers and a tweeter on each of the other two channels?

Find out is the sub is single 2 or 4 ohm,or dual coil 2 or 4 ohm. The amp is most likely 2-ohm stable with all channels driven, 4-ohm stable in bridge mode. If you speakers are not connected like above or if the sub comes down to less than 4-ohms in bridge mode that cud be ur problem.

So for more help find out:
--> How its hooked up
--> Sub coil configuration

pornstar#1

Postby pornstar#1 » November 7th, 2009, 2:19 pm

bcuz yuh overloading the bleaming amp
it mus trip

stonelove48

Postby stonelove48 » November 7th, 2009, 2:36 pm

o.k guys when i go home i'll check out all that by a next installaer and let him check the omh

Firewall

Postby Firewall » November 7th, 2009, 2:54 pm

tsk tsk...........who did teh install for you?

theblitz wrote:How is it hooked up? Sub on two channels bridged and two speakers and a tweeter on each of the other two channels?

The amp is most likely 2-ohm stable with all channels driven, 4-ohm stable in bridge mode. If you speakers are not connected like above or if the sub comes down to less than 4-ohms in bridge mode that cud be ur problem.

So for more help find out:
--> How its hooked up
--> Sub coil configuration

that's your main problem right there. basically it HAS to be a D2 or a S4 sub. other than that, pretty sure that the gain is too high as well.

stonelove48

Postby stonelove48 » November 7th, 2009, 4:44 pm

o.k it the guy who i bought it from he has a worker there from princess town on i think it is on Kingsley street near the bengees pub like........u all know it?

stonelove48

Postby stonelove48 » November 7th, 2009, 4:46 pm

ohh a next thing it is a 4 channel amp..............2 are bridged for the subs and the other 2 is for the rest of speakers.......2 6 X 9 pioneer and 2 6" pioneer door and tweters

noyztoyz

Postby noyztoyz » November 7th, 2009, 5:13 pm

had no other place to put that amp in the car?
when u using a small lil amp to push so much thing, plenty heat will be generated, you need air flow over it to keep it cool.

theblitz

Postby theblitz » November 7th, 2009, 6:35 pm

^^^ true but I've run similar configurations under seats without tripping... while driving with the windows down the air flow under there is ok.

stonelove48

Postby stonelove48 » November 7th, 2009, 7:25 pm

yea guys underthere is cool just don't know y it keeping on tripping after a while so..................it's a new system.

stonelove48

Postby stonelove48 » November 8th, 2009, 8:33 am

bump

stonelove48

Postby stonelove48 » November 8th, 2009, 6:08 pm

bump

Mobile-Authority

Postby Mobile-Authority » November 8th, 2009, 6:54 pm

go back where u bought an installed it..

could be faulty equipment,,,,

i doubt that guy will connect the sub bad....
then again human error always exists......

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » November 8th, 2009, 7:43 pm

Disconnect all your mids/tweets and see if you get the same issue.

Postby 3stagevtec » November 9th, 2009, 10:27 pm

get a small separate amp for the highs.. confirm that you have a dual 2ohm subwoofer.. add a fan for long term amp reliability..

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » November 10th, 2009, 7:37 am

No one considered it... but the wires used to power the amp could be too small as well.

theblitz

Postby theblitz » November 10th, 2009, 11:22 am

^^^To play for so long then cut off? That doesn't seem like a consequence of bottleneck wiring.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » November 10th, 2009, 12:57 pm

Happened to me with the 1200w version to the PA he's using....

Remember the amp will be straining with the small wires...

just throwing in my 2c

importzxtt

Postby importzxtt » November 12th, 2009, 1:20 am

+1 on finding out how your amp and speakers are wired up.

A friend of mine once had a power acoustik and it would do the same thing however, i doubt the wiring was done incorrectly, as another friend of mines did the install for him and it was understood/confirmed that everything was done right

Also +1 on finding out if the gain levels are set correctly..

2c

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » November 14th, 2009, 8:31 am

stonelove48, did you get through trying the stuff suggested?