My experience with sleeve type coilovers

§ephiroth

My experience with sleeve type coilovers

Postby §ephiroth » November 8th, 2009, 7:40 am

So i got my car back it looks great kit is nice put on the coilovers infront to even it off saying it would not be so bad and i made up my mind to take the little change in ride. Now, everyone has their opinion on these things so i said let me try for myself and truth is................THEY fuggin SUCK! The car bounces like mad, every pothole and so forth it bubblin(might as well put a champion bubbler sticker on the front) and this morning was the worst i was coming up the highway(not at a very fast or agressive speed) and it start to bubble..........and my tyre hit the fender like 3 times comin out of the dips on the road(mind you this is road i drive on regularly before)

Now i did some reading and research etc and i could be "bottoming out" which is when the shocks are dead and not absorbing the extra impact and not enough to rebound(or something like that can't remember the details in full)................but i eh fleckin care because with my old spring if the shocks was dead I DIDN'T KNOW :lol:

I am putting back my old springs i don't care much for look or stance i mean yea the car looks mean as ever and when i go around a bend it sweet(of course if the bend has a dip it is F***ed up) but that is PARKED UP and almost every bend in trini have a blasted dip/hole/trench/shitty patch.....! In terms of practicality it really doesn't make sense

I just wanted to share my experience with you guys as i said i would b4 and YES the people from the post was RIGHT especially d man with d b12

word of advice........................DON'T BUY THEM! better u pay the 6 grand or w/e and get some TEIN or another REPUTABLE suspension setup. These sleeve things are a waist of time and money

I would like to hear some other tuners views and experiences with these things as well as any advice on what i can do to make it better or help the situation :)

FORZA_PRETTYBOY

Postby FORZA_PRETTYBOY » November 8th, 2009, 9:13 am

i can also attest 2 sleeve type being shite,if u don't want to go full coilovers,some eibach sportlines are d best choice,1.8" drop without d bouncing,handles great & d stance is good also

mitsu4life

Postby mitsu4life » November 8th, 2009, 9:20 am

i have arospeed sleeves on my car, i got them with the car and they suck, on the highway is the worst i CAN'T drive more than 80km otherwise i will bounce off the road :?

but i will admit on smooth road the car handles very well, i dont give a sheit about the nice aggressive drop either i want a set nice lowering springs or stock springs, after driving that car for 2 months now i realised how messed up our roads really are

so who want some coilover sleeves to trade for stockies?? i guarantee you will have the lowest, maddest, baddest looking abortion machine :lol:

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » November 8th, 2009, 10:01 am

I had a set of Ground control sleeve coilovers on my car for over a year ..

ride was stiff but no bottom out

problem is if you ride to low and there is not enough spring per load you will bounce all over the place

you have to ensure the spring rate is for your car and not just a generic coilover other wise you in real pressure

Mitsu :arospeed is one of the hardest coilovers

mitsu4life

Postby mitsu4life » November 8th, 2009, 10:38 am

red_dragon wrote:Mitsu :arospeed is one of the hardest coilovers

i know :cry:

Nixin

Postby Nixin » November 8th, 2009, 11:07 am

descent set of progressive lowering springs and yuh on. sporty look with ah descent ride.

§ephiroth

Postby §ephiroth » November 8th, 2009, 11:53 am

Red dragon these i have HAFF to be generic. And Mitsu That Thing u speak about on the highway is true.......and my car has a lil engine in it so this one time when cruising my foot may tip that pedal slightly on d bounces :shock: NOT COOL DREAD!

So how much for a set of eibachs or progressive or ground control......

btw dragon can you shed more light on the spring per load statement........Or send a link if u have

thanks man

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » November 8th, 2009, 12:09 pm

§ephiroth : u said is a b12 but what engine and any music in the car ?

coilover in front alone or rear also ?

let me know what u have at persent ...

Goolie

Postby Goolie » November 8th, 2009, 2:53 pm

i CAN'T drive more than 80km otherwise i will bounce off the road

:lol: :lol: thas messed up dude.. Tein for it!

mitsu4life

Postby mitsu4life » November 8th, 2009, 5:55 pm

Goolie wrote:
i CAN'T drive more than 80km otherwise i will bounce off the road

:lol: :lol: thas messed up dude.. Tein for it!

SBCS suck up meh flickin koni yellow/ground control trust fund :lol:

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » November 8th, 2009, 7:25 pm

§ephiroth,word!

:mrgreen:

Postby bushwakka » November 8th, 2009, 8:04 pm

good job

§ephiroth

Postby §ephiroth » November 9th, 2009, 12:27 am

lol thasss his name synicate bossman yuh was right yes :lol:

And red Dragon car has an SR20 in it no music coilovers front and back 17" rims 40series tyres

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » November 9th, 2009, 6:38 am

ok try this then after if the car too high swap out for a set of lowerin springs

set all 4 with the shock head just resting on the spring no preload
see how that rides

if too hard then a 2" gap front and rear

thats it

the only one that would work would be a set from a US b13 SER those came factory sr20 in the US

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » November 10th, 2009, 7:21 pm

§ephiroth,bro if i carry u for a ride in my car eh......hit a bump on the highway doing 170km....some scary sheit man!!

New Breed

Postby New Breed » November 10th, 2009, 8:30 pm

Yea i went tru this.... and i had been warned .. but NO, I want d civic on d ground and o did it go on d ground and corner like a mofo. my prob was not d boucing ( some how civics don't do that) but u c pot hole and recoil... if i go in ah dip meh vic comin out of it in d air lol. i always hopin out my seat by d south intersection by nestle if i do more than 60kph. Now i have lowering springs and they look and work great just 1 thing is that they tend to have a lower spring rate than coil overs hence d better (softer) ride wich resulting with my tires goin up in d wheel well and frig up my fender shield, making me had to do ah lil mod (cut it d eff off) :D . not d best thing to do but who feels it knows lol. one thing i wanna ask doh... with the expenive full type coil overs.. tein or what have u, do u get a "comfortable ride'' or will it be as harsh but with brag in rights cuase i c those things spring rate are ridiculous compered to stock rates. I know there for track use but ppl dose make it sould like if u buy d expensive one u'll get a 'better' ride on the nations raod. tanks :twisted:

Postby wagonrunner » November 10th, 2009, 8:42 pm

how did you setup the coilovers? meaning, what are they set at? and how did you decide on those settings?

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » November 10th, 2009, 10:55 pm

with the expenive full type coil overs.. tein or what have u, do u get a "comfortable ride'' or will it be as harsh but with brag in rights cuase i c those things spring rate are ridiculous compered to stock rates. I know there for track use but ppl dose make it sould like if u buy d expensive one u'll get a 'better' ride on the nations raod. tanks

yes they come with "harder" spring rates
they also come with adjustable stiffness for the struts.
They are usually stiffer than stock though but they arent as bouncy. Also some require a "break in" period. They also allow you to slam the car and still maintain full strut travel --> no sleeve boosheit

U get what you pay for :|

§ephiroth

Postby §ephiroth » November 11th, 2009, 1:55 am

syndicate i think i get the same scare at like 120.

Took off the front today cuz they were givin realll trouble and put back on the old springs.............my shocks are DEAD :lol: and i believe bushings etc needs to be changed from the little period that i had the coilovers on. Anyone have any b13 shocks to give away lol(and when ah say meh shocks dead, i mean REALLLLLLLLL DEAD).

wagonrunner...........i basically adjusted the height to where the front was at because it was d back high up in d air and just needed it lowered.............when i put on the front i adjusted it to the same as the back.

based on my experience i think it was the DEAD shocks i have or the little life they had that was giving me that bounciness, because strangely the back doesn't get it.

New breed, that seat ting does be reallll messed up...........also when d car only goin up and down and yuh hearin yuh tyre rubbin da fender or yuh fender shield and then yuh start to cuss way d spring and buff it up. It had someone in d car and they start to watch me like i mad yes :lol: ..................i eh go lie..............it was messed up. :lol:

Mad Hatter

Postby Mad Hatter » November 11th, 2009, 2:10 am

I have eibach sportlines on stock struts in an ES8. Couldn't handle the original ride when driving fast... too bouncy 4 my liking...

Now, i can hit close to 200 and the car sits on the road.. handling / cornering is good... and i did get about close to 2" drop. Tyres not up in fender but almost there... good for any everyday car in pos...

§ephiroth

Postby §ephiroth » November 11th, 2009, 1:40 pm

Mad hatter hmmmmmmmm i should look into these cuz is POS i located.

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » November 11th, 2009, 5:42 pm

just remember what ever u get has to apply to the additional engine weight not just the car

if u get those springs for the b12 will be too soft for the front

u have to look at something for the 92 Sentra Ser US spec those came with sr20 factory

§ephiroth

Postby §ephiroth » November 11th, 2009, 7:44 pm

^^ yea i was thinkin along those lines boy dragon............*sigh* right now is hard times so i have to ride out d storm top priority is to get some shocks and change dem ded ting

Re: My experience with sleeve type coilovers

Postby Ted_v2 » May 1st, 2012, 12:11 am

So in other words sleeve type coilovers arnt making sence?

i pondering putting on a pair in front in my ck lancer (already have the back covered)

but some reviews saying its good some saying otherwise

what you guys think?

*i just want the car riding stiff*

RMSTTL

Postby RMSTTL » May 2nd, 2012, 2:10 am

All Coilovers are not equal.
We distribute DGR Coilover kits .They come with 30 levels of damping force adjustment to choose from and full-length height adjustment (threaded) allowing an extremely low ride height. Various spring rates are available to provide the more technical driver with various set-up options.
The kits are widely sold in the US and Asia and are now being marketed in the Caribbean at low introductory prices.
We have not had any of the complaints I am reading about here reported.
PM us for a quote for your vehicle.

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » May 13th, 2012, 9:52 am

^^how is the ride with the lowest spring rates and softest dampener setting?

flashpoint

Postby flashpoint » April 3rd, 2014, 9:34 am

Boi them thing is d worse
They should band them thing