MAZDA People United - it continues here

rebel sounds

lets see on your marks , get set .....help

Postby rebel sounds » October 17th, 2009, 11:15 pm

i've been having some problems with my 2001 familia wagon , zl 1500 engine
so i know there are some crackshots out there so help if u can

1. car has no power or very little power on pull off from standstill or stopping.
knock sensor, throttle body with all associated solenoids were changed.
an example of what's happening is like driving with the knock sensor unplugged in an automatic mazda. no kick down or quick acceleration.

2. while driving intermittently the ABS light and the hand brake light comes on the dash consol and will stay on till i switch the car off and on.

winner gets a case of beer of their choice

sean364

Postby sean364 » October 17th, 2009, 11:25 pm

need somemore info is it that the car is sputtering or is it cutting off?
this only happening on pull off or whenever you mash for power?

rebel sounds

Postby rebel sounds » October 17th, 2009, 11:34 pm

it isn't sputtering or cutting off , just lack of power and with the ac on it's worse

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » October 18th, 2009, 3:12 pm

ok first things the ABS light and the hand brakes light will come on intermittently when there is a short on one of the abs sensors you'll need to check them individually a scan while the light is on might show which one it is
second the lack of power from taking off points to a number of things imho airflow and coil packs or dirty filter Throttle position sensor also so get to your mech get someone whose car works and borrow the air flow and or the coil packs switch them one at a time and see what happens

just my $0.02

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » October 18th, 2009, 5:30 pm

problems sounds like your tranny
or torque converter
first thing to do is pull your tranny dipstick and smell the oil? is it smelling burnt it is the oil dark in colour ?
aH know men might disagree with me on this but i believe when the tranny is giving problems it will cause strange symptoms like those lights

as the guys said check your brake resivor and see if it toppedup
and give each sensor lil cleaning

rebel sounds

Postby rebel sounds » October 18th, 2009, 7:12 pm

red bwoy ...thanks for the advice on the abs and brake light i will try that.
i suspect the air flow sensor or the tps. also the funny thing is that well after i take a little while to pull off the car will pick up and run like normal , today i noticed a little rough idle.

hong kong - i wont rule out the tranny suspicion , i was thinking the same thing

if any of you guys are in south and wish to drive the car so you might be able to get a a better understanding pm me .....i home on holidays so any time will be ok

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » October 18th, 2009, 7:19 pm

ok i had the same problem it turned out my oil needed changing i missed my regular oil change and it started happening i went over by about 2500kms the mech said it caused the temp sensor to send a reading that the engine was running hotter than usual i dont agree but the problem stopped
also i had the problem before i changed coil packs cam & crank sensors and plug wires i also put on a toyota 1zzfe airflow and problem solved cost a pretty penny but i'd rather that than that feeling of no power

rebel sounds

Postby rebel sounds » October 18th, 2009, 7:28 pm

red bwoy whats the price of the air flow sensor ... and i think my oil is pretty good . anyways i ran my oil to 15000 already and never experienced that. pm me the price and where i can get the air flow sensor , all the rest of parts i have

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » October 18th, 2009, 7:35 pm

i bought the sensor from a friend whose car had crashed but a new one is about 1500-1800 by southern sales

Darky

Postby Darky » November 1st, 2009, 11:13 am

1. car has no power or very little power on pull off from standstill or stopping.
knock sensor, throttle body with all associated solenoids were changed.
an example of what's happening is like driving with the knock sensor unplugged in an automatic mazda. no kick down or quick acceleration....................i have this same problem with my 323 bj model though,is stress boi

rebel sounds

Postby rebel sounds » November 1st, 2009, 11:47 am

well fortunately i had it solved ....apparently the new knock sensor i bought from marud auto supplies on union road was no good, but i could not get it changed as they have a no exchanges or refund policy on electronics.so that was a waste of 450. i used a foreign used knock sensor for 150 and the problem was solved.my air flow sensor is ok , as well as the throttle body and all associated sensors. darky if you in south check meh or call 464-0982, i might be able to help

Darky

Postby Darky » November 1st, 2009, 11:54 am

yeah i in south,well give u ah call tomz from ah 649 number,thanks man

rebel sounds

Postby rebel sounds » November 1st, 2009, 12:22 pm

no scene .....anytime

Return to “MAZDA”