The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2025

SRASC

Postby SRASC » October 22nd, 2009, 12:27 pm

biggy82 wrote:sorry guys, i ent read the whole thread....posting a question for a friend

if I have an iPhone 3G that is jailbroken and i want to update to the latest firmware, will the update re-lock the phone? and where will i get the latest firmware to d/l? and is there anything else i should know before i start the update?

thanks in advance

Yes the iPhone will relock with an update.
You could download the latest firmware (3.1.2) here
Never hurts to do a backup.
This guide may help to unlock/jailbreak a 3G. May need to use the updated versions of the software though.

W2J

Postby W2J » October 22nd, 2009, 12:39 pm

anybody knows how to turn there iphone into a modem to use edge on a notebook?

Postby M_2NR » October 22nd, 2009, 2:25 pm

Thanks SRASC! ill try that MMS hack thing with the iphone plugged into my pc and using iphone explorer. Tmrw God willing.

SRASC wrote:
biggy82 wrote:sorry guys, i ent read the whole thread....posting a question for a friend

if I have an iPhone 3G that is jailbroken and i want to update to the latest firmware, will the update re-lock the phone? and where will i get the latest firmware to d/l? and is there anything else i should know before i start the update?

thanks in advance

This guide may help to unlock/jailbreak a 3G. May need to use the updated versions of the software though.

cant he just use a custom restore of 3.1.2 like the ones i posted here:
http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... 21#3894321

stang

Postby stang » October 22nd, 2009, 3:27 pm

"anybody knows how to turn there iphone into a modem to use edge on a notebook?"

Right now i'm using the following:
Pdanet from http://www.junefabrics.com/iphone/index.php
iphonemodem from www.iphonemodem.com

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » October 22nd, 2009, 6:18 pm

what u guys depend on for internet?????? what is there beside wifi??

idlemind

Postby idlemind » October 22nd, 2009, 6:39 pm

stang, which one you use?

Coz I seeing they both do the same

streetlifestyle, Edge comes in handy on the go, but I find it real difficult to stay connected to LogMeIn while you on the move as the connection keeps dropping.

Like W2J, I would also like to use it as an Edge modem for my notebook.

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » October 23rd, 2009, 6:44 am

This guide may help to unlock/jailbreak a 3G. May need to use the updated versions of the software though.[/quote]
cant he just use a custom restore of 3.1.2 like the ones i posted here:
http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... 21#3894321[/quote]

So i did a custom restore using corolla's link and downloaded the unactivated ipsw for 3g and now it seems like im locked.... Can anyone help??? Tried blackra1n and it only firetruck up and sendin me to itunes

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » October 23rd, 2009, 10:31 am

hey guys..i seem to be having a prob with my gf 2g iphone

im want to update it to the latest firmware
anyone know a good guide where i can do this
plus do i need to hav the latest version of itunes to do the initial upgrade

right now it running version 1.1.4 or something so..its just been sitting down since she uses a blackberry for work

Postby M_2NR » October 23rd, 2009, 10:36 am

streetlifestyle wrote:So i did a custom restore using corolla's link and downloaded the unactivated ipsw for 3g and now it seems like im locked.... Can anyone help??? Tried blackra1n and it only firetruck up and sendin me to itunes

dude.. your supposed to use the ACTIVATED one. the unactivated ones are for official carriers ;)

Go download this:
iPhone 3G 500MB Partion (for iPhones that rely on ultrasn0w, unoffical carrier, with no PUSH ):

http://www.rapidshare.com/files/2926008 ... .part1.rar
http://www.rapidshare.com/files/2926013 ... .part2.rar

And try and restore.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » October 23rd, 2009, 10:51 am

jhonnieblue wrote:hey guys..i seem to be having a prob with my gf 2g iphone

im want to update it to the latest firmware
anyone know a good guide where i can do this
plus do i need to hav the latest version of itunes to do the initial upgrade

right now it running version 1.1.4 or something so..its just been sitting down since she uses a blackberry for work

Just in iTunes plug in the iPhone, press & hold Shift & select Restore. This will allow you to select a firmware file from your hard drive. Download & select this custom 3.1.2 firmware file I made. Of course backing up the data prior is good to do as well.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » October 23rd, 2009, 12:02 pm

AT&T Mobility CEO Ralph de la Vega has implied that the company's iPhone exclusivity will come to an end.

De la Vega was asked by analysts during a conference call what AT&T plans to do if their iPhone exclusivity ends as rumored. He responded saying, “We have a legacy of having a great portfolio…that will continue after the iPhone is no longer exclusive to us. “We think we will continue after the iPhone…to drive [results]….â€

stang

Postby stang » October 23rd, 2009, 1:46 pm

idlemind-"stang, which one you use?

Right now i'm using Pdanet (http://www.junefabrics.com/iphone/index.php) cos no wifi on a desktop..

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » October 23rd, 2009, 3:58 pm

dude.. your supposed to use the ACTIVATED one. the unactivated ones are for official carriers ;)

Go download this:
iPhone 3G 500MB Partion (for iPhones that rely on ultrasn0w, unoffical carrier, with no PUSH ):

http://www.rapidshare.com/files/2926008 ... .part1.rar
http://www.rapidshare.com/files/2926013 ... .part2.rar

And try and restore.[/quote]

Well.... it seems i did crap b4 and now after dl an ACTIVATED custom firmware..... TADA!!! Im runnin on 3.1.2 jus fine.... Appsync for 3.1 wud work on 3.1.2 rite??
What yall noticed diff abt 3.1.2 compared to the other 3.+??

Postby M_2NR » October 23rd, 2009, 4:14 pm

yup on that same post i posted from hackulo.us saying that it does work.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » October 23rd, 2009, 9:00 pm

Cydia

WinSCP
Last edited by SRASC on October 24th, 2009, 11:02 am, edited 1 time in total.

richardg1976

Postby richardg1976 » October 23rd, 2009, 10:03 pm

I'm a fairly new iPhone owner and I'm trying to figure out if anyone here was able to successfully move their sms messages from an old phone to the iPhone.

Most say it is not possible but I decided to keep on checking with perhaps a workaround. I was able to SSH into the iPhone via WinSCP and navigated to /private/var/mobile/Library/SMS/ where there is a sms.db file. I used SQLite Database Browser to look at the file but I'm no database programmer and it looks a bit daunting to make any sort of modifications.

Anyone have any suggestions on what to do? :D

Postby M_2NR » October 23rd, 2009, 11:17 pm

SRASC, voice control bizniz? how's it goin?
richardg1976 wrote:I'm a fairly new iPhone owner and I'm trying to figure out if anyone here was able to successfully move their sms messages from an old phone to the iPhone.

Most say it is not possible but I decided to keep on checking with perhaps a workaround. I was able to SSH into the iPhone via WinSCP and navigated to /private/var/mobile/Library/SMS/ where there is a sms.db file. I used SQLite Database Browser to look at the file but I'm no database programmer and it looks a bit daunting to make any sort of modifications.

Anyone have any suggestions on what to do? :D

In other words, you want to move your messages stored on your previous phone across to the iphone?

I think that might not be too easy. The SMS is in a threaded format on the iPhone as well.

in any case: http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=370616

SRASC

Postby SRASC » October 24th, 2009, 1:05 am

To be honest, not so good. Well I kinda expected it being not an original feature of the 2G or the 3G. But to have MMS, the iPhone 3GS's RAM (kinda) & now Voice Control on a 2G.

The language thing being the biggest issue

its in English but doesn't seem as functional as the Italian (from Cydia) version
Last edited by SRASC on October 24th, 2009, 11:03 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby M_2NR » October 24th, 2009, 2:37 am

Checked, do not get it. You have to turn orn your bri'ish accent man.
I have to do the mms mod soon. I'll maybe do it tmrw night. I actually stopped using iPhoneVM i was getting the slow downs :(

BTW why is there soo much spanish on the app? was that author's fault?

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » October 24th, 2009, 9:26 am

anybody know where i can get a replacement backing for a white 16GB 3g???? Wanna buy TODAY!

SRASC

Postby SRASC » October 24th, 2009, 9:58 am

MMS (iPhone 2G)
http://www.redmondpie.com/enable-mms-on ... ware-q859/

This Native MMS for 2G should be able to work if you want to install MMS on a 2G. Just install this & then insert the settings (APN, etc) & reboot.

Voice Control (iPhone 2G & 3G)
For the Voice Control feature, in Cydia, add the BeYouriPhone repo at http://repo.beyouriphone.com & then search for Controllo Vocale.
There is an English version apparently of this same app its not in Cydia as yet as far as I know.
This link
http://www.redmondpie.com/enable-iphone ... 2g-ina569/
provides instructions

&

Video Editing/Uploading (iPhone 2G)
If you want the video editing options of the 3GS you could follow the instructions in this link
http://www.redmondpie.com/enable-iphone ... 2g-ina569/
Last edited by SRASC on October 25th, 2009, 11:00 am, edited 1 time in total.

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » October 24th, 2009, 10:22 am

pressure!!!!!! no free download space available.. sigh. So im waiting

SRASC

Postby SRASC » October 24th, 2009, 10:30 am

iPhone 2G with video uploading/editing options

Trim options

Playback

Upload options

SRASC

Postby SRASC » October 24th, 2009, 10:52 am

Alternative link for VoiceControl.zip
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=FRL0BRFJ

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » October 24th, 2009, 11:04 am

SRASC, did the mms mod how u said before but i cant seem to get it to send any pics...

SRASC

Postby SRASC » October 24th, 2009, 11:09 am

ryan99tt wrote:SRASC, did the mms mod how u said before but i cant seem to get it to send any pics...

Sure you checked over everything? I did so & I could send & receive properly. Tested sending to a Nokia & receiving from a Motorola.

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » October 24th, 2009, 3:27 pm

im not gettin voice control to download on my 3g.....

I got the cydia version, but its not working with winscp

Postby M_2NR » October 24th, 2009, 3:51 pm

SRASC wrote:MMS (iPhone 2G)

This Native MMS for 2G should be able to work if you want to install MMS on a 2G. Just install this & then insert the settings (APN, etc) & reboot.

so ignore the other procedure you posted before and use this one?
(the one before using OpenSSH, etc.)

SRASC

Postby SRASC » October 24th, 2009, 3:53 pm

corolla_2nr wrote:
SRASC wrote:MMS (iPhone 2G)

so ignore the other procedure you posted before and use this one?
(the one before using OpenSSH, etc.)

If this one works yea. If not, try that way.

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » October 24th, 2009, 5:05 pm

help guys..... wanna get voice control and Video toggle.....

Tried 3 times on my 3g and it not workin at all!!