Evo stock boost??

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

CBR HONDA

Evo stock boost??

Postby CBR HONDA » October 21st, 2009, 10:10 pm

What is the stock boost on the evo 4?? Also when using a boost controller what is the max u can allow the boost to spike without causing damage?

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » October 21st, 2009, 11:02 pm

16-17 psi I believe...

As for the boost controller I can't say. Depends on if engine has stock internals or not, what modifications and tuning performed... I'd say 20 -21 is a good region...

Im sure the other evo owners will better tell you

hmph

Postby hmph » October 21st, 2009, 11:47 pm

hmmm evo 4 turbo is what size again?

i think 18 and u might squeeze 15 to redline.

CBR HONDA

Postby CBR HONDA » October 22nd, 2009, 7:46 pm

Engine completely stock- no internal work or tuning. Thing is when i got the car there was no stock boost solenoid!! I installed a AEM boost controller and thus far the car runs roughly 15 psi but it spikes to bout 16 or so. By red line it is bout 13psi. So based on info above i can aim for bout 17 psi and allow it to spike to bout 18 with roughly 15 psi to redline? Any evo4 owners care to comment? Thanks for info thus far

hmph

Postby hmph » October 22nd, 2009, 9:52 pm

u need to tune it or u will run into problems.

CBR HONDA

Postby CBR HONDA » October 22nd, 2009, 10:57 pm

^^ tune as in ecu tuning? Not really looking to do that right now. That why i wanna know the stock figures so i could set up the controller to run without problems. Dont wanna raise boost or anything, just want the car to run close to stock for now.

hmph

Postby hmph » October 22nd, 2009, 11:51 pm

oh i thought u meant how much u can raise boost within the stock turbo restrictions.

i would run no more than 12psi i believe thats what they run stock Or wait for an evo 4 owner to chime in.

CBR HONDA

Postby CBR HONDA » October 23rd, 2009, 12:22 am

12?? I hear all kinda diff thing from 15 to 17 stock. Like i say before the car didnt have a stock solenoid when i got it. Jus trying to get it to perform like stock and not destroy anything. Heard stock is bout 15 and spiking to 17 is ok. Any evo 4 ppl could confirm?

CBR HONDA

Postby CBR HONDA » October 23rd, 2009, 7:25 pm

Anybody??

hmph

Postby hmph » October 23rd, 2009, 7:38 pm

go with 12 for the time, better be safe than sorry.

turbo_boy411

Postby turbo_boy411 » October 23rd, 2009, 8:47 pm

hmph wrote:go with 12 for the time, better be safe than sorry.

What hmph is saying here is pretty much what you should stick too...

Playing around with boost without checking afr's or timing can certainly lead to a premature death wish...

Stick with the 12psi buddy and wait till you can get the car tuned by whosoeveryouchoose...

Over time there are many variables that can change an engine characteristics, mechanical and electrical, hence why we say get a tune!!!

Play it safe, evo engines aren't exactly cheap yuh kno...

Regards...

Kronik

Postby Kronik » October 23rd, 2009, 11:28 pm

with the stock evo 4 ecu, 14psi should be the limit, so 12 is good. anything mroe than that, and upgrdaes along with tuning needs to be done so you wont break your engine.

my evo 4 not stock, so i cant advise my specs

CBR HONDA

Postby CBR HONDA » October 24th, 2009, 7:49 pm

Aight 12 for now then. Thanks for info. Any suggestions on ecu tuning?

Kronik

Postby Kronik » October 24th, 2009, 9:45 pm

with the stock setup, the only thing you can really retune to do is get more power at the sacrifice of less fuel economy.

if you wanna upgrade, i can help with a list of things you can do

hmph

Postby hmph » October 25th, 2009, 2:20 pm

Kronik wrote:with the stock setup, the only thing you can really retune to do is get more power at the sacrifice of less fuel economy.

if you wanna upgrade, i can help with a list of things you can do

less fuel economy? i am not sure what you mean?

CBR HONDA

Postby CBR HONDA » October 25th, 2009, 5:39 pm

Well for now i jus wanna get the most out of the stock setup. So what suggestion for increasing boost on stock turbo and ecu tuning?

rtaylor

Re: Evo stock boost??

Postby rtaylor » July 15th, 2010, 2:36 am

Hey "Kronik" may I know that you lancer is for sale?? and please guide me about how to boost stock turbo??/

Regards,

Ross taylor

Last edited by rtaylor on July 19th, 2010, 12:34 am, edited 1 time in total.

BlackEvoIV

Re: Evo stock boost??

Postby BlackEvoIV » July 15th, 2010, 2:51 pm

STOCK Evo IV boost is 0.9 KPA/CM3 OR 14PSI.

Which stock' boost controller' are you talking about, what is the location.

There is a Secondary Air control Soleniod Valve Located on the Firewall Behind the Intake Manifold.

There is also the Wastegate Soleniod Valve. Located Under the Purge Canister.

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

Return to “MITSUBISHI”