Photos & Stories That Will Leave A Lasting Impression...

~*Pãñdorą*~
Location: You're Either On My Side, By My Side Or In My Fcuking Way!!

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » October 15th, 2009, 4:09 pm

Four-year-old Paige Bennethum holds her father's hand and won't let go as Staff Sgt. Brett Bennethum's Army Reserve unit prepares to deploy to Iraq from Fort Dix, NJ in July. Paige's mother, Abby, took the picture. (/Abby Bennethum)
:(

An old Sudanese woman tries to breast feed a baby in the village of Lobira Boma in south Sudan's Eastern Equatoria state on October 2. A severe drought in May and June damaged the summer harvest of sorghum, millet and peanuts. (Ashraf Shazly/AFP - Getty Images)

:cry:

~*Pãñdorą*~

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » October 15th, 2009, 4:17 pm

A school boy wears worn-out shoes as he carries a plastic bottle he filled with river water as he and others head back to school in Nanyuki. A sweeping drought across East Africa has left millions of people at risk of starvation, in a region plagued by increasingly erratic rainfall. (Tony Karumba/AFP - Getty Images)

I know some of us would rather not see what's out there in the world..
We'd rather live in our little bubbles.. Be that as it may.. How would you know how grateful to be if you didn't know how bad others had it!

*Audi14*

Postby *Audi14* » October 15th, 2009, 4:23 pm

It truly is horrible in some parts of the world.....everyone in Trinidad likes to complain too much about nothing when they should be thankful

silver

Postby silver » October 15th, 2009, 4:29 pm

Here are a couple more for your collection...don't have captions tho...
Image Little Rock Desegregation

one woman fights back

Image lunch time on a skyscraper being built in the industrial age

growing a human ear on a mouse

Nagasaki

segregated water fountains

Napalm!

Imagechild being stalked by a vulture

Image baby's hand

Image monk sets himself afire as partof a protest.

Tsunami washes up dead bodies.

Image Guy falling from World trade centers

starving boy hand being held by a missionary

Postby sMASH » October 15th, 2009, 4:30 pm

the bubbles, the bubbles,, we need to break those bubbles.

i was listening to a bbc report from india this morning and heard a statement sumting like this- a wealthy man dying with wealth is a sin.

i am thankful my forefathers decided to come here for a better life, but now that we have a better life, some how, some way we should try to help those less fortunate.

Postby rollingstock » October 15th, 2009, 4:31 pm

and i thought my day couldn't get worst, but seeing how other people suffer makes you cherish the things you take for granted.

~*Pãñdorą*~

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » October 16th, 2009, 8:44 am

Oh my silver, those were some truly moving pictures...
Thank you for sharing.

~*Pãñdorą*~

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » October 16th, 2009, 9:08 am

Motherless orphans and lost children rest at the Don Bosco Ngangi center in Goma, eastern Congo on Nov 13, 2008. Fighting in Congo intensified in Aug. and has since displaced at least hundreds of thousands of people despite the presence of the largest U.N. peacekeeping force in the world. (Jerome Delay/AP)

~*Pãñdorą*~

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » October 16th, 2009, 9:11 am

A picture made available on Sept. 1, 2008, showing rescuers finding the bodies of a mother covering up her child buried in a collapsed house after an earthquake hit Lixi town in Huili county in southwest China's Sichuan province on 31 August 2008. The quake has killed at least 38 people and forced 152,000 to flee, Chinese news agency Xinhua said. (Zou Bo/EPA)

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 16th, 2009, 9:31 am

~*Pãñdorą*~ wrote:Image

A picture made available on Sept. 1, 2008, showing rescuers finding the bodies of a mother covering up her child buried in a collapsed house after an earthquake hit Lixi town in Huili county in southwest China's Sichuan province on 31 August 2008. The quake has killed at least 38 people and forced 152,000 to flee, Chinese news agency Xinhua said. (Zou Bo/EPA)

quite sad actually.

~*Pãñdorą*~

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » October 16th, 2009, 9:34 am

^A Mother's Love.. :cry:

kevin@3ne_tuner

Postby kevin@3ne_tuner » October 16th, 2009, 9:38 am

Some moving pictures there, but i hate to say it, humans could be one of the most destructive thing this universe has ever seen... :(
SAD BUT TRUE

~*Pãñdorą*~

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » October 16th, 2009, 9:43 am

A congolese child eats flour fallen from a broken sack of maize distributed by the World Food Program in Kiwanja on Nov. 15, 2008. This food relief is the first one to arrive in this town after clashes left scores dead and forced tens of thousands to flee. (Yasuyoshi Chiba/AFP - Getty Images)

I watched a co-worker throw away half her lunch yesterday! :(

5onDfloor

Postby 5onDfloor » October 16th, 2009, 10:17 am

my eyes are full...a very humbling thread.

SPEC S

Postby SPEC S » October 16th, 2009, 10:25 am

Everyone should see the things going on in this world, really makes you appreciate everything you have, no matter how much or how little, truly a great thread here.

~*Pãñdorą*~

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » October 16th, 2009, 10:29 am

Russian tanks move along a street as children play with a toy truck in Tskhinvali on August 30, 2008. (Viktor Drachev/AFP - Getty Images)

The juxta position of this picture is WAOW-SOME! :shock:

Postby Razkal » October 16th, 2009, 10:36 am

aka, repost every sad/sappy email you ever received...

Postby Monk BANzai » October 16th, 2009, 10:45 am

pioneer wrote:Image

no further discussion on this?.....signs of the times.....wheh EvoSTiK...look at that...

~*Pãñdorą*~

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » October 16th, 2009, 10:46 am

Pfc. Joe Dwyer carried a young Iraqi boy who was injured during a heavy battle between the U.S. Army's 7th Cavalry Regiment and Iraqi forces near the village of Al Faysaliyah, Iraq, on March 25, 2003. Dwyer died of an apparent overdose at his home in North Carolina on June 29, 2008. (Warren Zinn/Army Times)

I hope you are reading the stories/captions eh people..
These need not be trivialised..

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » October 16th, 2009, 10:50 am

not a pic, not a story but something that has had a profound effect on me for years :

People are unreasonable, illogical, and self-centered.
Love them anyway.

If you are kind, people may accuse you of selfish ulterior motives.
Be kind anyway.

If you are successful, you will win some false friends and true enemies.
Succeed anyway.

The good you do today will be forgotten tomorrow.
Be good anyway.

Honesty and frankness will make you vulnerable.
Be honest and frank anyway.

What you spend years building may be destroyed overnight.
Build anyway.

People need help, but may attack you if you try to help them.
Help them anyway.

In the final analysis, it is between you and God.
It was never between you and them anyway.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » October 16th, 2009, 10:52 am

plenty trouble in d world ... :(

however we need to fix home 1st b4 we cud help others ..... :|

~*Pãñdorą*~

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » October 16th, 2009, 10:56 am

OMG JoKeR1980 :shock:

That just sums it up soooo accurately..

Honesty and frankness will make you vulnerable.
Be honest and frank anyway.

True talk here!!

Postby Monk BANzai » October 16th, 2009, 10:59 am

Pfc. Joe Dwyer carried a young Iraqi boy who was injured during a heavy battle between the U.S. Army's 7th Cavalry Regiment and Iraqi forces near the village of Al Faysaliyah, Iraq, on March 25, 2003. Dwyer died of an apparent overdose at his home in North Carolina on June 29, 2008. (Warren Zinn/Army Times)

It's sad...but honestly..thats life. It moves the heart, makes you stop and wonder, but for how long?.....yrs ago when we wer kids Sanch, and we was playing in Curepe dey, if a Ambulance pass (or was heard in the distance) the entire street stopping what dey was doing and coming out ot see...cuz a siren wasnt something you heard often. NOw?......steups...(exactly....another one!! gawd man!!)

Im all for stories and pics that last, they move ppl to think, but i'm more for LOCAL stories and pics that last...they're arent enough local photographers that do that type of photography, up in the ghettos like Amapour (of cnn). We wait till a BBC report comes out, and even then, we snicker and take jab shots at it cuz its "local"

Not taking away from your post eh Sister Sanch, i'm just banal sometimes to this sort of thing when i know it have 8 yrs olds with guns in the hills of Laventille or in an indian family that lives in mud somewhere dong central/south that needs that kind of international exposure...

Postby Razkal » October 16th, 2009, 10:59 am

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/mgRm1ISlw_A&hl=en&fs=1&rel=0&border=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="445" height="364"></embed>

even more trouble right here in trinidad though..

Postby Maserati » October 16th, 2009, 11:03 am

:roll: :roll: really got to roll my eyes at this one.
reeks of American propaganda
hmm I wonder what the kid was in such a predicament...oh could it be that the yanks invaded Iraq and as a result there had been a complete lack of stability in the country since then?

~*Pãñdorą*~

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » October 16th, 2009, 11:12 am

BANzai Rastafarai,

Banzai while I understand your point..
This thread really is just to highlight what happens anywhere in the world..
I haven't seen any local photographs in my searches so I can't post them here. I just want to highlight the plight of children mostly if you get that from the kind of pictures I've posted. Women and children are mostly my concern.. and what I chose to highlight.

In my searches I've come across lots of other pictures of strife.. then there are lots of pictures to smile about. But I chose to highlight the plight of innocent little children and granted they aren't from Trinidad, I'm not saying we rush out and help these children, But at the risk of sounding cliche..

Children ARE our future! Regardless their nationality.

Postby Monk BANzai » October 16th, 2009, 11:17 am

~*Pãñdorą*~ wrote:BANzai Rastafarai,

Banzai while I understand your point..
This thread really is just to highlight what happens anywhere in the world..
I haven't seen any local photographs in my searches so I can't post them here. I just want to highlight the plight of children mostly if you get that from the kind of pictures I've posted. Women and children are mostly my concern.. and what I chose to highlight.

In my searches I've come across lots of other pictures of strife.. then there are lots of pictures to smile about. But I chose to highlight the plight of innocent little children and granted they aren't from Trinidad, I'm not saying we rush out and help these children, But at the risk of sounding cliche..

Children ARE our future! Regardless their nationality.

werd..

~*Pãñdorą*~

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » October 16th, 2009, 11:26 am

A woman sits on the rubble of her collapsed house in the earthquake-hit town of Pingtong in Pingwu county, Sichuan province, May 19, 2008. (Nicky Loh/Reuters)

~*Pãñdorą*~

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » October 16th, 2009, 11:55 am

Palestinians bury four children and their mother after Israeli fire hit their house in the northern Gaza Strip April 28, 2008. The Israeli military said an aircraft and a tank unit fired at groups of gunmen that tried to approach troops in the town but no houses were targeted. (Suhaib Salem/Reuters)

MAZDAMINDZ

Postby MAZDAMINDZ » October 16th, 2009, 12:56 pm

:( :( :shock: :(