Mazda BT-50 vs Toyota Hilux

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
taz turbo

Postby taz turbo » October 2nd, 2009, 1:03 pm

bt-50 or ford........more power aswell durability than the hilux

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » October 2nd, 2009, 1:06 pm

taz turbo wrote:bt-50 or ford........more power aswell durability than the hilux

Well said....The low range on the BT50 is powerful

323_guy

Postby 323_guy » October 5th, 2009, 11:16 pm

booge wrote:
taz turbo wrote:bt-50 or ford........more power aswell durability than the hilux

Well said....The low range on the BT50 is powerful

Funny allyuh shud mention that... because, doh laugh @ meh eh fellas... After all dah long talk, bout Hilux and Bt-50, yuh boi rollin out de frim wit a ranger tomorrow! lol... TCN 3088, look out fuh me!!!!

.... No, serious.... Look out fuh meh on de road, lol... Still ah novice 4x4 driver! lol... Drivin ah 323 all meh life! :wink:

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » October 6th, 2009, 7:41 am

Boy....drive the thing normal nah man....when yuh stick up in mud - call me - Mazda rescue in the making - 479 5043

neckto

Postby neckto » October 6th, 2009, 8:33 am

congrats o nyour purchase
take pics and keep us updated
BTW which one you bought?

hornchile

Postby hornchile » October 6th, 2009, 8:42 am

the ranger is the best of them all bro

servicing is just about the same cost as the toyota and they do a gr8 job

my father in law bought his hilux one mth b4 i bought the ranger and i had that mth to play with it and when i drove the ranger for the 1st time i decided on the spot to buy it instead

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » October 6th, 2009, 10:07 am

Needless o say, I absolutely love my Ranger, ZERO issues to date! ... Good pick!

323_guy

Postby 323_guy » October 6th, 2009, 11:17 pm

bought a "fully loaded" 2.5l 4x4 manual. Works pretty well, still have to get re-acquainted wit de manual ting... any tips guys?

I use inverted commas because Mc Enery Motors' version of fully loaded, is a fully powered van wit no bedliner and no sidesteps lol... but small ting :roll: ... de deal was good

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » October 7th, 2009, 7:02 am

323_guy wrote:bought a "fully loaded" 2.5l 4x4 manual. Works pretty well, still have to get re-acquainted wit de manual ting... any tips guys?

I use inverted commas because Mc Enery Motors' version of fully loaded, is a fully powered van wit no bedliner and no sidesteps lol... but small ting :roll: ... de deal was good

Reacquainted with manual? Just drive it everywhere ... As for bed liner and steps, just get it outside, cheaper than the firm anyway ... Can't see you loosing there,

neckto

Postby neckto » October 7th, 2009, 8:35 am

the ranger club growing boy

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » October 7th, 2009, 9:01 am

booge wrote:Boy....drive the thing normal nah man....when yuh stick up in mud - call me - Mazda rescue in the making - 479 5043

so the mazda and the ranger dont have the same engine and drivetrain

whites

Postby whites » October 7th, 2009, 11:59 am

Everyone has an opinion so here is mine after driving both the stock bt50 and hilux.
Hilux: pros- Reliable, smoother suspension and higher ground clearance, more room on the interior
cons- poor handling on corners at high speeds, very slow acceleration with the 2.5 turbo

BT50: pros- price, reliable, solid suspension for any use, performance is just what you'd want on the roads and off road, fuel economy is good.
cons- interior a little small for three big men in the back.

personally i'd go with the bt50 if i had to choose between the both.

that is my unbiased opinion.

Cooper

Postby Cooper » October 7th, 2009, 1:25 pm

Good Choice 323_guy :!: Don't worry about the manual, it'll feel awkward the first few days, if you're coming from an auto tranny vehicle. But after the first couple days (or a week max) you'll get used to it.

neckto

Postby neckto » October 7th, 2009, 2:37 pm

go parctice whe nthe road quiet to get comfy withthe pickup quickly, like stopping and pulling of on an sharp incline with minimal rollback

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » October 7th, 2009, 2:46 pm

^^ correct also always if not sure , pull handbrakes till you can balance clutch

323_guy

Postby 323_guy » October 7th, 2009, 10:38 pm

Done gettin de hang of it... Almost lol. My dad rescued me, wen he told me that ah diesel can pull off on 2nd, well the wolrd seemed a much happier place after that, becuz i was wonderin how i supposed to be jugglin from 1-2 in traffic rite tru...

Nex ting, de owners manual states that the clutch is ONLY to be used (and they have it big and bold, underlined an ting so it mus be important lol) when changing gears... Well naturally I learned to drive on a 120y and distinctly remember once yuh makin a drastic reduction in speed, but not stoppin (eg. passin over a road hump) havin to assist de brakes wit a lil clutchwork and den gear down if necessary. My boss showed me that even tho yuh van mite shudder a lil bit, it wont cut off wen u tip be brakes without de clutch. I was impressed.

Lastly, even tho long time ah used tuh bully men on de road wit meh lil 323, ah have to humble now and take meh time entering intersections an ting. Today I tried pullin across Rushworth St. from Blanch Fraser (south ppl can relate), and something incredible happened... Everyone stoppeed... It was at that point I learned the truth... I realised something incredible... Something unknown to other motorists, except ppl who buy and drive these huge beast-like machines... I realised that... Most people... respect vehicles bigger than theirs... .....
.. :twisted:

neckto

Postby neckto » October 8th, 2009, 7:19 am

LOL
i dont think you'd have a problem using the clutch to gear down but dont over do it, maybe other manual pickup owners can share thier experiences with wear and tear due to riding the clutch

323_guy

Postby 323_guy » October 11th, 2009, 11:16 pm

Fellas... Whaw.... I 4got how SWEET it is to rock ah manual tranny!!! Wheyy dis van sweet!!! Used de 4x4 today... I will post up some pics when it clean... Right now its COVERED in mud...:P,,, Because... A... um... Truck passed by and slashed mud on it... :roll: ,,, but ANYWAY, details not important! lol... :lol:

On a serious note tho, here's my layman's synopsis

Pros:

1. IMMMACULATE comfort! The seats are almost too comfortable! Plus the seat positioning gives you an excellent feel of control!

2. Sound system isnt bad either, you wont be winning any sound offs with it, but it works pretty well stock

3. User-friendly clutch... Im a novice @ manual, havent driven manual since I got my license back in 2002, and it already has me feelin like a pro driver!

Cons: (Come on, it cant be all perfect)

1. Bouncy suspension, it bouncin all over the place! drivin down the highway @ 140k the other night and it felt reall unstable, like yuh cud jus fly off de road any minute! Is that normal??? I doh kno how dem other van-guys does manage those speeds!!! My friend who drives an l200 told me welcome to the club, get some wider tyres, and just get used to it, but still, it feels weird. Gonna check and see if de tyres not over-inflated tomorrow.

2. stupid antenna keeps knocking down on the hood when you goin over reall bumpy terrain! ... Hate that stupid antenna... That was de best they coulda do???

3. Small fuel tank!!! At first i thought It wasnt as fuel efficient as it was touted to be, since every two minutes i have to top up diesel. (I never let it go lower than 1/3 tank) but then when i added them up and considered that i went 1000k on $125 in diesel this past week, dat reall not so bad, is jus de tank lil tiny i guess, das all lol.

Other than that ABSOLUTELY NO REGRETS!! Id buy one tomorrow, if i could... Automatic tho, lol...

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » October 12th, 2009, 2:29 pm

323_guy wrote:Cons: (Come on, it cant be all perfect)

1. Bouncy suspension, it bouncin all over the place! drivin down the highway @ 140k the other night and it felt reall unstable, like yuh cud jus fly off de road any minute! Is that normal??? I doh kno how dem other van-guys does manage those speeds!!! My friend who drives an l200 told me welcome to the club, get some wider tyres, and just get used to it, but still, it feels weird. Gonna check and see if de tyres not over-inflated tomorrow.

2. stupid antenna keeps knocking down on the hood when you goin over reall bumpy terrain! ... Hate that stupid antenna... That was de best they coulda do???

3. Small fuel tank!!! At first i thought It wasnt as fuel efficient as it was touted to be, since every two minutes i have to top up diesel. (I never let it go lower than 1/3 tank) but then when i added them up and considered that i went 1000k on $125 in diesel this past week, dat reall not so bad, is jus de tank lil tiny i guess, das all lol.

Other than that ABSOLUTELY NO REGRETS!! Id buy one tomorrow, if i could... Automatic tho, lol...

Con1: Mine is on stock wheels as well ... Highway speeds up to 170 are very smooth and easy, definitely check for over inflation. The specs on the door say 30psi for my truck unladen ... I've never checked mine since i got it (3.0 auto) but that would be my first check.

Con2: yes the antenna is retarded, lol Just don't extend it fully and it'll stop knocking. I use a sony NWZ-818 mp3 player through the built in aux jack, so I hardly ever listen to the radio anyhow ...

con3: Yes the tank is smaller than the other vans, but your mileage is great ... $125 in diesel with my 3.0 auto will be about 600 -800k depending on city vs highway driving . Also I have a lead foot. lol

323_guy

Postby 323_guy » October 12th, 2009, 10:48 pm

u were right, manual stated 30 psi tyre pressure unloaded and wen i checked, they were all @ 37 (they normally over-inflate them to stay parked up 4 long). Reduced the pressure and run it on de highway, its a bit more settled now on de road, not perfect, but better! :wink:

chris600

Postby chris600 » October 13th, 2009, 8:18 am

was facing same hilux/bt50 dilemma here,...last time we bought a hilux that was model just before vigo.. ..that thing was a true work horse!,carry everything from cement to loads and loads ah blocks make countless trips all over:shock: ...still runnin sweet not 1 problem...buh TTTL move kina shiddy dis time....spendin up to 200k an dey complaining dey doh hav no rims to give wit d van,an air bags cost extra bla bla bla..(taught that was a standard thing by now???)....da was jus lame :sleeping:..... decided to try a bt50 instead..180-sumtin fully loaded,....gonna see how this holds up

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » October 13th, 2009, 8:29 am

Telling all yuh people - The MazdaBT50 is the way to go - everyone is caught up in the "toyota name"............I will outshine any Toyota Anyday.....

sweeks

Postby sweeks » October 13th, 2009, 10:01 am

Time will tell fellas .... time will tell.

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » October 13th, 2009, 12:24 pm

Given its not a speed racer - but the low range power is simply awesome

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » October 13th, 2009, 1:44 pm

booge wrote:Given its not a speed racer - but the low range power is simply awesome

Want a tug o war in low gear or what?

I have stock tyres too :oops:

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » October 13th, 2009, 10:02 pm

bleedingfreak wrote:
booge wrote:Given its not a speed racer - but the low range power is simply awesome

Want a tug o war in low gear or what?

I have stock tyres too :oops:

I Accept, :D

However, what will be the point? Its unecessary tearing on the clutch disk and set up. Lemme price a set up for my van...

323_guy

Postby 323_guy » October 20th, 2009, 4:32 pm

Guys, quick one, time to get rid of these Duelers, but ah dont want to change my rim size, not jus yet. Tell me,

1. What is the widest possible tyre i can fit on the stock rim?

2. What is the best tyre to buy (Im into the aggresive look of AT's, but let me know whats best :)

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » October 20th, 2009, 4:38 pm

323_guy wrote:Guys, quick one, time to get rid of these Duelers, but ah dont want to change my rim size, not jus yet. Tell me,

1. What is the widest possible tyre i can fit on the stock rim?

2. What is the best tyre to buy (Im into the aggresive look of AT's, but let me know whats best :)

Good questions! Also interested in the answers ...

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » October 20th, 2009, 11:56 pm

hey 323 guy if u wanna get rid of the rims a well let me know i got an older model van i am fixing up .. i'll gladly take them off ur hands

as for biggest wont the 265 r75 fit on that rim?

323_guy

Postby 323_guy » October 21st, 2009, 12:12 am

Not keen on losin the rims as yet, still a novice 4x4 driver, so de height/bounciness on stock rims Im still gettin used to. If I go bigger, I feel I wont be able to control de van at high speeds!!! I drove my pardna Bt 50 on 20's, thought I was goin to die!! lol...

Once I get used to the bounciness on stock rims, I will upgrade to 18's or sumthin, anyways, I jus lookin for tires 4 now, I know it cud take 265s, but I was wonderin if i can go even wider, like 275 or sumthin...

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”