Help: Crack in windscreen

mazda machine

Help: Crack in windscreen

Postby mazda machine » September 29th, 2009, 9:21 am

yesterday a padna was goin home and a stone drop out a truck and hit the windscreen and crack it jus above the rearview mirror and it seems to be spreading.where on the east cud we go to get this resolved and any suggestions would be helpful.
i will put a pic of it later today

slow323

Postby slow323 » September 29th, 2009, 11:54 am

once the crack is more than 4 inches long its better to replace the windscreen

brakefluid

Postby brakefluid » September 29th, 2009, 1:05 pm

slow323 wrote:once the crack is more than 4 inches long its better to replace the windscreen

So if it is 5 inches long replace it then?
Listen buddy, once there is a crack in the windshield, no matter how small, at some point in time it will spread. It is better to carry it by a repair man and have it patched up. Might cost 200-300 bucks and takes about 30 mins.

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » September 29th, 2009, 2:37 pm

Bamboo, they'll drill and stop the crack on both ends.

TrinbagoMan

Postby TrinbagoMan » September 29th, 2009, 2:48 pm

Right between curepe and hilo on the east main road have a place on the southern side of the road.

mazda machine

Postby mazda machine » September 29th, 2009, 3:17 pm

thanks for the responses.he gona get it looked at by 2m.
the crack went in 3 directions tho.it looks like a benz sign actually possibly 2 inches in each direction

GEAR_HEAD

Postby GEAR_HEAD » September 30th, 2009, 11:30 am

From my experience, even if they drill and fill the crack, vibrations (potholes etc) can lead to it reopening and spreading.
You can try the drill and fill method and see if it works...costs alot less than replacing a windsheild.

brakefluid

Postby brakefluid » September 30th, 2009, 2:16 pm

I drill and fill 2 windshields already and it worked great. It better to try this option that cost $200-300 before you spend $2000-3000.

GEAR_HEAD

Postby GEAR_HEAD » September 30th, 2009, 3:09 pm

brakefluid wrote:I drill and fill 2 windshields already and it worked great. It better to try this option that cost $200-300 before you spend $2000-3000.

agreed!

Postby Rainman » September 30th, 2009, 3:23 pm

what vehicle?

Adrenalinerush

Postby Adrenalinerush » October 1st, 2009, 4:45 am

well..for future reference, as soon as you get a crack from a stone on d windscreen, immediately put some clear nail polish on that spot. Just a dab...not too much...what this does is seal any tiny spaces that were created by the chip...once this space is sealed, there is no room for a crack to form since expansion is not possible...*on a very minute scale but it happens nonetheless...

gunsmoke

Postby gunsmoke » October 7th, 2009, 10:52 pm

it have a similar thread, get it repaired before it gets too late 0X

Ravi40

Postby Ravi40 » November 15th, 2009, 9:00 am

Heard there is a guy in central who has the liquid that seals cracks. Instead of drilling. Anyone can confirm ?? I changed 2 windshields in the past because of trucks. Want to save some money.

Postby bushwakka » November 15th, 2009, 10:41 am

call 761-2744.....windshield doctor....he will come to ur location and fix it right there for $300...bess services!!!

there is some drilling involved in order to put a stop on the crack....the faster u get it done...the better the results

anthonyanthony

Postby anthonyanthony » November 17th, 2009, 11:40 am

their a guy in curepe that repairs this , special t services i think.

did some work by him and no complaints , the repairs hold out for a long time ... over four years before another stone completly shattered my windscreen.

He drills a hole to stop the cracks and then apply a special sealer that makes the cracks almost invisible... you have to look good to see the crack. cost is around $200 - 300 .
He even advise you on if the crack should be repaired , the results or if the windshield should be replaced before he does the job.

According to him once the crack appears it should be repaired at soon as possible since the more contiminants gets in ie dirt and water, into the crack the harder it will be to make invisible.

STi-N

Postby STi-N » November 17th, 2009, 7:18 pm

call windshield doctor asap

neckto

Postby neckto » November 18th, 2009, 10:53 am

what about when the stone just chip the winsheild, cause it to show (you can feel the gouged area on the outside) but no crack formed really, could this be filled and repaird so that the ugly spot disappears too?

jjcp

Postby jjcp » November 18th, 2009, 11:45 am

what about when the stone just chip the winsheild, cause it to show (you can feel the gouged area on the outside) but no crack formed really, could this be filled and repaird so that the ugly spot disappears too?

call windshield doctor asap

neckto

Postby neckto » November 18th, 2009, 11:49 am

ok will do

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 18th, 2009, 3:46 pm

anthonyanthony wrote:According to him once the crack appears it should be repaired at soon as possible since the more contiminants gets in ie dirt and water, into the crack the harder it will be to make invisible.

This is correct, as well as external pressure caused by highway driving WILL cause the crack to rapidly spread.
Once the crack reaches the edge of the windscreen it is considered FUBAR

rmtuner

Postby rmtuner » November 23rd, 2009, 9:59 pm

check double zee in El Socorro or Bamboo.

1800GSRLANCER

Postby 1800GSRLANCER » November 28th, 2009, 11:20 am

Captainzaak wrote:Bamboo, they'll drill and stop the crack on both ends.

:shock: how they pulling of that one without causing more damage?

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » December 2nd, 2009, 12:25 pm

have a guy by the name of Terry.some tuners might know him as well.supplies and installs. real good work! :|

mumphee

Postby mumphee » December 26th, 2009, 9:47 am

bushwakka wrote:call 761-2744.....windshield doctor....he will come to ur location and fix it right there for $300...bess services!!!

there is some drilling involved in order to put a stop on the crack....the faster u get it done...the better the results

yea call the windshield doctor...knows him personally an he does the bes job....the crack in my winshield is holding steady for the longest wile :mrgreen:

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » December 26th, 2009, 12:11 pm

In my experience, the drill method works superbly if done right..
There is a fella in Marabella we carried all the cars to when something like that happens.. Saved us a windscreen with a 4" or 5" crack before.. Once he sealed it, it never moved or spread..

Its a nice cheap fix short of having to replace the entire shield... That said, if you do have to change it, Double Z in gasparillo I think it is has excellent prices