best tyres for sir civics... what are your views

Fit, Civic, Integra, CR-V, Accord, Legend - Do NOT post FS or WTB here!!!

speedfreak44

best tyres for sir civics... what are your views

Postby speedfreak44 » September 25th, 2009, 7:02 am

i have dunlop z101... learn the hard way that these are crap... poor traction....

what hav u used??????
Last edited by speedfreak44 on April 18th, 2010, 8:33 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby r3iXmann » September 25th, 2009, 7:25 am

I always said they're overrated...never understood why trinis love them so much. What's the treadwear on those btw? They're also a dry weather tyre, so if heavy rain fall, yuh arse dark :p . I've always had good results from continental tyres. Right now I got on a pair of conti sport gt on the front,I think it is. 160tw, excellent dry weather, decent wet weather. Got some firestone on the back and they're decent but I'm gonna get another pair of the continentalsm Check tirerack.com for reviews on any tyre before you buy

Postby SR » September 25th, 2009, 7:41 am

they worked well for me as opposed to having used or mismathced tyres on a vehilce

ingalook

Postby ingalook » September 25th, 2009, 8:46 am

Was looking at the BF KDW, think Red Dragon has he set

Hopefully he'll chime in an let us know how they working

Nexen is what I still have on the can (they doh want tuh ded! :shock: )

But I wouldn't recommend them for our purposes

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » September 25th, 2009, 8:53 am

^ it is a nice street tire

better rated on tire rack than the z101

but NOTE is it not a Strip tire

the SPOON still had problems to hook with them

ingalook

Postby ingalook » September 25th, 2009, 9:04 am

How they doing for thread-wear?

I getting conflicting reviews online

They are the top of my list for my next tire, as you know for me road-holding is more a priority than "hooking-up"

Hirotoshi

Postby Hirotoshi » September 25th, 2009, 9:07 am

tire rack has good ratings for the dunlop z101, ill be putting a set on my hatch soon. i have gotten good results from the falken zeix 512 & kuhmo ecsta supra. currently using the kuhmo,s. there,s no special tyre for the siR,all major manufactures make good tyres,the important factors are to choose tyres that you can afford,driving conditions & driving habits. eg, an ultra high performance will give excellent grip & traction wet & dry conditions but will wear quickly,but if you can afford to change tyres every 3 months,then that may be the tyre for you.your suspension set-up will also affect how the tyres perform. 8-)

ingalook

Postby ingalook » September 25th, 2009, 9:37 am

What's the price of the ecsta supra (15s) They are supposed to be a better tire than the DZ101

http://www.tirerack.com/tires/tests/tes ... sp?ttid=56

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » September 25th, 2009, 10:01 am

take a read

let the man pocket decide

http://www.tirerack.com/tires/surveyres ... p?type=UHP

also correction Ingalook

i have the KDW2 not the KDW two different tires
Last edited by red_dragon on September 25th, 2009, 10:04 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 25th, 2009, 10:03 am

I got some Bridgestone Potenza 195 50 /R15 once and those were the BEST EVAAAR.
seriously.

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » September 25th, 2009, 10:05 am

^ if u got them FU even better

redsupra101

Postby redsupra101 » September 25th, 2009, 10:15 am

ingalook wrote:What's the price of the ecsta supra (15s) They are supposed to be a better tire than the DZ101

http://www.tirerack.com/tires/tests/tes ... sp?ttid=56

the ecsta supras are very nice in wet and superb in dry! cant remember the price but its the tire id buy again if i could find it at a good price in 195/55/15. only thing i didnt like about them is that the sidewalls weak.. but i ran them 16 and 17s so it was 40 and 45 profile biznizz.. sidewalls burst real easy

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » September 25th, 2009, 10:40 am

I have Bridgestone Potenza RE750s .... great tyre...very responsive because of the very stiff sidewall...I'm running 205/40/17.....however they can be very harsh for that same reason with this profile....wear is excellent....grip not as good as RE-01R or S-02 Pole Positions but this is a good balance between responsiveness and treadwear. Two other hings of note....tyres are noisy and get louder as they wear and they tramline on uneven surfaces....been running this set for past 2 years and all together an excellent tyre for the SiR....just remember to warm them up first .... in midday sun when road surface is scalding hot these tyres stick very well...can take the north to west bend at Grand Bazaar at 160kph+ car tracks perfectly and tyres grip hard

speedfreak44

Postby speedfreak44 » September 25th, 2009, 2:44 pm

underwet conditions, the skid easily... like so easy... my car has abs and the front of the car was like on ice ... was doing like 50kmph by uwi and applied a sudden brakes due to a dumb uwi student swing out from gate boys..and the front danced for me.. take go d for abs otherwise i would hav be looking for a bumper and headlights

waht ant the the brand the automotive components hav.. cant rem the brand.. a 205/50/15 is 700...

speedfreak44

Postby speedfreak44 » September 25th, 2009, 2:54 pm

reiXmann wrote:I always said they're overrated...never understood why trinis love them so much. What's the treadwear on those btw? They're also a dry weather tyre, so if heavy rain fall, yuh arse dark :p . I've always had good results from continental tyres. Right now I got on a pair of conti sport gt on the front,I think it is. 160tw, excellent dry weather, decent wet weather. Got some firestone on the back and they're decent but I'm gonna get another pair of the continentalsm Check tirerack.com for reviews on any tyre before you buy

where u got the conti to buy??? wats the average price for 15s

Postby 0001 » September 25th, 2009, 10:15 pm

Bridgestone Potenza 195 55 /R15 can say for these too hav them on my civic 6 months and never skid

the car just sits on the road at high speeds and takes corners very nice

speedfreak44

Postby speedfreak44 » September 25th, 2009, 10:24 pm

0001 wrote:Bridgestone Potenza 195 55 /R15 can say for these too hav them on my civic 6 months and never skid

the car just sits on the road at high speeds and takes corners very nice

wat price 205 50 15 goes for any idea??

Postby De Dragon » September 25th, 2009, 10:41 pm

Goodyear Eagle F1's are decent too.

Postby SUPAstarr » September 25th, 2009, 11:01 pm

ive used eagle f1's after my nexens died, they are such superb tyres wet and dry, in my experience at least, dexed them a couple times an they hold sooo well, jus got 2 more for the front, an gonna try out 2 toyo proxes t1s in the rear an see how that goes

trincivic

Postby trincivic » September 26th, 2009, 6:54 pm

Falken Azensis RT215- excellent strip tyres

JD......

Postby JD...... » September 26th, 2009, 8:01 pm

speedfreak 44....for the Dry the best tire ive have so far is the Toyo Proxes T1R, but they were sheit in the rain, due to the thread pattern, the water could not be dished out fast enough and cause hydroplaneing.
for everyday use, i run nexens N3000 215/40/16 and ive never had a problem with them, they stood up to potholes and heavy rains (better than the proxies) just fine for daily driveing. But the compound is hard. i do get about 3 dexes out of the nexens plus driving north to south often.

anyone know where 225/40/16 can be sourced.......

Postby SUPAstarr » September 26th, 2009, 11:24 pm

225's fit on the civic without rubbing? Cuz I was worried about goin from 205's to 215's on my ek hatch

Postby De Dragon » September 27th, 2009, 12:29 am

SUPAstarr wrote:225's fit on the civic without rubbing? Cuz I was worried about goin from 205's to 215's on my ek hatch

I ran 215/40/16 briefly without touching issues. But pthole bussing issues well............... :roll:

No Fear at all!!!

Postby No Fear at all!!! » September 27th, 2009, 12:49 am

SUPAstar.... you can use on your hatch 225's but 15" that way you will have a comfortable ride and no pothole stress...OOps forgot series 50 .. that is if you are running 15"... :?

No Fear at all!!!

Postby No Fear at all!!! » September 27th, 2009, 12:54 am

JD...... wrote:speedfreak 44....for the Dry the best tire ive have so far is the Toyo Proxes T1R, but they were sheit in the rain, due to the thread pattern, the water could not be dished out fast enough and cause hydroplaneing.
for everyday use, i run nexens N3000 215/40/16 and ive never had a problem with them, they stood up to potholes and heavy rains (better than the proxies) just fine for daily driveing. But the compound is hard. i do get about 3 dexes out of the nexens plus driving north to south often.

anyone know where 225/40/16 can be sourced.......

Check out Jack's tyre shop in chaguanas or chippy's at the back of centre city mall also in chaguanas...

Postby SUPAstarr » September 27th, 2009, 8:42 am

No Fear at all!!! wrote:SUPAstar.... you can use on your hatch 225's but 15" that way you will have a comfortable ride and no pothole stress...OOps forgot series 50 .. that is if you are running 15"... :?

i run 16's, jus bought some 215's so im gonna see how that works out

JD......

Postby JD...... » September 27th, 2009, 10:14 am

as stated i run them and have to issues with the nexens 215/40, with touching, with potholes most is a lil rub when going down hill and taking sharp corners, also d car on coilovers.

anyone have experience with the 225's and if it will be better suited for a 15" high profile tire or 16" low profile

mannh01

Postby mannh01 » October 7th, 2009, 9:53 am

Guys, the correct tyre rating is labeled on the drivers side door post on your car, your car performs best with the correctly rated tyres. Choosing the correct threadwear is important also, the higher the threadwear, the harder the tyre and the easier it is to skid and vice versa.
In my experience sumitomo has performed well with me, good road handling, cant remember skidding around sharp bends, smooth ride. The only thing its a bit costly, but you pay for quality I guess.

JDM_GUY

Postby JDM_GUY » October 9th, 2009, 11:41 am

I am currently running the nankang ultra sport NS2 and it handles really nice in rain and dry weather

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » October 9th, 2009, 1:37 pm

:lol: @ this thread

reiXmann wrote:They're also a dry weather tyre, so if heavy rain fall, yuh arse dark

Yes I agree the DZ101's are mess.....hated my last set....but WTH do you mean by a "dry weather tyre"?

The DZ101 is a UHPS summer tyre IIRC....used in wet and dry. The only "dry weather" tyres are those in the EPS or R-compound class

JD.... wrote:speedfreak 44....for the Dry the best tire ive have so far is the Toyo Proxes T1R, but they were sheit in the rain, due to the thread pattern, the water could not be dished out fast enough and cause hydroplaneing.

Man say Nexens better than T1R's yes!!!!

mannh01 wrote:Choosing the correct threadwear is important also, the higher the threadwear, the harder the tyre and the easier it is to skid and vice versa.

WTF you have a lisp or something? WTH is "threadwear".

AFAIK, it's spelt TREADwear. Chupid bookies tryin' to "sound proper" again nah.

Return to “HONDA”