Going mivec

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

Animal Pak

Going mivec

Postby Animal Pak » September 13th, 2009, 9:29 pm

Ok. so i'm driving a 4g92 sohc lancer. D only ting is ....d car startin to give real real problems.

sensors going bad, random rattles dat nobody know how to fix etc.

So i tinking bout going Mivec. Done check new age in bamboo #1 and dey give me a complete price of around 15k for everything. Engine tiptronic tranny.....the whole set up....

Jus want to know if dis is a decent price or should i even bother with d mod and jus get myself something newer??

Any relevant feedback would be greatly appreciated.

VW_Exec

Postby VW_Exec » September 13th, 2009, 9:35 pm

you can get complete turbo setups for around that price or a few $ more.
im almost certain a 4g93T was around that price.

however, with turbo applications, there are further incidental costs (brakes, fuel, etc.) and the install price will increase.

so if it's just a straight swap n/a, then MIVEC option sounds ok.

my personal opinion - it's a tad bit overpriced.

Postby *KRONIK* » September 13th, 2009, 9:50 pm

Mitsu_Exec wrote:it's a tad bit overpriced.

it is but these days ppl setting the market price for everything

because 1 person willin to pay "X" amount everyone after have witht eh same amount of money......

if u only knew how much these fellas duz pay for a front cut........
u go feel sick to pay 15K for a engine

2nil

Postby 2nil » September 13th, 2009, 11:01 pm

u know ah while aback dat same mivec setup was $9k at cosmos.......
i personally find 15K is way too much 4 dat setup,is better u go 4g93t than u have to spend dat kinda cash.......... :roll: :roll:

rjaggs

Postby rjaggs » September 14th, 2009, 10:17 am

check around, you will get a better price elsewhere. If you could get an engine only i may be able to organise a tranny for you

Animal Pak

Postby Animal Pak » September 14th, 2009, 8:42 pm

well so i've been told....but i real bummy to go turbo cause at the end of d day d car will more or less be a daily driver. Too many conversions and i doh want to b pushing boost every day.

I looking for somewhere dat selling d setup cheaper but like dese parts hard to find??

DriFT_KiNG

Postby DriFT_KiNG » September 17th, 2009, 6:19 pm

15 g's is quite high , but that is the price you will pay in most places you check.
I know someone that recently did a ck2 conversion to mivec and paid approx. $5000.00 for the entire setup incl tranny, axels, shifter etc
He said that he purchased it from Bicks in Penal. I was quite shocked that he was able to get a 4g92 mivec for that price

You can check them if you like...

Animal Pak

Postby Animal Pak » September 17th, 2009, 9:51 pm

wha d mackeson?? well yea ......if is so den i for sure in dat...............

Now jus to find a mech who capable of proper installation

QG

Postby QG » September 18th, 2009, 3:32 pm

15K for that lil 1600 mivec engine???

Hoss check Bicks in Penal dread.

DriFT_KiNG

Postby DriFT_KiNG » September 18th, 2009, 5:44 pm

it have a few good ones around, let us know your location and we can point you in the right direction...

Animal Pak

Postby Animal Pak » September 19th, 2009, 6:54 pm

So i checked Bick's .......dey outta stock.....and new age outta stock as well...apparently the engine is a hot seller now or so they say.

Either which way...i more or less make up my mind.....i making d switch.....

So now i looking at selling my old engine

-sMoKe-

Postby -sMoKe- » September 23rd, 2009, 3:05 pm

i called new age and they r calling 22,000 for a 4g93t and mivec gearbox....i nearly fall dong wen i hear dat...and as KRONIK said...everyone selling that price or around it

-sMoKe-

Postby -sMoKe- » September 23rd, 2009, 3:07 pm

if any one know where i can get the 93t engine...please pm meh!

SCHOLARS

Postby SCHOLARS » September 24th, 2009, 3:28 pm

padner your car aint giving no problems is d fellas u going by. i have mivec and i telling u stay away look for ah 93t call me 7801622 i could send u to get ah good price on ah mivec or ah good mechanic to solve that lil issue u have.

Lean Wid IT

Postby Lean Wid IT » September 24th, 2009, 4:06 pm

SCHOLARS wrote:padner your car aint giving no problems is d fellas u going by. i have mivec and i telling u stay away look for ah 93t call me 7801622 i could send u to get ah good price on ah mivec or ah good mechanic to solve that lil issue u have.

trust me he know what he talkin bout...give the man a call u'll get sort out...and u have nothing to lose

SCHOLARS

Postby SCHOLARS » September 24th, 2009, 7:21 pm

nothing to lose guaranteed

star323

Postby star323 » September 26th, 2009, 1:00 pm

every single mivec owner would tell you that goin mivec is askin for trouble... from experience if you lookin for speed then you have to be willing ot throw out cash and throw it at the 93t not mivec!! if yuh just want a workin engine to replace the old one is bess yuh dont go mivec..

Cardo-MR

Postby Cardo-MR » September 26th, 2009, 1:39 pm

So y it is all yuh gehn on like mivec is "Bad"..........Mivec is ah engine yuh have to make sure yuh no wat you doin & give it care......If not obviously it will give u headache.

Also if yuh driving habits are bad......what you expext?

Animal Pak

Postby Animal Pak » September 27th, 2009, 3:07 am

really? i talkto a few ppl who mivec and dey say it wukking bess....

i mean....engine is engine ent?

once u doh rough it up no stress....unless u driving a megane?

SCHOLARS

Postby SCHOLARS » September 27th, 2009, 5:57 am

as ah mivec owner it real sweet real nice power it feel good and it fun to drive and my mivec working best cuz i beat real 4ag20v, b16a, rb20de and det rb25de and countless sr20 de but u going to feel good until ah man who running boost run up on yuh ass. as with every new thing u will enjoy cuz is ah big difference compared to the engine u have now but when u get used to it u will get like how i was... sheit i should have bought d damn gsr... take it from me either service the SOHC or go 4g93t cuz boost is the only solution.

Cardo-MR

Postby Cardo-MR » September 27th, 2009, 8:36 am

SCHOLARS, yuh now explain yuh self dey..... :lol: buh yuh cud make a mivec faster than a boost car by proper tuning with a management & spending a lil money on cams,....dat shud be bout enuff to drive a boost man crazy :lol: :twisted:

Lean Wid IT

Postby Lean Wid IT » September 27th, 2009, 11:04 am

Cardo-MR wrote:SCHOLARS, yuh now explain yuh self dey..... :lol: buh yuh cud make a mivec faster than a boost car by proper tuning with a management & spending a lil money on cams,....dat shud be bout enuff to drive a boost man crazy :lol: :twisted:

the amount of money you goin to spend on a N/A car to beat a boost car is best you invest into boost and done...unless u jus have reall money and want to prove a point

Cardo-MR

Postby Cardo-MR » September 27th, 2009, 11:16 pm

Buh the thing wit Boost is men does geh thirsty for more.............which to me i rather spend d money on all motor N/A

Thats just me :|

QuickPc's

Postby QuickPc's » September 28th, 2009, 2:57 am

allyuh stop bad talkin miveec so th man cud buy one an i cud get ah sale on ah sensor or somethin...

Animal Pak

Postby Animal Pak » September 28th, 2009, 9:34 pm

jedd i feel when i reach d time for boost i jus goin to get a evo an done.....

i really nuh feeling to confident taking my ole lancer and goin turbo

Lean Wid IT

Postby Lean Wid IT » September 28th, 2009, 9:48 pm

well there u have it mivec it is....u will enjoy it it's much better than the stock 1.6 jus treat it with care like any other engine

Cardo-MR

Postby Cardo-MR » September 28th, 2009, 11:38 pm

Animal Pak wrote:jedd i feel when i reach d time for boost i jus goin to get a evo an done.....

Animal Pak tuh took the words right out meh mouth......plus a Stock CK2/4 Chassis can handel so much of boost....up to a point. in being stock
Last edited by Cardo-MR on September 29th, 2009, 10:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.

SCHOLARS

Postby SCHOLARS » September 29th, 2009, 6:04 pm

Cardo-MR wrote:
Animal Pak wrote:jedd i feel when i reach d time for boost i jus goin to get a evo an done.....

Animal Pak tuh took the words right out meh mouth......plus a Stock CK2/4 Chassis wasn't built for boost....it would however be able to hold with a N/A like the mivec

WHAT U mean ck2 and ck4 wasnt build for boost. ck has one of the best handling compared to most cars in its class they hold corners really well at higher speeds. no major understeer and oversteer so please shed some light on that statement

SCHOLARS

Postby SCHOLARS » September 29th, 2009, 6:09 pm

plus u can only go so far NA. boost is out of that league boost carries u to the beyond and back remember teknet got 500hp out if his SOHC 4g92 and did 11sec and 12sec i believe

fras

Postby fras » September 29th, 2009, 6:44 pm

Cardo-MR wrote:Animal Pak tuh took the words right out meh mouth......plus a Stock CK2/4 Chassis wasn't built for boost....it would however be able to hold with a N/A like the mivec
Shouldn't say wasn't built for boost... and yes the mivec suspension is better!

Return to “MITSUBISHI”