Postby Greypatch » September 15th, 2009, 8:28 pm

have some photos of the old pitch lake with same will post tomorrow

xtech

Postby xtech » September 15th, 2009, 9:39 pm

these pics shows us as a society...............an how completely lawless we have become.

Look how the streets are very clean

This frame will load over 500 old photos of Trinidad. Move mouse to bottom of the frame and Click on full screen to see pictures better..... Enjoy

Trinidad through the eyes of a American soldier based in Chaguramas

http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... highlight=

secret_service

Postby secret_service » September 15th, 2009, 10:14 pm

Postby foss » September 15th, 2009, 10:56 pm

I remember going on a Tristar to Miami when i was a yute.. the plane scare me yes.. was noisy like hell !

Postby DFC » September 15th, 2009, 11:29 pm

so last year i was working t&tec...and we had a job to do deep in the bush by arena dam.

so we stop by this guy house to ask for directions. So i came out...and saw this blonde haired, blue eyed white man approaching me. d man looking like sting! I fix up my self..and straighten out my english. "good day sir, i'm from t&tec, i just need some directions please" he said "aye whappenin padna...come inside nah"
ah local white..so i find out where i had to go..and i inquired about the area.

well i didnt know arena road was riiiccchh in amerindian history. being a history buff...i spoke at length with him.

So the man said.....his father was a british who owned a cocoa plantation in arena. and when he was a little boy (around 1940-50) there were few houses in the area. the occupants were either white, spanish, or amerindian, or mix up. but they were direct descendants.

so as a little boy, he and his friends used to venture deep into the forest and play..and hunt...until one day they stumbled upon..a amerindian settlement. It was a perfectly preserved settlement with huts, and temples,and artifacts,and tools and alot of stuff. but most amazingly...the place was littered with spanish gold! large thick gold coins, gold crucifixes inlaid with gems, gold chains and rings decorated the place and hung from the huts.

Later he found out that that was a large carib village...and when the spanish explorers came, they attacked the caribs. the caribs greatly outnumbered the spanish, so the caribs killed out most of the spanish..and took all thier possessions. They took all the gold and didnt know the value of it..except that it was shiny..so they decorated their huts and temples with it. Not long after....they all died out..after contracting some strange spanish virus.

So back to boyhood days...one of his friends..told his parents about the gold..and soon a team of parents trekked through the bush..and raided the settlement. they took everything....down to the last fragment of gold in the ground. they dug up around the settlement to see if anything was buried..and soon they destroyed the area.

well this story wowed me...but i still was skeptical..
until he took me to a room...and showed me his glass case.. what i saw had me thinking OH MY FCUKIN GAWD!....

yes...i saw spanish bouillon ....i saw a gem necklace..i saw a large crucifix with the whole thing encrusted with rubies and some green and blue stones. ..i saw thick gold chains..and amerindian pottery and tools. and spears and bows and arrows and bones. look up the arena massacare (1699) in wikipedia. the amerindians. murdered a set of catholic priests.

soo..this has seriously wowed me to the extreme..and...this got me studying the history of trinidad under spanish rule.

did you know...that a spanish ship...carrying spanish treasure...looted from other colonies..sank off the coast of trinidad?
this is what i heard from a spanish guy in arima...his great great great grandfather was returning to spain on that boat..when it sank. spanish officers came and informed his family.
this is part of my personal research right now..and when i'm finished i will publish the report.

xtech

Postby xtech » September 15th, 2009, 11:34 pm

post up that guys address nah.

Spanish way ruthless and brutal. It says here that after they hanged the captured amerindians they cut up their bodies an spread the pieces around Arena

THE ARENA MASSACRE: 1699
It was shortly after the founding of the missions that the next noteworthy incident took place. Indeed, it was as a direct result of the founding of San Francisco de los Arenales that this episode of blood arose. The governor who had called for the missions, Diego Suàrez Ponce de León, had first left in 1684. He returned for a second term in 1693, just after the last of the seven missions had been founded, and none could tell if he was pleased when he left office for good in 1696 - or if he ever knew what happened afterwards.

The man who followed Diego Suàrez Ponce de León is listed as having come in 1698, and that leaves 1697 without a governor. Still, Diego’s successor may have been appointed in 1697 but could not arrive until 1698, it is hard to tell. What we do know is that he lasted just one year and was never to return alive.
Governor José de León y Echales was due to pay his periodic visit to the missions some time in December 1699, at the same time as a new mission church was being built at the mission of San Francisco de los Arenales.

Work on the church was proceeding very slowly because the Amerindians of the mission felt disgruntled at the way they were being treated. The priests of the mission threatened to report them to the governor, and the Amerindians, dreading this because of the notorious cruelty of the governors, decided to take matters into their own hands. On the day the governor was due to arrive, December 1, 1699, the Arawaks attacked the three priests of the mission, clubbing them to death, and according to reports they threw the bodies in the foundation of the church.They then promptly went to lie in wait for the governor and his party. This was along the royal road where the party was due to pass. They fell on the governor’s party, killing everyone except a soldier on horseback, who escaped and rode back to San José with the news.

The Cabildo hastily dispatched troops to the scene but when they got to the mission they found that the Amerindians had all fled along the trail to the east coast. They followed in hot pursuit and they caught up with some of the Arawaks at the Cocal, on the east coast. It is reported that they killed hundreds of them, thus making it a genuine “massacre,â€
Last edited by xtech on September 15th, 2009, 11:39 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby Maserati » September 15th, 2009, 11:37 pm

BWIA 747 :shock:

the_DFC,that is amazing :o
looking forward to the report you are doing.

Postby DFC » September 15th, 2009, 11:39 pm

he is somewhere around!
Last edited by DFC on September 16th, 2009, 10:48 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby DFC » September 15th, 2009, 11:42 pm

Postby cinco » September 15th, 2009, 11:47 pm

wow
just wow i feel so dense not knowing the history of our country

xtech

Postby xtech » September 15th, 2009, 11:49 pm

a black lady was hanged in Diego Martin in the 1800's a public hanging

cant remember why

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » September 16th, 2009, 12:09 am

Piarco.. dunno year. Simply states

"Trinidad and Tobago Defence Force Arrival of Shackleton's Air Force."

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » September 16th, 2009, 12:23 am

i love this thread... more more more

evo_chic

Postby evo_chic » September 16th, 2009, 1:55 am

<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/dJAYUIdYjNU&hl=en&fs=1&color1=0x006699&color2=0x54abd6"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/dJAYUIdYjNU&hl=en&fs=1&color1=0x006699&color2=0x54abd6" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>

Postby Monk BANzai » September 16th, 2009, 2:19 am

Yard Fowl ah Kick Up!!!!!!

Jack the Ripper

Postby Jack the Ripper » September 16th, 2009, 3:29 am

Postby bluefete » September 16th, 2009, 6:14 am

xtech &ss; Great pictures. This is a very good thread. Rich in our history. Maybe the gov't can take a page from this thread, the one about our early cars and the one about the history of San 'Do.[/b]

Postby Redman » September 16th, 2009, 7:11 am

MISHI
Dunno if this is the same flight:
http://www.flightglobal.com/pdfarchive/ ... 02697.html

Caribbean Goodwill
THREE SHACKLETON MR.3s of 120 Sqn left
their base at Kinloss recently on a
goodwill tour of the Caribbean. They
arrived at Antigua, St Johns, on November 9
and last Sunday, the 11th, gave a demonstration
over the English Harbour—dropping
Lindholme survival gear—when the annual
dockyard celebrations were held in honour
of Lord Nelson. They flew on to Trinidad
last Monday, arrive at Barbados on November
16, leave there for Bermuda on the
19th and on the 21st fly from Bermuda to
the Azores to arrive back at Kinloss the
following day.
Among the groundcrew being carried
aboard the three Shackletons was the only
West Indian on 120 Sqn, Cpl F. G. D.
Knight, an electrical fitter, whose home is
at Arouca, Trinidad. The Shackleton
force, consisting of 54 officers and airmen,
has as senior officer the Kinloss station
commander Gp Capt P. H. Stembridge.
This exercise, code-named "Main Run III,"
is one of a series of regular visits by Coastal
Command to the Caribbean.

Later

Skanky

Postby Skanky » September 16th, 2009, 7:23 am

the_DFC wrote:did you know...that a spanish ship...carrying spanish treasure...looted from other colonies..sank off the coast of trinidad?

If the history is true there is a fortune in trini waters.I'm sure there is more than one ship out there.
It's just a matter of time before some foreigners come here and salvage it.

Skanky

Postby Skanky » September 16th, 2009, 7:52 am

Oh and DFC I don't think you doing that fella's health much good by posting that kind of information online.

Postby SmokeyGTi » September 16th, 2009, 9:45 am

prob a repost but..

View of Marine Square at the corner of Frederick Street.
June 7th

trini_ravi

Postby trini_ravi » September 16th, 2009, 9:46 am

the_DFC wrote:so last year i was working t&tec...and we had a job to do deep in the bush by arena dam.

so we stop by this guy house to ask for directions. So i came out...and saw this blonde haired, blue eyed white man approaching me. d man looking like sting! I fix up my self..and straighten out my english. "good day sir, i'm from t&tec, i just need some directions please" he said "aye whappenin padna...come inside nah"
ah local white..so i find out where i had to go..and i inquired about the area.

well i didnt know arena road was riiiccchh in amerindian history. being a history buff...i spoke at length with him.

So the man said.....his father was a british who owned a cocoa plantation in arena. and when he was a little boy (around 1940-50) there were few houses in the area. the occupants were either white, spanish, or amerindian, or mix up. but they were direct descendants.

so as a little boy, he and his friends used to venture deep into the forest and play..and hunt...until one day they stumbled upon..a amerindian settlement. It was a perfectly preserved settlement with huts, and temples,and artifacts,and tools and alot of stuff. but most amazingly...the place was littered with spanish gold! large thick gold coins, gold crucifixes inlaid with gems, gold chains and rings decorated the place and hung from the huts.

Later he found out that that was a large carib village...and when the spanish explorers came, they attacked the caribs. the caribs greatly outnumbered the spanish, so the caribs killed out most of the spanish..and took all thier possessions. They took all the gold and didnt know the value of it..except that it was shiny..so they decorated their huts and temples with it. Not long after....they all died out..after contracting some strange spanish virus.

So back to boyhood days...one of his friends..told his parents about the gold..and soon a team of parents trekked through the bush..and raided the settlement. they took everything....down to the last fragment of gold in the ground. they dug up around the settlement to see if anything was buried..and soon they destroyed the area.

well this story wowed me...but i still was skeptical..
until he took me to a room...and showed me his glass case.. what i saw had me thinking OH MY FCUKIN GAWD!....

yes...i saw spanish bouillon ....i saw a gem necklace..i saw a large crucifix with the whole thing encrusted with rubies and some green and blue stones. ..i saw thick gold chains..and amerindian pottery and tools. and spears and bows and arrows and bones. look up the arena massacare (1699) in wikipedia. the amerindians. murdered a set of catholic priests.

soo..this has seriously wowed me to the extreme..and...this got me studying the history of trinidad under spanish rule.

did you know...that a spanish ship...carrying spanish treasure...looted from other colonies..sank off the coast of trinidad?
this is what i heard from a spanish guy in arima...his great great great grandfather was returning to spain on that boat..when it sank. spanish officers came and informed his family.
this is part of my personal research right now..and when i'm finished i will publish the report.

edit ur post or mods help...

uh endangering the man life here hoss, remember it's a public forum

xeon

Postby xeon » September 16th, 2009, 10:16 am

Smokey wrote:wallerfield was a world war two base?????? yuh lie?? :roll: :wink:

carlsen field was one also

http://www.nalis.gov.tt/Places/Wallerfield.html

xtech

Postby xtech » September 16th, 2009, 12:17 pm

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/odogo0DyFHo&hl=en&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed>

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/HpgKNRuJBTc&hl=en&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed>

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/DCq9k6YpawQ&hl=en&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed>

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/ptYOwDeFKkc&hl=en&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed>

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/iUvruodLb84&hl=en&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed>

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/zZfJ3brRfW8&hl=en&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed>

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/ck0NfDYIoyA&hl=en&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/zZfJ3brRfW8&hl=en&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed>

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/0F_G52dV_WI&color1=0xb1b1b1&color2=0xcfcfcf&hl=en&feature=player_embedded&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowfullscreen="true" allowScriptAccess="always" width="425" height="344"></embed>

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/371h6RO3vgM&color1=0xb1b1b1&color2=0xcfcfcf&hl=en&feature=player_embedded&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowfullscreen="true" allowScriptAccess="always" width="425" height="344"></embed>

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/XuNmCrmUO68&hl=en&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed>
Last edited by xtech on September 18th, 2009, 7:03 pm, edited 4 times in total.

Conrad

Postby Conrad » September 16th, 2009, 12:19 pm

Express: Section 2 wrote:WALLERFIELD 2000 - PLANS FOR THE FUTURE

Express Section 2

January 30, 1998

Page 19

Wallerfield, the old US airbase between Arima and Sangre Grande, and to the north of Cumuto, was originally planned as a transit point for troops and armour on the way to the war in Europe and North Africa. There was just one squadron of B17s at Wallerfield until February 1942.

By 1943 the Americans had established 226 military bases, large and small, in Trinidad, together with airfields, a total of 17 operating runways.

When the Americans left Wallerfield in 1948, almost nothing was done to the area.

After the NAR's ascension to power in 1986, plans were made by John Humphrey, then in the NAR Cabinet, for the revitalisation of the Wallerfield area.

He believed that the country needed to develop a township in the east. Port of Spain being the main centre for most business, attracted an influx of commuters daily.

Minister Humphrey argued that if another township was developed in the east that was as attractive as Port of Spain, many businessmen and professionals living in the east and beyond, could work and enjoy a social life there.

Humphrey also pointed out that major cities have activities 24 hours a day but in Port of Spain after a certain hour most business places close and the city virtually shuts down, with large numbers of people leaving the Port of Spain area, trying to beat traffic.

Proposals and plans for the new township were put on the drawing board. International aircraft companies were contacted and many businessmen had shown interest in the proposals. However, soon after his departure from the NAR the plan was put on a back burner.

The plan was again revived after the UNC won the November 1995 elections. In January of the following year, Humphrey, now Minister of Housing and Settlements in the UNC-NAR government, made a ground tour of the Wallerfield area along with the Ministers of Works, Public Utilities and National Security.

A few weeks later the Ministers encouraged a clean up campaign in the area. Minister Humphrey was among the group of volunteers. The first aim of the committee was to put an end to criminal activities that were said to be taking place there.

"Smart Park" was the name given to the government's Wallerfield development project.

Sadiq Baksh, Minister of Works and Transport, stated at a meeting of the Eastern Division of the Trinidad and Tobago Chamber of Commerce in March of 1996 that the Government was looking at establishing an export- oriented Free Trade Zone for light manufacturing together with an agro-processing zone both of which will be serviced by a designated runway and support facilities in the short term and "a fully integrated township" in the long term.

When Minister Humphrey was contacted recently for a comment on what new initiatives had been set up by government for Wallerfield, he said that a few months ago the area was placed under Tidco's portfolio. Tidco he says will now be in charge of putting in the necessary infrastructure to make the township viable.

History proves that even in gov't as a people we're natural procrastinators.
Last edited by Conrad on September 16th, 2009, 12:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby equipped2ripp » September 16th, 2009, 12:19 pm

trini_ravi, if you want the man to edit it, why did you quote it? :?

trini_ravi

Postby trini_ravi » September 16th, 2009, 2:37 pm

^^^skanky alread asked him 2... and no response yet

i'm hoping he see the quote... i'll delete after

Postby Greypatch » September 16th, 2009, 7:19 pm

Greypatch wrote:have some photos of the old pitch lake with same will post tomorrow

see the buckets

old lake remember the lake was higher than the road eh...

now it is way below road level..

also la brea was a massive pine field

Postby Greypatch » September 16th, 2009, 7:22 pm

One more a tourism booklet (me thinks)

Peanut Punch

Postby Peanut Punch » September 16th, 2009, 7:43 pm

Cjruckus wrote:Important Years found on Google:

1498 - Christopher Columbus claims Trinidad for Spain
1592 - Spanish settle in Trinidad and retain possession for two centuries
1797 - Trinidad is captured by British
1814 - Tobago is ceded to the British
1834 - Slavery is abolished in Trinidad
1845 - Indian indentured immigration begins; program lasts until 1917
1888 - Tobago is joined to Trinidad as a single Crown Colony
1956 - Trinidad and Tobago achieves self-government
1962 - Trinidad and Tobago is granted independence
1976 - Trinidad and Tobago is named a republic
1980 – Tobago House of Assembly is established

1498 - Christopher Columbus claims Trinidad for Spain
Seizes lands from Amerindians natives

1592 - Spanish settle in Trinidad and retain possession for two centuries
Slowly but surely killing the Amerindian population

1797 - Trinidad is captured by British
1814 - Tobago is ceded to the British
Came to rape the country's resources & finish what the spaniards started

1834 - Slavery is abolished in Trinidad
1845 - Indian indentured immigration begins; program lasts until 1917
Cheap labour & exploitation

1888 - Tobago is joined to Trinidad as a single Crown Colony
1956 - Trinidad and Tobago achieves self-government
1962 - Trinidad and Tobago is granted independence
Not really, especially if the privy council pokes their nose into our a affairs regularly

1976 - Trinidad and Tobago is named a republic
Republic Definition: A state in which the sovereign power resides in the whole body of the people, and is exercised by representatives elected by them; a commonwealth. Cf. Democracy, :?

1980 – Tobago House of Assembly is established.