The Religion Discussion

ITR

Postby ITR » September 8th, 2009, 6:12 pm

yes i do, but all i am saying is people need to believe in something thats why they created God. Whether there is a God or not it doesn't matter to me because people will still be dying and killing etc.
Watch Penn and Teller - the bible is BS.

The fact of the matter is people believe in God for whatever their reasons and some don't.

I was reading that a couple's child was sick with diabetes and they said they not carrying her to doctor cause they want God to heal her. She died. that's a fine example of how people take it too far in believing.
Last edited by ITR on September 8th, 2009, 6:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.

QG

Postby QG » September 8th, 2009, 6:13 pm

nareshseep wrote:
Razkal wrote:
chris600 wrote:just being able to wake every morning and breathe is enuf 2 prove that god exist------

hmm...never thought about that, such compelling evidence. according to my calculations, this should also prove, santa claus, the easter bunny and the tooth fairy all exist.

lol 1point

I can strongly say that SANTA CLAUSE never did anything for me :lol:

Postby MG Man » September 8th, 2009, 6:48 pm

larafan wrote:MG Man,

if they only knew u weer a pundit's son eh...

shhhhhhhh
wtf wrong wid you man?

Postby cinco » September 8th, 2009, 6:50 pm

shhhhhhhh
wtf wrong wid you man?

HA
you have to be a god fearing man to drive a british relic :lol: :lol:

Postby MG Man » September 8th, 2009, 6:56 pm

cinco wrote:

shhhhhhhh
wtf wrong wid you man?

HA

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
nope..............religious folk can't begin to even dream the kind of faith I have in reaching home wouhout the iad of a wrecker :!:

Postby bluefete » September 8th, 2009, 6:57 pm

Nati - Welcome to the discussion.

Humes & Illuminati: I suppose that people who do not walk away from accidents have poor reflexes caused by being on the wrong end of the evolutionary chain or did not change brakes, tyres and suspension parts prior to the accident.

I also suppose that it is the absolute beauty of evolution that has caused us to evolve on a planet with the absolutely right temperatures for human, animal and plant existence. This planet also happened to evolve precisely 93 million miles from the sun to facilitate this event.

It is truly a beauty of evolution that, so far as we know, there are no other available life forms (whatever that may be) that we have been able to discover in other parts of the universe (Unless, Nati, you all are holding something back from us). Angels do not count because, like God, they do not exist, for the logical mind.

A thought is not observable until it becomes a reality. A brainwave shows brain activity not thoughts.

Razkal:
- Free choice is a wonderful thing. It allows us to mock that which we do not believe.

The "mind control manual" offers valuable advice for living and facing challenges in life. It also offers financial advice, which if followed, can make you relatively well off (This is not a plug for any preacher).

I still encourage people to read their mind control manuals and not take on what the Priests, Pundits & Imams tell them.

Is this life really all there is? We are born, live, suffer, die and that is it?

The Logical mind would say - 'We do not know."

If the Bible or the Qu'ran or the Vedas/Gita are story books then archaeology would not validate what is recorded in them.

Pontius Pilate was a Roman governor in the story book called the Bible. Yet it was not until 1961 that the first "proof" of his existence was found by archaeologists.

The story book also states that Mt. Sinai is in the land of Midian/Madian which is in Saudi Arabia. This is not the present reality. Constantine's wife, Helena, decreed that Mt. Sinai should be somewhere in Israel next to Mt. Catherine. This place cannot hold 600,000 plus people all at once.

In the late 1970's, Ron Wyatt (who has been discredited because his discoveries would cause a paradigmatic shift in tradition) went to Jabal-al-Lawz in Saudi Arabia and found remarkable evidence that Mt. Sinai is located there.

Unlike evolutionary thinking, God is very precise. He gives evidence and all we have to do is follow the trail. I re-iterate that God and Science work perfectly together.

Postby cinco » September 8th, 2009, 6:58 pm

cinco wrote:

shhhhhhhh
wtf wrong wid you man?

HA

nope..............religious folk can't begin to even dream the kind of faith I have in reaching home wouhout the iad of a wrecker :!:

well according to these guys its a good thing your dad is a holy man or else you wouldnt even make it out the driveway :lol:

yuh know by saying you have faith in reaching home they gonna jump on yuh again

Postby MG Man » September 8th, 2009, 7:03 pm

u think I bothered?
jed while dem man ventin hot air outta dey panties, I happily installin brakes in meh car for dex on Sunday
u can't offend the beliefs of a man with no beliefs :lol: :lol: :lol:
and as for daddy, he pay for meh license last year, does put ah roof over meh head, hopefully he go pay for meh rent in uwi when ah start, and he buy meh car for me, so I does tolerate he pujassness

Postby buzz » September 8th, 2009, 7:09 pm

cuz him get blank from ah lodge he lookin fuh sumn to believe in?

confused ppl oui :arrow:

Humes

Postby Humes » September 8th, 2009, 7:10 pm

bluefete wrote:Nati - Welcome to the discussion.

Humes & Illuminati: I suppose that people who do not walk away from accidents have poor reflexes caused by being on the wrong end of the evolutionary chain or did not change brakes, tyres and suspension parts prior to the accident.

Some accidents are fatal, some aren't. Just because an accident looks terrible from the outside doesn't mean the inside of the car crumpled in a way that would kill someone. Just because the impact is hard doesn't mean the person inside the car hit some part of their body that would cause them to die.

It has nothing to do with evolution. You're building strawmen arguments to prove your points.

I also suppose that it is the absolute beauty of evolution that has caused us to evolve on a planet with the absolutely right temperatures for human, animal and plant existence. This planet also happened to evolve precisely 93 million miles from the sun to facilitate this event.

I don't see what's so difficult to understand about this. You're putting the cart before the horse.

Life did not influence the planet's environment. The planet's environment influenced life. Life developed around what it had to work with...and all it had to work with on this planet is what's been on this planet over millenia.

You're acting as if the requirements for life existed before, and this planet just happened to get it right. No...life just happened to get it right.

Postby bluefete » September 8th, 2009, 7:16 pm

bluefete wrote:Nati - Welcome to the discussion.

Life did not influence the planet's environment. The planet's environment influenced life. Life developed around what it had to work with...and all it had to work with on this planet is what's been on this planet over millenia.

You're acting as if the requirements for life existed before, and this planet just happened to get it right. No...life just happened to get it right.

This does not jive with what the scientists say. According to most recent "theory", life started in outer space with its building blocks contained in a comet that smashed into the earth.

If life developed by itself, what was the spark?

Why don't you rational thinkers make up your minds about how life really started?

Postby bluefete » September 8th, 2009, 7:18 pm

buzz wrote:cuz him get blank from ah lodge he lookin fuh sumn to believe in?

confused ppl oui :arrow:

Buzz, if this falls in my plate, sorry. I was never invited to join. And never will be. They just seem to stay away from me. :cry: :cry: :cry:

Humes

Postby Humes » September 8th, 2009, 7:20 pm

bluefete wrote:It is truly a beauty of evolution that, so far as we know, there are no other available life forms (whatever that may be) that we have been able to discover in other parts of the universe (Unless, Nati, you all are holding something back from us). Angels do not count because, like God, they do not exist, for the logical mind.

Evolution has nothing to do with the discovery of life on other planets. It has only to do with the development of life on this one.

Please get your facts straight.

A thought is not observable until it becomes a reality. A brainwave shows brain activity not thoughts.

Brain activity comprises thoughts, bluefete. You see brain activity, you see thoughts. Seeing them doesn't mean you're able to read them, but it's still tons more evidence of the existence of thoughts than the evidence of God's existence, which is zip.

Unlike evolutionary thinking, God is very precise. He gives evidence and all we have to do is follow the trail. I re-iterate that God and Science work perfectly together.

bluefete, you're contradicting yourself, brother. If God were precise, we wouldn't have to follow any trail. We'd have the answers plain and simple.

If God were precise, the religious texts wouldn't be open to interpretation. If God were precise, there'd only be one religious text, or all religious texts would say the same thing. If God were precise, spiritual experience wouldn't be subjective.

The existence of correct statements in religious texts doesn't mean everything in them is correct.

Humes

Postby Humes » September 8th, 2009, 7:27 pm

bluefete wrote:This does not jive with what the scientists say. According to most recent "theory", life started in outer space with its building blocks contained in a comet that smashed into the earth.

If life developed by itself, what was the spark?

Why don't you rational thinkers make up your minds about how life really started?

bluefete, you're getting it wrong yet again.

That doesn't speculate that this planet's life forms began in space...that's very misleading. It suggests that debris from space that landed on Earth contained the elements that reacted with this planet's environment to form the very earliest, microscopic forms of life.

Another important thing: What you're talking about is not a scientific theory. A scientific theory is based on a wealth of evidence, and not just speculation. It has to be proved in some way, not just postulated. People tend to mix up the "theory" we use in everyday language with the one in scientific jargon.

Your final sentence is really kinda pointless. No rational thinker is pretending to have all the answers. It's not up to scientists to "make up their minds" about the answer...it's up to them to research, experiment and observe until they find the most sensible answer.
Last edited by Humes on September 8th, 2009, 7:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.

weedja2

Postby weedja2 » September 8th, 2009, 7:29 pm

These story books were wrote to control man.. end of story. Only way to prove is to go back in time, you cannot so shut allyuh C**t,, These stories are exaggerations of what really happened. yes there may be a jesus, mohammed, you can likened it to Michael jackson If he had made a religion he would have a lot of followers. People are always looking for something to believe in, looking for a brotherhood hence lodges, sports clubs, religion same blasted f*****g thing.

Postby bluefete » September 8th, 2009, 7:45 pm

Humes: I like your rationalisations. They make much sense. Unfortunately, they are not always accurate.

God is precise. Precisely because the answers are given to us plain and simple. What is so hard to understand about the 10 Commandments or the teachings of the Qu'ran.

Thou shalt not kill, steal, commit adultery, worship images & statues, covet (mako & want) your neighbour's property of all kinds (including wife, eh). Honour your father and mother.

How much more simple do you want it?

"Where wast thou when I laid the foundations of the earth? Declare, if thou hast understanding who hath laid the measures thereof, if thou knowest? or who hath stretched the line upon it?" Job 38: 4-5

"Have the gates of death been opened unto thee? Or hast thou seen the doors of the shadow of death?" Job 38:17

""Canst thou bind the sweet influence of Pleiades, or loose the bands of Orion? Canst thou bring forth Mazzaroth in his season? Or canst thou guide Arcturus with his sons? Knowest thou the ordinances of heaven?" Job 38:31-33

"Gavest thou the goodly wings unto the peacocks? Or wings and feathers unto the ostrich? Which leaveth her eggs in the earth, and warmeth them in dust, and forgetteth that the foot may crush them, or hat the wild beast may break them." Job 39:13-15

Postby buzz » September 8th, 2009, 7:46 pm

him ah religious fanatic

diaz y he bashin d lodge dem

Humes

Postby Humes » September 8th, 2009, 7:47 pm

The ironic thing about this debate is the way some of the faithful keep trying to provide evidence, when religious faith by definition is all about belief without evidence.

The Bible says blessed are those who believe without seeing. If you are truly a believer, you wouldn't be fighting down evidence in the first place.

Conrad

Postby Conrad » September 8th, 2009, 7:48 pm

Humes wrote:The ironic thing about this debate is the way some of the faithful keep trying to provide evidence, when religious faith by definition is all about belief without evidence.

The Bible says blessed are those who believe without seeing. If you are truly a believer, you wouldn't be fighting down evidence in the first place.

Exactly why I left with my statement. People need to learn there will be others with different opinions.

Even in religious circles people go beyond the necessary point to prove their belief.

Postby bluefete » September 8th, 2009, 7:50 pm

Weedja2: Even people who do not believe in God are controlled in one form or another.

Archaeology exists to prove what happened in the past.

Postby bluefete » September 8th, 2009, 7:51 pm

Conrad: Nothing wrong with having different opinions. It leads to healthy debates.

Postby bluefete » September 8th, 2009, 7:52 pm

Humes: Evidence works both ways.

Humes

Postby Humes » September 8th, 2009, 7:54 pm

bluefete wrote:Humes: I like your rationalisations. They make much sense. Unfortunately, they are not always accurate.

God is precise. Precisely because the answers are given to us plain and simple. What is so hard to understand about the 10 Commandments or the teachings of the Qu'ran.

Thou shalt not kill, steal, commit adultery, worship images & statues, covet (mako & want) your neighbour's property of all kinds (including wife, eh). Honour your father and mother.

How much more simple do you want it?

I'd have liked those rules without contradictions before and after them. God says don't kill at one point, then later commands people to kill every living thing in a civilisation.

Presenting one part of the Bible as precise doesn't invalidate all the others that are open to interpretation.

Humes

Postby Humes » September 8th, 2009, 7:55 pm

bluefete wrote:Humes: Evidence works both ways.

Meaning...?

Postby bluefete » September 8th, 2009, 8:14 pm

Good word "Interpretation". That is the cause of the problem. Everyone has a different "interpretaion". We are told to "search" not "interpret".

I too have struggled at times with the amount of God of Israel ordained killings in the Bible and why one nation/people was seemingly favoured over others.

But this is also a double-edged sword. The same people suffered tremendously in WW2 with a generational curse.

Note, however, that the killings lessened as we advanced.

Heck, if it was not for killing, we would not have Christianity, as we know it.

Maybe, that is why today we have so many people across the spectrum killing in God's name.

I think you might like to look at:

http://www.daylightatheism.org/2006/12/ ... -ways.html

Postby MG Man » September 8th, 2009, 8:17 pm

bluefete wrote:
Note, however, that the killings lessened as we advanced.l

really?
you sure about that Jose?

Postby bluefete » September 8th, 2009, 8:24 pm

All in all, I was hoping that more people would have posted their experiences with God but I have been stimulated by the roaring responses from the logical left/centre/right.

They remind me of Doubting Thomas who refused to believe that the Christ had risen from the dead until he was physically able to verify such an occurrence.

He was subsequently told "Thomas, because thou hast seen me, thou hast believed: Blessed are they that have not seen, and yet have believed." John 20:29

Like everything else, it is ours to choose or not.

Postby bluefete » September 8th, 2009, 8:27 pm

bluefete wrote:
Note, however, that the killings lessened as we advanced.l

really?
you sure about that Jose?

That kinda slipped there. I know the history that came with the church expansion was particularly bloody. Thanks.

Mitsubishi Maniac

Postby Mitsubishi Maniac » September 8th, 2009, 8:30 pm

This prolly the best Ched in the history of Chuna......mean that in a good way.......
Good job bluefete........

My $0.20.

Postby bluefete » September 8th, 2009, 8:36 pm

Thanks MM on behalf of all.