Can a A/C Compressor be serviced?

Cardo-MR

Can a A/C Compressor be serviced?

Postby Cardo-MR » September 3rd, 2009, 11:13 am

I just curious as if a Compressor is able to service or not so I will no if to geh a used one.

Postby bluesteel29 » September 3rd, 2009, 11:15 am

yes it can be serviced but sometimes the price to service > used

Cardo-MR

Postby Cardo-MR » September 3rd, 2009, 11:25 am

bluesteel29,thanks........

Postby Hook » September 3rd, 2009, 1:36 pm

yeh, but you're taking a gamble...sometimes you end up with a compressor that lasts u a year and then u end up spending twice the money when you could've just rebuilt the old one...then again u can score an almost new compressor that's in much better condition then your own and it lasts...it's just a chance u hafta take

Cardo-MR

Postby Cardo-MR » September 3rd, 2009, 3:47 pm

Hook, Well hook I would agree with you on that........bcuz the 1 i have now is a used 1 & it last for about 4ry until now.
So dats y i considering servicing it if the price better than a new used one.

Who cud service this doh??

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » September 3rd, 2009, 4:20 pm

I know a man who could do it in the POS area Pm me.

Postby Hook » September 3rd, 2009, 5:04 pm

^^^ doh PM nuh man, that could be vital info for ppl who looking at the rebuild option...post it up

kevin310

Postby kevin310 » September 3rd, 2009, 7:13 pm

yeah post it , i need that info

Cardo-MR

Postby Cardo-MR » September 3rd, 2009, 7:44 pm

yuh unda stand.......buh i go still pm

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » September 3rd, 2009, 8:53 pm

Sorry fellas no hard feelings i didnt have time to type out all this that time.

Name: Steven
#: 758-6161

Location: On ariapita ave. opposite adam smith square, next to the food court.

If he ask who send you tell him someone online.

Tell me how it went.

I dont know how much he will charge but he is very reasonable and has a ton of clients from mercedez to nissan.

Postby Hook » September 3rd, 2009, 9:01 pm

nice....will take note of this

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » September 3rd, 2009, 10:54 pm

The coil can be rewired, the oil can be changed and the bearing. Before doing all that see if it is pumping good, this can be done by turing the pulley and looking in to the discharge you will see the port open and close, but listen for the boping sound which will indicate it is pumping.

rjaggs

Postby rjaggs » September 23rd, 2009, 12:57 pm

i recently rewired my a/c compressor and changed the pulley bearing, the a/c worked for a while and then the bearing started making noise again.....i think the problem with replacing the bearing is that the a/c ppl didn't take the time to set the bearing in place properly causing it to be under strain....

Cardo-MR

Postby Cardo-MR » September 23rd, 2009, 3:38 pm

Well I got my condenser repaired,dryer changed & A/C gased up........everytng working well...........BUT....in traffic it go start to blow a lil hot den geh back cold....& i gehn a lil jump in d idle.......

If the a/c fan not spinning fast as it supposed to cud this cause d temp change?

Postby Hook » September 23rd, 2009, 3:44 pm

^^^ yup

some systems are designed to work the fan at different speeds (2 or 3 in most cases) to suit how much cooling is needed...it may be possible that one of the speeds isn't working...mine is a 2speed fan, but I had it wired to the highest

miniray

Postby miniray » September 23rd, 2009, 4:16 pm

just jumpin in here...yess fans that support systems that carry r134a gas, spin at higher speeds. Two speeds in most cases are, low for radiator cooling and the higher for the a/c. Get that fan speed sorted out, if u dont it can cause high pressure lines to blow off. If after checkin the fan the prob continues, u would want to check the expansion valve(frequent solution to the problem).

Better yet there is a guy that does real good work in central. Stop by and let him check the system again, its free. Did some impressive work for me in the past, his #797-8466

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » September 23rd, 2009, 4:27 pm

rjaggs,
same things happened to me.

djblademan

Postby djblademan » September 23rd, 2009, 10:01 pm

mmy ac ever since i bought the car (used) use to jus cut off while stand still in traffic & blow normal breeze. But if i switch off & start back & rev & stuff it will go back cold again, & when driving it works perfectly cold.
Until yesterday LUNCH TIME!! it jus stopped working & ah mean i out it on while driving & it blowing hot & i noticed the breeze coming out was a kinda burning smell, but jus for a lil while & i even switched off jus like i use to do & it still not working, sometimes I would hear the compressor come on & then sometimes not. & i went by the ppl in curepe after puff n stuff & they said the compressor going & it got ceaed up or something so & he said it go cost $1150 to do up WITH my new compressor.

Any advice or opinions ppl? do i really need a new compressor, can it be fixed ? Where can i get a new one (ae100/ 4afe engine) & is that a good price to install & put in & gas up etc or watever they hadda do?

??? :( ???