Question on synthetic oils

Postby SR » May 9th, 2004, 9:08 pm

Why doesnt new car manufacturers recomend synthetic oil for thier vehicles??
i am not talking about exotic cars but general passenger vehicles
if u look in the owner's manual there is nothing about recomending synthetic oil
is there a reason for this???

cheese pie

Postby cheese pie » May 9th, 2004, 9:44 pm

possibly because it expensive :?:

Auto_Style

synthetic oils

Postby Auto_Style » May 9th, 2004, 9:52 pm

Well, there's a couple of reasons for this.

One of the main reasons is -cost- Synthetic Oils almost double the cost of regular oil.

Also, it's tough already to get folks to change their normal oil at 3K miles and the lure of synthetics running for 5K+ miles might overwhelm users to into thinking they can really run longer than and risk ruining their engine.

Also, synthrtic oils works well in engines where there is no leaks or busted gaskets etc. Therefore manufacturers cannot afford to take that risk that everyone will keep their engines at the very least in normal condition without having many claims that synthetic oil ruined their engine.

But over the life of your engine synthetics oils comes out ahead for the owner. If you can afford it, go synthetic.

Mini

Postby Mini » May 9th, 2004, 11:57 pm

don't quote me on this... but I think the Honda Motor Oil is made by Mobil... so it might just be a synthetic or at least a blend.

DIESELTRINI

Postby DIESELTRINI » May 10th, 2004, 12:14 am

Actually, if I'm not mistaken, quite a few high performance cars are factory recommended to run on Mobil 1 only. Have to check that for sure though.

Auto_Style

synthetic oils

Postby Auto_Style » May 10th, 2004, 11:42 am

Well, given the properties of synthetic oils, if a maunfacturer has synthetic or a blend of it in the vehicle, then they would have to let ALL their customers know so that they don't use a 'regular' blend.

You cannot mix the two types of oils during your oil changes. You cannot run synthetic now and next oil change use a regular oil.

That's why manufacturers use regular oil and let the owner(s) make that decision to upgrade to synthetic.

Sheldon.

Postby Dave » May 10th, 2004, 11:48 am

You cannot mix the two types of oils during your oil changes. You cannot run synthetic now and next oil change use a regular oil.

why, i do this all the time with no adverse effects
Ppl always say so but i wanna know why?

DIESELTRINI

Postby DIESELTRINI » May 10th, 2004, 12:50 pm

AFAIK this is untrue... I have never seen it written that you cannot mix syn and conventional oils. An old mechanic rumour.

DIESELTRINI

Postby DIESELTRINI » May 10th, 2004, 1:47 pm

Good enough for AMG to use exclusively... good enough for me.

Quoted from article... "Mercedes AMG installs Mobil 1 as factory fill and recommended service fill in all its vehicles."

http://www.exxonmobil.com/Corporate/New ... 201003.asp

Postby SR » May 10th, 2004, 9:05 pm

you fellas not getting my point
if synthetic oil is better than conventional oil wouldnt a manufacturer recomend it or use it in their engines as part of the marketing strategy as their engines will last longer ..........
or have we all been brainwashed by the marketing strategy of the companies that make synthetic oils into thinking that they are better for our engines
i know that honda engines require a lighter body oil due to the higher rpms the engine turns
but what is the real benefits of using sythetic oils over conventional oils??
are there any at all especially when u way the costs over regular oil and routine oil and filter changes :?:

Postby ~Vēġó~ » May 10th, 2004, 9:24 pm

if synthetic oil is better than conventional oil wouldnt a manufacturer recomend it or use it in their engines as part of the marketing strategy as their engines will last longer ......

or maybe the faster the engine wears and needs parts the better for them :?

cheese pie

Postby cheese pie » May 10th, 2004, 10:38 pm

conventional oil is a multi million dollar industry, if car manufactures recomended to use fully syntech you could imagine the consequences, well economically at least :?

Postby Hook » May 10th, 2004, 10:38 pm

~˜VëgŲ˜~ wrote:
if synthetic oil is better than conventional oil wouldnt a manufacturer recomend it or use it in their engines as part of the marketing strategy as their engines will last longer ......

or maybe the faster the engine wears and needs parts the better for them :?

^^^ I was thinking that actually...I've understood that for brand new engines and rebuilt ones, that because of it's added heat protection, smaller particle size, added detergents and higher coating/protecting properties, using full synthetic doesn't allow for proper seating of the piston rings/sleeves resulting in a poorly broken-in engine...

however in manufacturing engines, tolerances have become much more strict in recent times and it's no surprise to me that some manufacturers have seemed to have overcome seating issues and recommend using full synthetic right off the assembly line...the ones that either haven't overcome these issues yet or maybe the ones who have inherent issues with the quality of their seals, etc. won't recommend using full synthetic...if u do, then it won't qualify for warranty repairs so use at ur own risk...

VW_Exec

Postby VW_Exec » May 10th, 2004, 10:45 pm

i recently switched over to MOBIL 1 last oil change and i can firmly say...SCREW the manufacturers and their with holding of this stuff...

IT MAKES A difference... :twisted:

i WILL pay the extra $100-$150 every oil change in order to keep my engine running like it is now...i dont think these guys just make idle claims/findings...i think ur engine will tell u the difference...

8)

Postby Hook » May 10th, 2004, 10:55 pm

but when making the switch, is it advisable to use engine flush to get out all the old stuff before filling up with synthetic? or is that a big no-no?

VW_Exec

Postby VW_Exec » May 10th, 2004, 11:20 pm

u can use a blend...synthec blend...like quaker state/castrol in between changes to allow for the switch but i dont think its necessary...

this was my 1st oil change since my last engine install...we started out with reg 20W50 castrol and now im full on MOBIL 1...so i didnt have any flushin issues..

any other thoughts?

:?

Postby ~Vēġó~ » May 11th, 2004, 1:46 am

Hook wrote:but when making the switch, is it advisable to use engine flush to get out all the old stuff before filling up with synthetic? or is that a big no-no?

I don't believe that a flush is necessary........the detergents in your new oil ought to clean out whatever crap.......if desired one can change the new fill before time.

trini_baba

Postby trini_baba » May 11th, 2004, 1:55 am

i agree with mitsu exec...........the performance with fully synthetic oil is something the driver has to experience by himself.........im talking about a higher hp output.......thinner so more lubrication in the tranny.......i have swithced to mobil about 9mths now and i am very pleased............

and SR i guess the manufacturers are more taken up with marketing their respective products they dont give it a second thought about what actually is in the tranny........

Postby ~Vēġó~ » May 11th, 2004, 3:14 am

^^am......engine 8)

Spyrogyra

Postby Spyrogyra » May 11th, 2004, 1:48 pm

It's not a case of which one is better or worse or what, each engine is designed to work with a particular kind of oil. It all has to do with the operating temp of the engine.

Simply put to use a 20W-50 Full Synthetic oil with a set of additives in a GA15 would probably casue it to wear faster than if you used a natural blend. Synthetic oils were designed to protect engines that run at very high tempreatures

Redline has a line of oils that have different weights and thermal properties and some of those oils specify that they are NOT to be used in an engine that runs below 225 F.

Selecting the right oil that suits the operating tempreature of your engine is more important. Please consult your owners manual for further details :lol:

VW_Exec

Postby VW_Exec » May 11th, 2004, 4:16 pm

^^^^

yeh boy VEGA...the baba had meh lost for a second or two dere..

ah hope is ah typo...(repeated twice)....next ting de man think engine oil does lubricate the tranny parts as well....

:shock: :shock: :?

8)

Postby Dave » May 11th, 2004, 4:18 pm

next ting de man think engine oil does lubricate the tranny parts as well....

it doesn't :shock: :lol:

VW_Exec

Postby VW_Exec » May 11th, 2004, 10:15 pm

<---manual tranny

last time i checked..i was using Redline 75W90 gearbox oil and DOT 4 luckeed clutch fluid in my set up...didnt see any MOBIL 1 around...

lol...

oh great swami...please enlighten this pleb...

:shock: :? :? :lol:

DIESELTRINI

Postby DIESELTRINI » May 11th, 2004, 10:22 pm

Mitsu_Exec wrote:^^^^

yeh boy VEGA...the baba had meh lost for a second or two dere..

ah hope is ah typo...(repeated twice)....next ting de man think engine oil does lubricate the tranny parts as well....

:shock: :shock: :?

8)

Maybe he drives a Mini? :shock:

Spyrogyra

Postby Spyrogyra » May 12th, 2004, 7:43 am

^^^^or a lawnmower^^^^

Spyrogyra

Postby Spyrogyra » May 12th, 2004, 7:45 am

Mitsu ! is you I see speeding down through cross crossing this morning and only backfiring ? :lol:

nismodriver

Postby nismodriver » May 12th, 2004, 9:09 am

Mitsu ! is you I see speeding down through cross crossing this morning and only backfiring

Yuh see fire? Whaaa

Postby crazybalhead » May 12th, 2004, 10:22 am

trini_baba wrote:i agree with mitsu exec...........the performance with fully synthetic oil is something the driver has to experience by himself.........im talking about a higher hp output.......thinner so more lubrication in the tranny.......i have swithced to mobil about 9mths now and i am very pleased............

and SR i guess the manufacturers are more taken up with marketing their respective products they dont give it a second thought about what actually is in the tranny........

Your engine and gearbox has the same oil??????????????!!!!!!

That is a ancient mobile if that is the case???!!

DIESELTRINI

Postby DIESELTRINI » May 12th, 2004, 3:35 pm

1999 Mini 1275... engine and gearbox share the same oil... same as back to 1959.

VW_Exec

Postby VW_Exec » May 12th, 2004, 9:18 pm

boy....blasted gas tank level was below 1/4....once dat happen...fuel does surge below marker on the fuel pump..modification quirks nah... and ah does get dat back firin $hit...most likely i was takin a corner or pressed the ex right out...

BUT WHAY U WAS??? all these tuner men hiding out..why u eh slow down and lemme catch up so ah cud say hi? eh?

:? :?

next ting men say ah put ah rotary in de wagon..

8)