Accelaration Problem with AC on

MAZDA People United - it continues here

PROTEGEKID

Accelaration Problem with AC on

Postby PROTEGEKID » July 23rd, 2009, 10:57 am

I'm new to this forum so please bear with me. I own a 2003 Protege 1.6L DOHC Automatic. The problem i'm having is that while driving with AC on if i try to accelerate quickly the car seems to bog down and you can hear and feel it from the engine as if it doesn't want to shift gears. However if i press gas slightly and let the car accelerate gradually then no problem. This only started happening about 2-3 weeks ago. Cleaned injectors, throttle body and air filter (cone), also changed oil. Could this be bad driving habits or a tranny or fuel delivery issue. I would appreciate any ideas or advice i can get.

Postby Strugglerzinc » July 23rd, 2009, 7:18 pm

Tranny not droppin a gear?

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » July 23rd, 2009, 9:07 pm

ok hear de drill 1) check light on yes or no
if yes get it scanned 2)if no then it could be an intermittent problem from your airflow or a/c step up unit

villain

Postby villain » July 23rd, 2009, 9:08 pm

i feel whenever a mazda have a problem you check the 3 trouble makers first....coil pack, cam or crank sensors.....then look elsewhere

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » July 23rd, 2009, 9:12 pm

i agree them is really de three most troublesome on de bj few other parts give so much trouble :evil: :evil:

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » July 23rd, 2009, 10:06 pm

protegekid, you ever change the tranny oil and what is the mileage on the car?
i think is the tranny, a friend of mines had the same problem but was for the 2000 protege which had a defect on the tranny,

good excuse to put in a gearbox!

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » July 23rd, 2009, 10:08 pm

oh yeah if is the tranny.. it can be repaired

PROTEGEKID

Postby PROTEGEKID » July 24th, 2009, 9:39 am

I have changed tranny fluid twice within the past year and also added Wynn's Transgrip. I don't play when it comes to those things. The thing is with the ac off it runs well and i can feel it shifting normally but i'm no mechanic so i'll take it for a diagnostic this weekend and see what happens. Thanks for the input fellas. Oh yes and the mileage is almost 65000 km. Bought the car in 2007 with 23800km on it.

PROTEGEKID

Postby PROTEGEKID » July 24th, 2009, 9:44 am

Red Bwoy to answer your question ,no i'm not seeing any CEL. This may sound like a stupid question but where is light located on the instrument panel ?

villain

Postby villain » July 24th, 2009, 6:03 pm

when the ac on you putting load on the car which mean it needs more power to run...so check electrical stuff ...coil packs , cam and crank sensor....just my opinion

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » July 24th, 2009, 8:50 pm

or as redbwoy said earlier check the step up unit . any ac unit place could check that for u

damieG82

Postby damieG82 » July 25th, 2009, 10:08 am

^^ yea, sounds like the step up unit... when working properly it increases the throttle slighty to compensate for the load of the a/c compressor working. Thus when it not working, the extra load can 'bog down' the engine, and you'd probably have to floor the X when overtaking etc to attain the desired speed... might just need a clean out

Postby cinco » July 25th, 2009, 12:33 pm

villain wrote:i feel whenever a mazda have a problem you check the 3 trouble makers first....coil pack, cam or crank sensors.....then look elsewhere

I still in awe of the problems you all get with this
ZM 1.6 136000+ miles now
changed plug wires and coil packs @ 110000 just as a precaution
stock cam and crank sensor
changed water pump and timing belt as preventative at 104000
changed alternator at 135000 because music killed it ( had about 20000 miles with music in it)
changed rear wheel bearings
right now all it needs is new shocks.

anyone tried the USDM cam and crank sensor? my car is usdm and no worries.

Postby Strugglerzinc » July 25th, 2009, 5:19 pm

hong kong phooey wrote:or as redbwoy said earlier check the step up unit . any ac unit place could check that for u

i am assuming you are referring to the idle air control valve?

villain

Postby villain » July 25th, 2009, 11:33 pm

cinco wrote:
villain wrote:i feel whenever a mazda have a problem you check the 3 trouble makers first....coil pack, cam or crank sensors.....then look elsewhere

I still in awe of the problems you all get with this
ZM 1.6 136000+ miles now
changed plug wires and coil packs @ 110000 just as a precaution
stock cam and crank sensor
changed water pump and timing belt as preventative at 104000
changed alternator at 135000 because music killed it ( had about 20000 miles with music in it)
changed rear wheel bearings
right now all it needs is new shocks.

anyone tried the USDM cam and crank sensor? my car is usdm and no worries.
only problems i got were from my coil packs....same cam and crank sensor, same water pump ect....but where you getting U.S. cam and crank sensors..??

PROTEGEKID

Postby PROTEGEKID » July 27th, 2009, 11:07 am

OK so i took it on Saturday to get it scanned and lo and behold no error codes. The guy who did the scan also said that the maf sensor could be giving trouble intermittently hence the reason no codes appearing yet. Step up unit working as it should. Someone suggested that it could have been a dose of s*@t gas any thoughts ?

villain

Postby villain » July 27th, 2009, 4:15 pm

or fuel pump or cam or crank, or coil....none of these things gives a cel

Postby cinco » July 27th, 2009, 7:48 pm

sounds like a vaccuum leak
and villian i live in the US so i get the parts from the dealer

villain

Postby villain » July 28th, 2009, 7:19 am

oh ok you lucky

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » July 29th, 2009, 9:49 am

hmm this sounds like a plan... cinco you in the states...
*wonders if he would like to send suspension parts in a barell of corn flakes or clothes*

villain

Postby villain » July 29th, 2009, 12:20 pm

really sounds like a plan....but not right now....i winding down with the upgrading...this madza thing getting frustrating... :oops:

Postby cinco » July 29th, 2009, 7:47 pm

hahaha
mazdas247 is my home! outside of 2nr of course

villain

Postby villain » July 29th, 2009, 11:27 pm

but yuh ride is a toyota corolla :mrgreen:

Postby cinco » July 30th, 2009, 12:52 am

ssshhhhh
sold the protege to my cuz i still end up working on it anyway :mrgreen:
only after i do real suspension work to the corolla i am happy with it now

Groovemaster

Re: Accelaration Problem with AC on

Postby Groovemaster » August 13th, 2009, 9:52 pm

PROTEGEKID wrote:I'm new to this forum so please bear with me. I own a 2003 Protege 1.6L DOHC Automatic. The problem i'm having is that while driving with AC on if i try to accelerate quickly the car seems to bog down and you can hear and feel it from the engine as if it doesn't want to shift gears. However if i press gas slightly and let the car accelerate gradually then no problem. This only started happening about 2-3 weeks ago. Cleaned injectors, throttle body and air filter (cone), also changed oil. Could this be bad driving habits or a tranny or fuel delivery issue. I would appreciate any ideas or advice i can get.

Boy mines doin the same ting!!!! I recently changed oil, cleaned my throttle body, egr and just change out my tranny oil to redline (Not flush just drain and refill)
Sometimes u have to floor it to get it goin and someone said feels like the tranny not dropping a gear...true....feels like it tryin to make it in the same gear.
I really felt it when carryin' some foreign family up sando hill with the AC on 2. Talk bout kick down to get up there!!!!
2morrow i'll try clean my MAF and let y'all know if it helps.

FYI my pro doing 61,000kM....seems like once they hit 60 they does give trouble!

Re: Accelaration Problem with AC on

Postby Strugglerzinc » August 14th, 2009, 6:54 am

Groovemaster wrote:
PROTEGEKID wrote:I'm new to this forum so please bear with me. I own a 2003 Protege 1.6L DOHC Automatic. The problem i'm having is that while driving with AC on if i try to accelerate quickly the car seems to bog down and you can hear and feel it from the engine as if it doesn't want to shift gears. However if i press gas slightly and let the car accelerate gradually then no problem. This only started happening about 2-3 weeks ago. Cleaned injectors, throttle body and air filter (cone), also changed oil. Could this be bad driving habits or a tranny or fuel delivery issue. I would appreciate any ideas or advice i can get.

FYI my pro doing 61,000kM....seems like once they hit 60 they does give trouble!

No they dont.

villain

Postby villain » August 14th, 2009, 11:09 am

x2 mine doing almost 110k and it now start....sensors need changing....as i tell protege 2nr on another topic....once you dont interfere with it it will not give trouble....when you modding and driving like a nut..(like me ) you have to expect something to go wrong

Groovemaster

Postby Groovemaster » August 15th, 2009, 2:05 am

Cleaned the MAF today with some electronic cleaner...Noticed a little difference with smooth acceleration but still bogs down with ac on!!!
(Can a problem with the ac cause this?) eg. it need gassing!

villain

Postby villain » August 15th, 2009, 8:14 am

one suggestion check the knock sensor and see if it good...if the black glue thing has started to melt out

Postby Strugglerzinc » August 15th, 2009, 11:41 am

wouldn't the knock sensor cause timing issues even with the a/c off?

Return to “MAZDA”