Car Depreciation in T&T

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » August 7th, 2009, 4:46 pm

My question is...

brand new as alluh puttin it does be park up in dem car park lots for months, maybe years and den they are sold, why when being sold they do not depreciate the selling price... for the amount of months/year as the case maybe it was park up takin sun/rain.... :? :? :?

Postby SmokeyGTi » August 7th, 2009, 10:37 pm

^^ dat eh happening again breds, th amount of new brand vehicles people buying these days.. no car sitting on the lot for long.

nes123

Postby nes123 » August 7th, 2009, 11:19 pm

^^ not counting lifestyle motors of course with the 20,000 unsold vehicles park up in the lot :lol: :lol:

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » August 7th, 2009, 11:46 pm

SR wrote:reduce import duty on new cars and roro and you will see a drop in prices of local used

however new car compnaies continue to put pressure on the roro market as they are feeling the loss of profits

if new car dealers drop thier prices then it will in turn reduce used car prices

so dont blame a seller for trying to get a higher price for thier used car

and as freelander states
you cannot import a used car beyond a certain age which in tunrs makes that "older" model car increase in value for the seller once there is a demand

u wud think that ppl wud figure this on their own .... 8-)

southside crew

Postby southside crew » August 7th, 2009, 11:51 pm

when buying ANY car plz don't buy a SDM car/rem JDM ALL THE WAY!!! trust me know too much ppl suffering with the SDM cars.. the only way half of them working is by using JDM parts..

sweeks

Postby sweeks » August 8th, 2009, 1:46 pm

Bump for a good discussion ...

RORO use to be good but I wouldn't risk it unless it's something I definitely can't get locally. Local used all the way ... low mileage with no accidents and a service history if possible.

Brand new ... if you can afford ... go for it ... and be prepared to pay for it + factory maintenance in order to maintain your warranty. If you can't think over.

Postby RBphoto » August 8th, 2009, 2:05 pm

After my dealings with A certain local car dealership, I have come to the oppinion that car warranty means jack in Trinidad (unless you go to BMW/ Merc etc, people with reputation), and the firm will find a way to make you pay no matter if it was their workmanship that caused something to go wrong. I will not release the name of the firm according to forum rules. Used is the way to go.

That said, I should have bought a Honda.... They have stood behind whole engine head changeouts (CRV eh) for a friend of mine.

stephon290689

Postby stephon290689 » August 8th, 2009, 4:06 pm

i can't afford a car right now i ride the maxi :) just thought you guys should know :)

Postby Gem_in_i » August 8th, 2009, 4:14 pm

Unless you an experienced driver I wud not recommend brand new for first time car owner.

My 1yr old vehicle got depreciated by almost $30K in one year according to Insurance. :roll:

TK!

Postby TK! » August 8th, 2009, 4:29 pm

d goverment ripping all of us off... taxes on cars.. .taxes on gas...

all fuh nought ... cause dey aint doing any wuk to bring de car in but making money on 2 taxes or 3.... ie - motor vehicle tax, import duty and VAT.

and dey not even providing good roads. isnt that what our road tax is for? when las yuh drive on a flawless road .. (in trinidad)... ?