Protege Aftermarket Parts Reviewed

MAZDA People United - it continues here

FullStop

Protege Aftermarket Parts Reviewed

Postby FullStop » July 20th, 2009, 12:12 pm

if you have some aftermarket part on your protege that u'd like to review, this is the place to warn or inform your fellow tuners, just do it.

FullStop

Postby FullStop » July 20th, 2009, 4:52 pm

Centric Ceramic Posi quiet Brake Pads

Paid about 40 USD for these, the fit, finish and quality of these is great, better than any of the pad that i've seen or used before, have used wagner quickstops and mintex pads previously.

Initial bite is better than the quickstops and improves as u drive more and they warm up.

Jeff at tripoint motorsports compared these pads to Hawk HPS and says that they are in fact better all round.

TO answer naresheep, about the rotor eating thing, from what i've read online about them, they do not eat rotors, and i think they are a very reasonably priced street performance pad.

hope this helps
Last edited by FullStop on July 22nd, 2009, 2:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » July 20th, 2009, 5:10 pm

^^ those will not "eat" ur rotors?

mazdamig

Postby mazdamig » July 20th, 2009, 10:19 pm

EBC greenstuff the best. Dont use Silver brake pad its sheit :!:

FullStop

Postby FullStop » July 22nd, 2009, 2:13 pm

, heard recently about titanium/kevlar pads that are really good, looking into it right now.

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » July 23rd, 2009, 10:19 pm

Ok since no one talked about,

Drop springs tein s tech, gives a nice drop about 2", performance wise they are not too stiff at low speeds and at high speed you do not get any excessive bounce. Currently running them with KYB excel g and the performance is great. When paired with tokico hp blues you can expect to be taking the rivulet at 180k (so I have been told), but currently I can take those corners at 120 comfortably.

Zorak I never had tried the racing beat or the mazda speed but judjing from online info, the mazdaspeed should give a more comfy ride while being higher than the teins (ghostbusters probably can confirm this) and the racing beat might be a stiffer, lower, sportier, rugged ride. I am speculating here.
Last edited by nareshseep on July 24th, 2009, 12:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Zorak

Postby Zorak » July 24th, 2009, 9:10 am

heard about those teins, how do they compare to the mazdaspeed or racing beat springs?

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » July 25th, 2009, 1:24 pm

Anyone put aftermarket mounts and bushings in thier car, how does it perform?

There was a post on ttuner on how to use your old bushings add polyrethane to it and something that was not to stiff but comfortable.

villain

Postby villain » July 25th, 2009, 11:42 pm

nareshseep wrote:Ok since no one talked about,

Drop springs tein s tech, gives a nice drop about 2", performance wise they are not too stiff at low speeds and at high speed you do not get any excessive bounce. Currently running them with KYB excel g and the performance is great. When paired with tokico hp blues you can expect to be taking the rivulet at 180k (so I have been told), but currently I can take those corners at 120 comfortably.

Zorak I never had tried the racing beat or the mazda speed but judjing from online info, the mazdaspeed should give a more comfy ride while being higher than the teins (ghostbusters probably can confirm this) and the racing beat might be a stiffer, lower, sportier, rugged ride. I am speculating here.

you can go around mt hope corners comfortable at 150 and if you push it 160/165.....and this is staying in your own lane and not sliding across....tien with tokico blue shocks....the ride is ok but you will feel every bump but not bouncy, which is a good and bad thing....it tends to leave the road when you hit a significant bump...i have experienced this.....for our roads if you using tien springs use the gold instead of the green....

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » August 5th, 2009, 9:41 am

that rel good man!

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » August 5th, 2009, 9:43 am

nareshseep wrote:Anyone put aftermarket mounts and bushings in thier car, how does it perform?

There was a post on ttuner on how to use your old bushings add polyrethane to it and something that was not to stiff but comfortable.

http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... lyurethane

sport20

Postby sport20 » August 5th, 2009, 3:11 pm

Since were on the topic of suspension here, I'll add my $0.02.

I have had the tein "gold" springs or the H-Tech with a set of Tokico HP Blues for about 3 years now. In my opinion, the ride is very comfortable. Even passengers are surprised that the ride is so smoothe.

I noticed a significan't difference the minute I had them on and took them for a test drive.

About the corners at mt hope, I can go round those corners at about 160/170. I don't think I've ever pushed them to the limit there because I try to keep my eyes on the road while doing those kind of numbers when I'm in that area, which is not very often mind you.

I do know for sure though that the corners on the highway heading south, I can make with ease doing 180 while hugging my lane like a pair of nut huggers on your crotch.

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » August 5th, 2009, 5:19 pm

sport20 wrote:Since were on the topic of suspension here, I'll add my $0.02.

I have had the tein "gold" springs or the H-Tech with a set of Tokico HP Blues for about 3 years now. In my opinion, the ride is very comfortable. Even passengers are surprised that the ride is so smoothe.

I noticed a significan't difference the minute I had them on and took them for a test drive.

About the corners at mt hope, I can go round those corners at about 160/170. I don't think I've ever pushed them to the limit there because I try to keep my eyes on the road while doing those kind of numbers when I'm in that area, which is not very often mind you.

I do know for sure though that the corners on the highway heading south, I can make with ease doing 180 while hugging my lane like a pair of nut huggers on your crotch.

hahah nut huggers on your crotch :D :D boy we ent see u long time on d forum aye pass for u for mazda run? we could always cut your car into a front half and make a tube chassis with 2 back wheel sticking out no back to get hit with a steel bumper :D :D

sport20

Postby sport20 » August 5th, 2009, 10:34 pm

^^ LOL! i like that one!

ImamurA

Postby ImamurA » August 6th, 2009, 6:28 am

EBC greenstuff the best. Dont use Silver brake pad its sheit

ebc greenstuff its sheit...project mu :mrgreen: !!!

Postby j.o.e » August 8th, 2009, 8:14 pm

Anyone here installed the Tokico HP suspension kit?(Tokico Springs and Hp Blues). Just ordered them from protegegarage,reviews were good but hopin for some trinituner verification.

Postby Strugglerzinc » August 9th, 2009, 9:11 am

after you bought them? :lol:

Postby j.o.e » August 9th, 2009, 9:55 am

yeah I get your point, :oops: ....but online research suggests their good and tokico is pretty well trusted but would be nice if someone down here confirmed they use the springs too..after all pretty much everyone endorses the hp blues(shocks) on their protege

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » August 16th, 2009, 8:15 am

ok fellas i've been secretly trying out something over the past few weeks i can now report that the Toyota 1zz 1.8 MaF works wonders on a bj I've had no issues none whatsoever no hesitation no stuttering except with the 1.6 mafs but the 1.8 i actually getting my car revving about 2000- 3000 rpm more than the stock mazda mafs

villain

Postby villain » August 16th, 2009, 3:04 pm

yeah you could have asked me...i'd tell you lol...i used to switch my mother own with mine.....but the one to get, so i read is the maf from the 2000 celica...that one supposed to be the best ... :mrgreen:
also Subaru own suppose to work on ours too

mazdamig

Postby mazdamig » August 16th, 2009, 4:00 pm

ImamurA, project mu is for a garage queen like your roti. :fist:

Groovemaster

Postby Groovemaster » August 31st, 2009, 1:22 am

What about cradle bushings? I buy the oem from SS and they last about 4-6 months (C/bay roads real bad). What kind do u use?

'Teen

Postby 'Teen » August 31st, 2009, 10:16 pm

Got suspension technique's bushings for my protege.....running sweet now, no problems whatsoever. These I got from the the alignment man in Arouca just before the silver bridge ( cost $500 tho). If I'm not mistaken u can bring them in from Australia...I can look up the name of the company for anyone interested. In the meantime I'm checking out various sites to see if I can get group buy discounts. Anyone interested can pm me...will keep looking and inform

villain

Postby villain » September 1st, 2009, 8:17 am

interested
and any sort of performance bushings for the protege

'Teen

Postby 'Teen » September 1st, 2009, 9:54 pm

Villian,
Will check it out for u (and any others interested)

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » September 2nd, 2009, 4:54 am

/\/\/\/\/\/\/\ count me in

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » September 2nd, 2009, 11:35 am

make that x3

FullStop

Postby FullStop » March 9th, 2010, 8:13 am

stay tuned for a review and some installed pics.

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » March 9th, 2010, 8:30 am

red bwoy wrote:ok fellas i've been secretly trying out something over the past few weeks i can now report that the Toyota 1zz 1.8 MaF works wonders on a bj I've had no issues none whatsoever no hesitation no stuttering except with the 1.6 mafs but the 1.8 i actually getting my car revving about 2000- 3000 rpm more than the stock mazda mafs

you reving to 9k now?

mazdamig

Postby mazdamig » March 9th, 2010, 11:14 am

ghostbusters,u get a voltage stabilizer

Return to “MAZDA”