Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

djblademan

Postby djblademan » July 17th, 2009, 1:34 pm

SHARIFF, x2???? :shock:

norstar jus keep a black ghost fish in yuh 10/20 g...that would be sweet by himself in there & you can tame him like mines too...let him eat from yuh hand 7 hide in yuh hand etc...plus its amazing to watch!

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » July 17th, 2009, 2:13 pm

^A pair of Ghost would be too much? Possibly a pair of Clown Loaches too??

Ah looking for Khuli Loaches too.

Fishman

Postby Fishman » July 17th, 2009, 3:05 pm

norstar2k: take a look at this website. It gives you recommended tank sizes for housing different types of freshwater fish:
http://www.liveaquaria.com/product/prod ... pcatid=857

You can use this to help guide with your fish selection. A fish may look like it can fit into the aquarium, but different fishes have different needs when it comes to swimming space, room for growth etc. Also be careful with putting too many fish in your aquarium, because overpopulating will only lead to disease and death.

kss2801

Postby kss2801 » July 17th, 2009, 7:35 pm

to the saltwater people, where do you get ur live rock? bought or collected? price?

Fishman

Postby Fishman » July 17th, 2009, 9:06 pm

I bought my own from Santoo. Can't remember what I paid for it though.

rmtuner

Postby rmtuner » July 17th, 2009, 9:53 pm

I does buy from Raj.
Also ah does collect from sea and seed it with existing live rock.

kss2801

Postby kss2801 » July 18th, 2009, 10:18 am

i heard that raj had. where do u collect? how can u tell which rock is suitable? i read that argonite is one of the best base rocks but i don't know if it's available here.

Fishman, where is santoo?

madman.devin

Postby madman.devin » July 18th, 2009, 1:35 pm

I got my liverock by raj.

Anyone has a running refugium ?
I looking for some chaeto

Fishman

Postby Fishman » July 18th, 2009, 1:38 pm

I am running one, but I need chaeto also.

Kss: he is in blue range

kss2801

Postby kss2801 » July 18th, 2009, 2:12 pm

anyone has a number for raj/santoo ?

naffonso

F.S. (Fake Coral) Elephant Ear Mushroom (Salt/ Fresh Water)

Postby naffonso » July 20th, 2009, 10:49 am

This coral ornament is safe for all aquariums--freshwater or marine. It is attached to a weighted resin-rock base to ensure "drift-free" placement in any aquatic substrate.
The colour is closer to pink than the red shown in the pic.

Price - $350
Contact Nicholas @ 792-0483

djblademan

Postby djblademan » July 20th, 2009, 11:45 am

fellas i have a project to do for a chcik...
its gonna be a trutle tank tho...
i wanna hear wat allyuh have in mind...tho i know wat i have already planned out...jus wanna get some creativity...
I'll post some pics of it nex monday when i complete it...

JoeZwalez

Postby JoeZwalez » July 20th, 2009, 1:59 pm

Some freshwater in allyuh pweffun...

Gold Sev pair with eggs (on the clay pot!)

Jack Dempsey pair with fry...

djblademan

Postby djblademan » July 20th, 2009, 2:23 pm

nice JoeZwalez, Sevs are somewhat a task to pair off.... they look nice tho....keep us posted & updated to the sucess in bringing em up... wat about the discus? those Adults are wat age & size exactly?

JoeZwalez

Postby JoeZwalez » July 20th, 2009, 2:37 pm

Yeah blade.. Sevs take forever to pair up...like dey not sure who is who!!

Disaster with the discus pair in the post...apparently neighbour sprayed something or other and when i got home the pair (pic) were dead! I aint forget to cuss dat! I have another pair that I had moved to a different location and they are ok...i wouldnt even begin to count that loss in terms of cash.

I am almost ready to do a full relocate. I have 4 adults on order and we will see how that goes. Keep dem pics coming pple. We need we own section on d forum!!!!!

djblademan

Postby djblademan » July 20th, 2009, 2:43 pm

boy ah sorry to hear that... yuh should tell the neigbour wat loss he caused you... thats unfair ma... & discus too! steups!...

JoeZwalez

Postby JoeZwalez » July 20th, 2009, 3:55 pm

Nah well i aint take dat jus so...next day i fire up de ole power saw and faak up he two julie mango tree that has been causing me a headache for a while now! I leave all de branches in he yard right dey....next on de list is dem fowl he have that does be sheitting all ova de place. Leg and thigh in he MC!!!!

ziggy_dappa

Postby ziggy_dappa » July 20th, 2009, 9:54 pm

Anyone has a running refugium ?
I looking for some chaeto

i have some macro algae in my refugium that i got from a guy with a reef tank, he said it was cheato, not to sure bout that though, buts it catchin on in there.

madman.devin

Postby madman.devin » July 20th, 2009, 10:08 pm

The chaeto has small bulbs like on it.

The calerpa is pretty dangerous and i doh really want to add it to my tank,
check some pics online and see what u have.

Fishman

Postby Fishman » July 21st, 2009, 8:02 am

Ziggy, if you have any extra to spare let me know :wink:
If not can you tell me where I can get, provided it is chaeto?

You can check the pictures here: http://www.fishforums.net/index.php?showtopic=185309

Postby Razkal » July 21st, 2009, 11:43 am

JoeZwalez wrote:Yeah blade.. Sevs take forever to pair up...like dey not sure who is who!!

Disaster with the discus pair in the post...apparently neighbour sprayed something or other and when i got home the pair (pic) were dead! I aint forget to cuss dat! I have another pair that I had moved to a different location and they are ok...i wouldnt even begin to count that loss in terms of cash.

I am almost ready to do a full relocate. I have 4 adults on order and we will see how that goes. Keep dem pics coming pple. We need we own section on d forum!!!!!

judgement fyahball :|

that's hard man...same thing happened to me with four imported (myself) halfmoon bettas (one all yellow and one all black!!)...i can only imagine the caliber of vexation u experienced with dead discii :x

will be getting some juveniles in hopes that they eventually give me two breeding pairs, i'll post up some more info on the fish ($, size, variety etc..) when the guy makes contact with me again..

nice severums btw

weapon-X

Postby weapon-X » July 21st, 2009, 11:56 am

Quick question for the oscar keepers. I have a very active tiger oscar, (literally jumping out of the water and hitting her head on the cover.)

She now has a 3 scales missing from above her head, that now have holes in them. What are the holes about? and what can I do about it?

JoeZwalez

Postby JoeZwalez » July 21st, 2009, 4:25 pm

weapon-X wrote: a very active tiger oscar, (literally jumping out of the water and hitting her head on the cover.)

......3 scales missing from above her head, that now have holes in them. What are the holes about? and what can I do about it?

X, I would assume (and a pic would help here) that the missing scales/abrasions got infected. The holes could be as a result of "Hole-in-the-head" disease which is a common ailment among cichlids. i would recommend a light salt dosage plus a good dose of methylene blue after 24 hrs and a 50% water change. There is a product on the market for this disease I will get that info for you and post it when i get home.

I would suggest a mesh above the tank (like the greenhouse mesh or stuff for fern pots that they sell in plantshops). Alternatively you can build a higher cover for the tank

AGENT RORO

Postby AGENT RORO » July 21st, 2009, 4:39 pm

Razkal wrote:
JoeZwalez wrote:Yeah blade.. Sevs take forever to pair up...like dey not sure who is who!!

judgement fyahball :|

that's hard man...same thing happened to me with four imported (myself) halfmoon bettas (one all yellow and one all black!!)...i can only imagine the caliber of vexation u experienced with dead discii :x

will be getting some juveniles in hopes that they eventually give me two breeding pairs, i'll post up some more info on the fish ($, size, variety etc..) when the guy makes contact with me again..

nice severums btw

Where did you import them from? I was looking at some on aquabid.

chris600

Postby chris600 » July 22nd, 2009, 1:27 pm

these r just a couple pics of my stuff,mostly got kois,..trying to do some selective breeding with the guppies and fighters ..only a couple attempts work so far,...will post pics when they get some more color..also trying a planted tank with help from blademan .....still fighting up.lol

dad's a plumber hence the abundance of pvc fittings,kois an koskarob seem to like them to hide in

finally got permission from mom to digg up the lawn,...thats gonna be the new koi pond after i do some sealing&patching
:)

rmtuner

Postby rmtuner » July 22nd, 2009, 1:46 pm

waayyy!

nice pics dey.
some good kois too.
sellin any? :D

slow323

bio filter

Postby slow323 » July 22nd, 2009, 1:47 pm

francis1979 wrote:anyone has a mechanical / bilogical filter, pump design for a small pond

check these this might help

http://www.skippysstuff.com/biofiltr.htm

http://www.anythingfish.com/images/Ted/ ... Filter.htm

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » July 22nd, 2009, 11:57 pm

yea ppl got a niger trigger fish about 4" to sell...will let him go for $450 or nearest offer....

chris600

Postby chris600 » July 23rd, 2009, 8:45 am

rmtuner wrote:waayyy!

nice pics dey.
some good kois too.
sellin any? :D

thx man...nah not sellin ..i keepin them for my pond out front...i willin to give away the koskarob if you want,...dey causin to much trouble,...i had them with the kois before i got the xtra barrel waz livin nice 4 a couple weeks then dey make mince meat outa my biggest koi :evil: ..i waz tempted to make sum nice fish sanwich with dem ,...buh i giv dem ah bligh..lol

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » July 23rd, 2009, 11:17 am

yea ppl take advantage of d deal...

http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... 92#3664092