wtk: K20A motor oil

Fit, Civic, Integra, CR-V, Accord, Legend - Do NOT post FS or WTB here!!!

neilspeed___

wtk: K20A motor oil

Postby neilspeed___ » June 30th, 2009, 11:10 am

just wanted to know what is the OEM recommeded motor oil for the K20A in a DC5 ITR :?:

Postby r3iXmann » June 30th, 2009, 11:28 am

honda genuine 10w30 for our climate

honda genuine 5w20 for colder countries

neilspeed___

Postby neilspeed___ » June 30th, 2009, 11:36 am

you sure about that bro?...i know the civics use that oil..i was thinking someting synthetic for the K20

praise

Postby praise » June 30th, 2009, 11:52 am

OEM recommeded is exactly what reiXmann states. However, you can also use either 5W30 or 10W30 fully synthetic oil or synthetic blend. Failure to use these recommended products can results in serious engine damage especially to the bearings.

neilspeed___

Postby neilspeed___ » June 30th, 2009, 2:27 pm

thanks

GEAR_HEAD

Postby GEAR_HEAD » June 30th, 2009, 8:40 pm

have amsoil in stock if u r interested :twisted:

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » July 1st, 2009, 7:15 am

^^^^^^^^^ check out this fella i have a few customers who brought the oil from this guy. good price for a good product. :wink:

GEAR_HEAD

Postby GEAR_HEAD » July 2nd, 2009, 11:18 am

Anil_Sooknanan wrote:^^^^^^^^^ check out this fella i have a few customers who brought the oil from this guy. good price for a good product. :wink:

Thanks man 8-)

haydn28

Postby haydn28 » July 2nd, 2009, 10:58 pm

i thought ITR owners does use NP sae 50? :roll:

ingalook

Postby ingalook » July 4th, 2009, 1:47 am

20w50 real safe in a B-series

10w30 is for much colder climates... but Honda men love to use that

I guess the k-series may actually use 10w30... but even the Honda-Tech men say they change to 10w40 in the "summer"

I eh know if allyuh fellas ever drive in Trinidad, but nearly every day here is a blistering "summer" day

Postby r3iXmann » July 4th, 2009, 4:46 am

ingalook wrote:20w50 real safe in a B-series

no eh...

check my hamp filter thread

ingalook wrote:10w30 is for much colder climates... but Honda men love to use that

why would honda engineer and engine/oil that is is only compatible in temperate countries? by that logic,if i use sae 100,i should have 0 problems with breakdown 8-)

oil viscosity has little to do with how fast the oil will actually breakdown...it's just a rating of how much viscosity the oil will have at a certain temp.

:deadhorse:

ingalook

Postby ingalook » July 4th, 2009, 1:38 pm

reiXmann wrote:

oil viscosity has little to do with how fast the oil will actually breakdown...it's just a rating of how much viscosity the oil will have at a certain temp.

Exactly... tack on an extra 15-30 degrees Celsius ambient temp and 20w50 has approximately the same viscosity as 10w30

You could use 100w oil if you really wanted to... and the temperature outside was around 70 degrees Celsius -but you'd be dead

chris1388

Postby chris1388 » July 4th, 2009, 2:32 pm

Amsoil fellas, it is THE best oil in the world proven. Anyone that can prove that wrong i'd like to hear about it

praise

Postby praise » July 4th, 2009, 11:23 pm

chris1388 wrote:Amsoil fellas, it is THE best oil in the world proven. Anyone that can prove that wrong i'd like to hear about it
I agree that Amsoil is good but would not say it is the best. Amsoil 2000 series is better than most other oils but not all Amsoil are the same. They are not truly honest with their adds. If you do a research you would see that only the 2000 series is API certified. They state that it is too expensive to get all amsoil API approved and that they would stand the cost to repair your engine if it fails because of their oil. My question is how are you going to proved that it was amsoil that cause it? However, all other motor oil campanies have all their motor oil API approved.
They do their own test and post their own results and then compare them with the other brands in their own labs. Even so they cannot boast of having the best results in all aspects of testing. The four ball wear test is why they claim to be the best but what they did not tell you, is was for the 2000 series only. And other oil had the same result as amsoil like Valvolene Synpower. But if you do a little research you would find that no engine is subjected to such extreme pressure. They claim that their product do not contain zinc which is an extreme pressure additive to prevent metal to metal contact, cause it can harm your catalist convertor. Now you see amsoil boasting of added zinc. Why will it not now harm the catalist convertor? Even in the torque test Mobil 0W40 surpassed amsoil and others, but they downplay that information.
What is important with any oil is the TBN which is the oil ability to neutralise acids.
The Cst viscosity at 40 degrees and Cst viscosity at 100 degrees. Also the Ash deposit which can cause sludge build up. And finally the oil volatility, that is the evaporation loss. The less evaporation the oil suffer the more stable it remains
No matter which oil you use do not run it for more than 15000 km, even if you change the oil filter, acids remain suspened in the oil and other particles under 5 microns which would start bonding inside your engine if left unchange.
Like I said before Amsoil is good, but Redline, Royal Purple, Mobil 1, Quaker State synthetic, Castrol syntec and other synthetic oils are equally as good and makes no difference is stock engines.

Postby r3iXmann » July 4th, 2009, 11:43 pm

ingalook wrote:
reiXmann wrote:

Exactly... tack on an extra 15-30 degrees Celsius ambient temp and 20w50 has approximately the same viscosity as 10w30

You could use 100w oil if you really wanted to... and the temperature outside was around 70 degrees Celsius -but you'd be dead

but honda engines are not designed for any 50 weight oil

40 weight oil max on older engines

chris1388

Postby chris1388 » July 4th, 2009, 11:58 pm

Amsoil does there testing and backs it up with FIGURES. They list ALL the info for you on there website for you to see. Amsoil is the first in synthetics and have been making synthetic oil way longer than any other brand. As for the API certification, i use 10-40 in my car and it is API certified. I also checked many of their other oils and it is API certified. Do you ever see mobil or royal purple ever claim to be better than amsoil or say they make false claims ?? NO they don't, they know amsoil is better and would never step out of line. They do their testing in their labs, but do you ever hear anyone oppose them?
Take a look at these:

http://www.synthetic-motor-oil-change-a ... lywork.php

http://www.synthetic-motor-oil-change-a ... mpetitors/

http://www.synthetic-motor-oil-change-a ... stions.php

Amsoil guarantees extended drain intervals, much longer than that 15000km you have said, and if the oil does not uphold to this then why don't we see bad rumours going around or why are they not sued for false advertising?????

praise

Postby praise » July 5th, 2009, 9:20 pm

Firstly those testing was done since 2003 so that's outdated information since oil's has improved and change since then even in the grading, so using 2003 comparison to prove that Amsoil is better is like comparing West Indies criket side in the early 80's and saying West Indies is the best criket side in the World.
Yes Amsoil guarantees extended drain interval over 25000 miles, but you cannot sue a company if your engine fails because you cannot prove that Amsoil oil was the cause of your engine failure in court. Remember they also said that extended drain interval, is not for severe service and you must also use amsoil oil and air filter as well and must replace the oil filter at various intervals, so they can find many ways out.
Your arguement that the other oil companies would love to see them out of business is poor. So many other products have competitor like Alcoholic drinks, Pepsi and Coke and while they compete for a share of the market, they don't go spending money to close down the competition. In fact they would hate to see that either one of them close down or go out of business. It would be bad publicity for the comodity, just as how banks compete against each other for your business.
Let Amsoil post 2009 test results and you would be most surprise to see the results against the competition, but that you will never see.

chris1388

Postby chris1388 » July 5th, 2009, 10:11 pm

I hear ur pal, but to my knwoledge i have never on the net anywhere heard anyone say anything bad about amsoil, from the time you start searching the net for the best oil in the world all you see is amsoil. But fair enough, i will continue with my amsoil and you with which ever oil you use and everyone remains happy :lol:

praise

Postby praise » July 6th, 2009, 6:40 am

I like meaning full discussion and so I must thank you for keeping it that way. Too many times we find so much hatred being poured against each other in these forum's. Mutual respect is so rare in these times. Thanks again.
I am not going to point out any negative comments about amsoil or any other oil although I do know about a certain car manufacturer who did not recommend amsoil in their engines after it was discovered that it caused some problems. I use amsoil in a lot of cars that I service and even my own but would never recommend an oil change beyond 15000km. The reason being is that a test was done on a fleet of New York Taxi Cabs. Amsoil and other synthetic oil was filled in them and then an oil analysis was done at 5000 km and then every 2000 km until 11000km.
Then after that at every 1000km. The result was good until approx. 19000km amsoil included. This was with engines that holds approximately 6 qts of oil. At each oil sample new oil was added to replace the oil taken out for the sample.
The analysis was that the oil held up because it was refreshed by new oil being added ever so often and because of the quantity of oil viz 6 qts. However because most of our cars holds only 4 qts of oil and because our fuel leaves a lot of deposits I do not recommend more than 15000km or 1 year, which ever comes first.

Postby r3iXmann » July 6th, 2009, 9:09 am

to think neil just wanted to know what was the oem spec oil eh.. :|

chris1388

Postby chris1388 » July 6th, 2009, 11:17 am

But isn't that 15000km or one year you can get with the amsoil still better than nearly all the other oils?
Also i would like to see/read the original article which documented the above tests on the taxi cabs. Is there a link? Can you send it?

And reixmann, yes the man just wanted to know that but ent allur answer him way back top ah the thread :lol:

neilspeed___

Postby neilspeed___ » July 6th, 2009, 11:55 am

reiXmann wrote:to think neil just wanted to know what was the oem spec oil eh.. :|

:lol: nah all the info. is good..much appreciated :!:

Return to “HONDA”