snow tyres work great on gravel :!:

Postby tr1ad » June 29th, 2009, 11:04 pm

ralllllllyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy

vans

Postby vans » June 29th, 2009, 11:06 pm

serious. i does be on 3ne2ner all day err day. and i swear i does learn something new ever hour.

Postby DFC » June 29th, 2009, 11:07 pm

gyaah...there is snow ontop mt. el tucuche

Postby tr1ad » June 29th, 2009, 11:08 pm

soooooo the op tryin to make fun of a guy sellin snow tyres?

check d ttrc section or d events section.....snow tyres are good gravel tyres

Postby tr1ad » June 29th, 2009, 11:21 pm

if is wet road...is pressure....dem is like nexen....dry weather tyre

vans

Postby vans » June 29th, 2009, 11:29 pm

is it easy to differentiate snow tyres from regurlar tyres?

Postby Maserati » June 29th, 2009, 11:31 pm

I done tell all yuh in another thread they will wear down very very fast on hot tarmac, waste of $ for daily driving.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 29th, 2009, 11:34 pm

vans wrote:is it easy to differentiate snow tyres from regurlar tyres?

the thread often looks like this

and it usually has a lil marking on it of a snowflake or something suggesting snow as shown in (1)

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 29th, 2009, 11:35 pm

^ but cool to go driving on some cane field gravel roads, which we have plenty of

vans wrote:is it easy to differentiate snow tyres from regurlar tyres?

the thread often looks like this

and it usually has a lil marking on it of a snowflake or something suggesting snow as shown in (1)

vans

Postby vans » June 29th, 2009, 11:38 pm

thanks Duane 3NE 2NR. but which such thick rubber why does it wear so quickly if Maserati is correct. is the composition of the material itself different to those of normal tyres

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 29th, 2009, 11:44 pm

^ the design of the tread and the compound of the rubber.
they are not designed for long wearing on tarmac as street radials are.

Most snow tyres that you find coming here on passenger vehicles or being sold used are M+S or mud and snow tyres - also shown in the diagram above

Postby RBphoto » June 30th, 2009, 7:41 am

A friend of mine got these on his civic when it came RORO. He did not change them and ended up changing both front wheel bearings. They make a kinda rumbling noise on the road and a lot of harsh vibration.

Postby wagonrunner » June 30th, 2009, 8:32 am

crossdrilled wrote:A friend of mine got these on his civic when it came RORO. He did not change them and ended up changing both front wheel bearings. They make a kinda rumbling noise on the road and a lot of harsh vibration.

the rumbling noise is because of the space between the lugs, the harsh vibration............ that car had it's problems before the tires were put on.

De Bench

Postby De Bench » June 30th, 2009, 8:36 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:snow tyres work great on gravel :!:

Dunae, you'r 1/2 right.

Snow tires only work well in Muddy Conditions.

If you had run RT09 with sown tires it would have been tragic, the tire does not have the compound to deal with hard and hot conditions. Further to that, the sideways action in those conditions will chunk out the tires, by the 4th stage grip will be a wish.

In the mud it will excel, not better than a rally tire, but better than a normal tire.

Postby Ignorant Ignis » June 30th, 2009, 9:34 am

De Bench wrote:

Dunae, you'r 1/2 right.

If you had run RT09 with sown tires it would have been tragic, the tire does not have the compound to deal with hard and hot conditions. Further to that, the sideways action in those conditions will chunk out the tires, by the 4th stage grip will be a wish.

In the mud it will excel, not better than a rally tire, but better than a normal tire.

bench is correct ... i used m+s tires this year and found the street tires i used last year gave more grip.

cornfused

Postby cornfused » June 30th, 2009, 9:44 am

before the technology of street/strip tyres a few years ago in smallish hp application we found them to provide more grip than the typical radial (in a street acing application)

Postby SmokeyGTi » June 30th, 2009, 9:59 am

my father had some on our 910 bluebird once in trinidad. got them ona special.

looked strange, sounded funny and loud but lasted years.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 30th, 2009, 2:00 pm

Ignorant Ignis wrote:
De Bench wrote:

Dunae, you'r 1/2 right.

bench is correct ... i used m+s tires this year and found the street tires i used last year gave more grip.

well I wasnt talking about a rally car per se
If you are going to build a rally car then you should very well be using proper rally tyres depending on the surface.

vans

Postby vans » July 1st, 2009, 7:38 am

thanks to duane i realise that i rolling on snow tyres :lol: i sell my rims and put on steels and i make out the grip on the tyres then saw the marking. i swear them thing riding like shiet

Postby ~Vēġó~ » July 1st, 2009, 3:43 pm

oh so dais why them fkn tyre done so fast.......M+S

Postby wagonrunner » July 1st, 2009, 3:49 pm

~˜VëgŲ˜~ wrote:oh so dais why them fkn tyre done so fast.......M+S

not all M & S wear the same. also don't think all M&S are "snow tires".
been using tires with that grading for some time now. i do think i get avg / better than avg life out of them.
they last almost a year. i'd say 50-60,000km.

RuMS

Re: snow tyres????????

Postby RuMS » May 10th, 2015, 2:25 pm

could anyone confirm if snow tyres are legal or illigal in TT?

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » May 10th, 2015, 4:35 pm

RuMS wrote:could anyone confirm if snow tyres are legal or illigal in TT?

very legal, dais why bureau of standards doz seize dem

RuMS

Postby RuMS » May 11th, 2015, 11:04 am

For general information, I called the bureau of standards (Automotive unit in the Implementation division) and was told that snow, and mud and snow tyres are infact Legal.

Snow tyres with studs are illegal.

Postby MG Man » May 11th, 2015, 11:25 am

jus so nobody eh start on OP case, dissa old ched de man bump...

Re:

Postby RBphoto » May 11th, 2015, 3:43 pm

tr1ad wrote:if is wet road...is pressure....dem is like nexen....dry weather tyre

Dfack wrong with Nexen?

eurogirl

Re: Re:

Postby eurogirl » May 11th, 2015, 3:52 pm

RBphoto wrote:
tr1ad wrote:if is wet road...is pressure....dem is like nexen....dry weather tyre

Dfack wrong with Nexen?

same thing i'm thinking ? :|

Re: Re:

Postby skylinechild » May 12th, 2015, 7:53 pm

eurogirl wrote:
RBphoto wrote:

Dfack wrong with Nexen?

same thing i'm thinking ? :|

hi eurogirl i miss yuh real real bad inno...:oops: :oops: