wtk: how to wire 4 dual4 subs on a 1 ohm amp

Nathan

wtk: how to wire 4 dual4 subs on a 1 ohm amp

Postby Nathan » June 26th, 2009, 7:33 am

i was wondering how to wire this... im using 4 dual 4 old moddel pioneer aand want to put it on a 2000 piccasso which is a 1 ohm amp... i was wondering at what ohm would the amp go down to.......... and as for current im going to use 1 stinger spv70..... please help me with the wiring

a little louder

Postby a little louder » June 26th, 2009, 7:43 am

it will only be able to go to 1/2 ohm or 2ohm (8ohm also) not 1ohm
try the 1/2ohm who knows the amp might not trip or blow any fuses
:twisted:

Nathan

Postby Nathan » June 26th, 2009, 8:32 am

alwright bro........... but it may be dangerous for the amp??... ill rather the 1/2 ohm............ thanks.. i still want to get 2nd and third opinions on this

casper

Postby casper » June 26th, 2009, 8:47 am

^^^u said you rather 1/2 ohm cuz it less dangerous???? :|

madman.devin

Postby madman.devin » June 26th, 2009, 9:01 am

i say run it 2 ohm, less power to speaker but u won't have to buy an amplifier in the near future.

Postby SR » June 26th, 2009, 9:03 am

use one coil from each sub and short the other coil

or configure to 2 ohm

if its the older model pioneer subs then you wont need "2000watts" to play them

govin1231

Postby govin1231 » June 26th, 2009, 11:03 am

Nathan

Postby Nathan » June 26th, 2009, 11:08 am

SR wrote:use one coil from each sub and short the other coil

or configure to 2 ohm

thanks bro this making alot of sense

Nathan

Postby Nathan » June 26th, 2009, 11:11 am

or configure to 2 ohm

thanks bro this making alot of sense

Nathan

Postby Nathan » June 26th, 2009, 11:14 am

casper wrote:^^^u said you rather 1/2 ohm cuz it less dangerous???? :|

lol no i know its more dangerous but i only wanted to do it for two car shows, i heard there is one in center of excillence on the 5th and well i know there is one on the 12th............. kinda afraid to go that one (shorts) disrespectful audio launching on that date.. 4 12, 9512.. anyways thanks for all the help..... alot every1

elantra

Postby elantra » June 29th, 2009, 9:43 pm

series parallel them...
one @ 2 another @ 8 ohm (parallel) = 1.6ohm
same config for the other 2.. then parallel both sets will give u about 0.8 ohms

Postby 3stagevtec » July 1st, 2009, 1:09 am

elantra wrote:series parallel them...
one @ 2 another @ 8 ohm (parallel) = 1.6ohm
same config for the other 2.. then parallel both sets will give u about 0.8 ohms

nope.. the series pair will receive ALOT less power because of the higher impedance..

in other words the power will not be distributed evenly..

Proof:
Power = (Voltage x Voltage) / Impedance

from the above, low impedance will cause high power and vise versa..

Postby 3stagevtec » July 1st, 2009, 1:13 am

or configure to 2 ohm

i just gotta highlight that part...

i will not recommend only using one coil.. unless you really know what you're doing..

Postby kurpal_v2 » July 1st, 2009, 8:04 am

i will not recommend only using one coil.. unless you really know what you're doing..

care to elaborate?

Postby 3stagevtec » July 1st, 2009, 1:54 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:

care to elaborate?

no problem..

Nathan wrote:4 12, 9512..

:fadein:

Postby kurpal_v2 » July 1st, 2009, 1:58 pm

No No he padna who comming out gonna use that..

But what are the downsides to using ONE coil on a DUAL coil sub? Except the obvious.

Postby 3stagevtec » July 1st, 2009, 2:12 pm

there was an article on that somewhere.. there are certain advantages, you can add a variable resistor to one coil which can then be used to vary certain TS parameters, so you can 'tune' the sub to your liking..

imo, this is really for the SQ guys who are looking to get the best performance out of their systems for competition use..

your average Joe will fry their sub doing this..

Nathan

Postby Nathan » July 2nd, 2009, 8:54 am

3stagevtec wrote:there was an article on that somewhere.. there are certain advantages, you can add a variable resistor to one coil which can then be used to vary certain TS parameters, so you can 'tune' the sub to your liking..

imo, this is really for the SQ guys who are looking to get the best performance out of their systems for competition use..

your average Joe will fry their sub doing this..

thanks bro i wired the subs at 2 ohms and got through with everything thanks