Ministry to text SEA results

ray d saint

Ministry to text SEA results

Postby ray d saint » May 15th, 2009, 7:03 am

http://www.newsday.co.tt/news/0,100172.html

At 2 pm on Thursday, June 25, primary school students can check their cellphones for a “textâ€

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 15th, 2009, 7:09 am

I, for one, like the idea.

Just hope it works as planned.

Postby janfar » May 15th, 2009, 7:16 am

Now I can see this ending up in uproar.

enigma

Postby enigma » May 15th, 2009, 7:19 am

This go be real mess. wrong text, late text, never get text, etc etc....

Postby buzz » May 15th, 2009, 7:19 am

She justified the text initiative by saying her ministry has a policy to recognise the value of mobile devices in teaching and learning.

spend 100K just for the sake of "valuing" technology? :roll:

when an organisation embarks on setting up an infomation system the "frivolity" of technology is the least important driving factor

typical trini mentality @ work - buy a phone with a sh1t load of features that you cant/dont use

the only good see in this is privacy, that is of course if they stop printing children's results in the dailys

which IMO was a blatant violation of ppl's privacy

Postby janfar » May 15th, 2009, 7:28 am

buzz wrote:
She justified the text initiative by saying her ministry has a policy to recognise the value of mobile devices in teaching and learning.

spend 100K just for the sake of "valuing" technology? :roll:

when an organisation embarks on setting up an infomation system the "frivolity" of technology is the least important driving factor

typical trini mentality @ work - buy a phone with a sh1t load of features that you cant/dont use

the only good see in this is privacy, that is of course if they stop printing children's results in the dailys

which IMO was a blatant violation of ppl's privacy

Long time was even worse when yuh check through the whole paper and yuh name not there.

:pwned:

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 15th, 2009, 7:29 am

this is simply an option.

if you wish you can still go to the school to collect results.

gosh i hate the pnm too, but everything alyuh go fight down so? :|

Postby Greypatch » May 15th, 2009, 7:29 am

dat moey could be used elsewhere...

watch how dem guh be owing TSTT now

Riley2008

Postby Riley2008 » May 15th, 2009, 7:30 am

They should keep the conventional method, money spending to send text and more money to print result slips.

That not going to help anybody just more headache in the long run. Technology has a funny way of scewing up the simpliest things.

Also the website needs amending..

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 15th, 2009, 7:32 am

Greypatch wrote:dat moey could be used elsewhere...

watch how dem guh be owing TSTT now

patch, honestly i prefer the money be used for tangible results and not end up in someone's pocket.

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 15th, 2009, 7:33 am

Riley2008 wrote:They should keep the conventional method, money spending to send text and more money to print result slips.

That not going to help anybody just more headache in the long run. Technology has a funny way of scewing up the simpliest things.

Also the website needs amending..

people who cant use technology also have a way of screwing up simple things too.

Postby buzz » May 15th, 2009, 7:34 am

yup computers don't make errors :arrow:

Tarantula

Postby Tarantula » May 15th, 2009, 7:51 am

but $100,000 to text results? get firetruck real!!!!

Yorkshirelass
CARS Member

Postby Yorkshirelass » May 15th, 2009, 8:09 am

My son is to receive his results that day, and I for one, would not like to receive it via text.
"The issue of psychological support for students getting results had been considered, she said, saying the texts would be received by them when they were in school and with their teachers" - this is nonsensical cos if they recommend you being in school and they already printed the slips, whats the point of sending a text.
It is a waste of $100,000 that could be spent else where in the education system

serendipity

Postby serendipity » May 15th, 2009, 8:40 am

waste of money :?

Riley2008

Postby Riley2008 » May 15th, 2009, 8:47 am

It is just a tactic used “for a showâ€

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » May 15th, 2009, 8:53 am

urabus

Postby urabus » May 15th, 2009, 9:01 am

so r they encouraging students to have cell phones on them?
thought u were not allowed cell phones and if u did, it was to be switched off during school hours?

its an excellent initiative, but i think it go buss..this is just Trinidad

Postby SmokeyGTi » May 15th, 2009, 9:05 am

dem small man cyar fake dey results slip again

dey parents getting it live on dey phones

Postby teems1 » May 15th, 2009, 9:16 am

waste of money.

TSTT woke me up 5am to tell me 'Thanks for topping up, heres some free top up' days after I put money on my phone.

If they can't get their message system working properly, don't use it for something like this which is important.

Postby Greypatch » May 15th, 2009, 9:34 am

100k down de drain.

Jonathan

Postby Jonathan » May 15th, 2009, 10:00 am

teems1 wrote:waste of money.

TSTT woke me up 5am to tell me 'Thanks for topping up, heres some free top up' days after I put money on my phone.

If they can't get their message system working properly, don't use it for something like this which is important.

Yuh done know... I got 6 texts from last week just now.

Postby Aaron 2NR » May 15th, 2009, 11:38 am

so students allowed to have their cell phones in schools now

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 15th, 2009, 12:08 pm

maybe they using the other network

missy#1

Postby missy#1 » May 15th, 2009, 1:05 pm

enigma wrote:This go be real mess. wrong text, late text, never get text, etc etc....

Especially with how bmobile network screwing up these days.

D3monic

Postby D3monic » May 15th, 2009, 1:10 pm

teems1, i get about 10 of those same messages since i top about 4 days ago....all different times of the day and night real annoying !

Postby M_2NR » May 15th, 2009, 5:02 pm

^yup.. i getting text all hours from ppl... jeez tstt... if i coulda switch to the other network already...soon yes

But back to this issue. that is a blatant waste of $100,000 we in a recession and thats where that money going.. jeez

what happen to lining up the children and parents watching and tension building up... :?

bOOsTmaN

Postby bOOsTmaN » May 15th, 2009, 5:20 pm

yuh kno how long time u woulda be frighten to get yuh report book and thing.. now them chren go be frighten to open text from their skool...

sputhtuner

Postby sputhtuner » May 15th, 2009, 11:14 pm

Technology is good to embrace but that why it have CXC- IT being offered to those who want to embrace it so much not spending 100k!!
SUMMIT DONE!!! They with this show off sheit still.
The 100K should have been used to repair or rebuild schools like the Rousillac Pres and many others.

Why she didnt pay the children GCE fees???dam show off!!

Postby buzz » May 15th, 2009, 11:19 pm

sputhtuner wrote:Technology is good to embrace but that why it have CXC- IT being offered to those who want to embrace it so much not spending 100k!!
SUMMIT DONE!!! They with this show off sheit still.
The 100K should have been used to repair or rebuild schools like the Rousillac Pres and many others.

Why she didnt pay the children GCE fees???dam show off!!

thank you sir