A relay hookup question!!

D_bodyguard

A relay hookup question!!

Postby D_bodyguard » May 10th, 2009, 8:01 pm

ok i installed 2 relays on my headlights awhile back but i want to know something .In my headlights when you put on the low bean the LB filament energises and when for the HB the HB filamant comes on .......what i want to do is get the LB and HB on when i call for the HB

hookup of relay

87 is output
86 is input
85 is ground
30 is positive

so remember i have 2 relays 1 for HB and 1 For LB

what if i take a output from the HB relay and insert it into the input of the LB relay for it to come on this way when i put on the LB 1 lights up and when i put on HB the 2 lights up

question is

1. Will this damage any of the relays
2. will this damage my plastic headlights
3. Will this work :lol:

to me it will work in practical but it better to be safe than sorry !!!

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » May 10th, 2009, 8:09 pm

get a 5 pin relay for the low beam and connect high beam out put to pin 87a :D

deltamike

Postby deltamike » May 10th, 2009, 8:20 pm

I dont know if i am understanding this thing properly. I was of the opinion that when you are on LB the HB is off and when you go to HB both LB and HB is on.so WHY ? :?

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » May 10th, 2009, 9:20 pm

D_bodyguard

Postby D_bodyguard » May 10th, 2009, 9:31 pm

^^ no not in all vehicles .........that's why the need for this upgrade!!!

megadoc1 you sure that's correct causing i thought that the 87a pin is active when the relay has no input ??? correct me if am wrong!!!

D_bodyguard

Postby D_bodyguard » May 10th, 2009, 9:35 pm

yes anil thats how i have it but what i'm saying is that the inputs are separated

when LB on LB light on and when HB on HB lights up

but i want LB and HB to light at the same time for the HB switch!!!

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » May 10th, 2009, 9:51 pm

D_bodyguard wrote:^^ no not in all vehicles .........that's why the need for this upgrade!!!

megadoc1 you sure that's correct causing i thought that the 87a pin is active when the relay has no input ??? correct me if am wrong!!!
sorry my bad make pin 30 your output on the five pin relay by swapping it with pin 87
then redo what i first said

D_bodyguard

Postby D_bodyguard » May 10th, 2009, 10:04 pm

ok i kinda confused

30-Power from Battery
85-'trip' wire
86-Ground
87-Power out #1
87a-Power out #2(power when relay has no input)

so you saying to wire it like this

30-power out#1
85-trip wire
86-ground
87-power from battery
87a- power#2

don't think that will work cause its either power #1 on or #2 on but i looking for phase 1(low beam) for #1 to be on and phase 2 (high beam) for me to get power to #1 and #2!!!

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » May 10th, 2009, 10:06 pm

yes thats it for LB
it will work
high beam hooks up on a normal 4 pin relay

wait hold up lets do it this way
look at the diagram Anil_Sooknanan, posted
get a diode and put it across pins 86 on both relays
with the the band on the diode towards the LB relay

D_bodyguard

Postby D_bodyguard » May 10th, 2009, 10:33 pm

so is #1 for low beam and #2 for high beam ?? or the other way around!!!

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » May 10th, 2009, 11:09 pm

try this [ Image

and the easiest way

this is what a diode looks like

D_bodyguard

Postby D_bodyguard » May 11th, 2009, 9:52 am

kk i will try the doide ...but do i need any special rated diode ????

cjawahir

Re: A relay hookup question!!

Postby cjawahir » May 11th, 2009, 11:35 am

[quote="D_bodyguard"] what i want to do is get the LB and HB on when i call for the HB

this will cause the bulb to overheat and melt the connector .

cj

D_bodyguard

Postby D_bodyguard » May 11th, 2009, 11:48 am

you sure .......cause some vehicles has this hookup and i checked 2 vehicles with this hookup and the connectors that i have stock is the same ..........plus will the bulb relly overheat cause other vehicles has it hooked up as i said and nothing wrong with it .!!????

but to be safe is there any place that sells the connectors or do i have to use slip on pins :(

cjawahir

Postby cjawahir » May 11th, 2009, 12:03 pm

i saw it on a b14 and the man always changing the connectors, think about it, a total of about 90w on for a long time will cause it to overheat.

but if for a short time only may get away with it .

cj

D_bodyguard

Postby D_bodyguard » May 11th, 2009, 1:33 pm

well i am not going and always use my hi beam ....is only in bushy places but i understand what you are saying !!

i wonder if there is a diferent type of connector that will be able to withstand the heat??? or do i relly have to use the slip on pins !!!

Postby Hook » May 11th, 2009, 1:49 pm

Megadoc's got the diagrams right

but the only way one would need low and high beams on at the same time is if your headlight system uses separate bulbs for high and low beam (eg. if u convert from a stock H4 setup to a dual bulb/projector setup), other than that, u run the risk of melting connectors and shortening the lifespan of the bulbs

if u REALLY want to do it on a standard H4 bulb, u gonna hafta look around for the ceramic connectors that can take the heat and use a good thick ground wire per connector...oh and be prepared to change bulbs often

D_bodyguard

Postby D_bodyguard » May 11th, 2009, 3:18 pm

^^ i was waiting to hear what you had to say ....but would this give off more heat than the 100 watt bulbs and them???

Postby Hook » May 11th, 2009, 3:37 pm

I don't quite understand ur question, but since both filaments are being used, u gonna be generating much more heat than what u ordinarily would with just one filament in use

as relates to light distribution, notice that when only one filament at a time is being used, the portion of the roadway that would've been brightly lit by the low beam (closer to the vehicle), when high beams are on, that area is actually a bit dimmer and the beam is wider and focused much higher

it stands to reason now that with both filaments lit, u'll get the best of both worlds, but the downside is that u can't use it too often because of the heat it can generate (and then u can't use those Osram/Sylvania Silverstars that all the cool kids using these days)

but as u mention the blue bulbs there, it has me wondering why u desire more light output...see here

try it the normal wiring with a better set of bulbs (u could try those uber cool Silverstars I just spoke about or a cheaper bulb that's REALLY good like the Phoenix Arctic Mega White 4600K which is like 1/3rd the price and IMO is just as good without the funky blue/purple coating)

if u not satisfied then maybe a stealth install with some auxiliary lights hidden somewhere (like maybe behind ur grille) for driving down those dark country roads at night...notice I trying to steer u away from the hi+low beam thing eh :wink:

D_bodyguard

Postby D_bodyguard » May 11th, 2009, 4:04 pm

yeah i open to anything that is safe and better than the stock lights ........reason being is that the kinda places i does pass through is essential that i see good but i doh want to go into expensive stuff na .......

i know the blue bulbs are sheit and it does tint the lights not the filament ......thise why i said that i doh wah it....jes used it to reperesent the heat it let out

Phoenix Arctic Mega White 4600K where you get it and wah price if you know??

"if u not satisfied then maybe a stealth install with some auxiliary lights hidden somewhere (like maybe behind ur grille)"

hell noo ...yh wah meh look getto or wah :lol:

"notice I trying to steer u away from the hi+low beam thing eh Wink"

I realise and i happy you did .........so the new question wey ah getting good bulbs to buy and is not too expensive????

:?

Postby Hook » May 11th, 2009, 4:34 pm

I get my bulbs at Rev Tek on St. Michael Rd. in Tacarigua but ur location says P-town so I dunno if/where u'll get it there nuh

and at ~$80 a pair which lasts about 1.5years (I do most of my driving at night anyway, nocturnal bastard that I am)

I'll post a pic of the packaging when I get home 2nite so maybe it'll help u in ur search...or if I making any trips south side I can holla and pick u up a pair once you're good for the money

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » May 11th, 2009, 5:02 pm

megadoc1, tuner's # electrician :lol: :lol: :wink:

D_bodyguard

Postby D_bodyguard » May 11th, 2009, 5:45 pm

^^yh understand :lol: ...
....and Anil_Sooknanan the EVERYTHING and ANYTHING MAN:lol:

Hook yeah man jes tell meh when and i go see if i gots the money but how do they show compared to other bulbs??

Postby Hook » May 11th, 2009, 6:01 pm

I can't stand the funky blue tinted bulbs...they cool to look at, but completely useless on wet roads

and the clear (untinted) bulbs are okay, but the colour temperature is low so it appears dim unless u using a 130/100W bulb (which used waay too much current)

why I like this type pf Phoenix brand bulbs is that they have an iridescent coating on 'em which makes them look oily when u hold them up to the light, but when lit, they give off a colour that's very close to white (u can see the difference when u have one clear and one Phoenix bulb in each headlight and compare on a wall or road surface)

I'd take a pic but then they'd hafta pay me lol

what I did with my AE80 was I had a pair of Hella Optilux 1100 projector fogs mounted very low on the bumper with those same bulbs but in H3...4" off the ground on the car and same 4" off the ground 20ft away(cuz they were projectors nuh)...those early morning Toco runs in the mountain fog was like driving on a white carpet, even in the wet

D_bodyguard

Postby D_bodyguard » May 11th, 2009, 8:02 pm

orrr thise the white ones i see ...........i thaught all ah them was the blue tinted ones that gives the look of white..........tell meh when yh reach by the store na ......sounds like it will show pretty good!!!

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » May 11th, 2009, 9:52 pm

Anil_Sooknanan wrote:megadoc1, tuner's # electrician :lol: :lol: :wink:
lol cool but i aint all that

D_bodyguard

Postby D_bodyguard » May 11th, 2009, 9:58 pm

yh good enough hosss :lol: :lol:!!

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » May 11th, 2009, 10:53 pm

10 yrs + in the business :lol: :lol: i was still in primary school :mrgreen:

D_bodyguard

Postby D_bodyguard » May 11th, 2009, 11:25 pm

megadoc1 in yh avater how yh look like yh was cutting cane with the hat :lol: anytime yh post i have to ketch ah jones .....lard yh not easy na :mrgreen: .......but doh digg no horras yh looking good.......aye 10+ thise rell wisdom there baii!!!

D_bodyguard

Re: A relay hookup question!!

Postby D_bodyguard » May 22nd, 2010, 3:02 pm

what you looking for then hoss ?