B14 temp guage went up....help needed!

drunkenscorpion

B14 temp guage went up....help needed!

Postby drunkenscorpion » May 4th, 2009, 3:31 pm

Ok...so the scenario is that I am driving into town with AC on, and all of a sudden I start to feel warm in the car, looked at my temp guage, and seeing it climbing. Took off ac, sent down windows and reduced my speed.....this was morning traffic, so I wasnt driving hard.....and noticed the guage starting to normalize. Didnt notice any smoke or anything, so I decided to continue to drive...I was on the beetham btw, so I wasnt stopping there. Everytime I tried to accelerate, the guage started going back up, and I was hearing a difference in the engine. So I had to coast into POS.

I went straight to L&G as it was the only place I could've reached at the time, explained my problem, and left the car there. The mechanics checked the vehicle, pressure tested the rad, did an electrical check, and test drove the car in POS for 20 min wit ac on and came up with nothing! The car was driving normal, the problem never came back.

What I need to know is what could possibly have caused the problem, and what other tests I can do to try and make sure it doesnt happen again?

Postby buzz » May 4th, 2009, 3:46 pm

What I need to know is what could possibly have caused the problem, and what other tests I can do to try and make sure it doesnt happen again?

did you ask the mech's that same question?

drunkenscorpion

Postby drunkenscorpion » May 4th, 2009, 3:54 pm

buzz wrote:

did you ask the mech's that same question?

Yup, they had no answer because they did not experience it in the car....go figure. One person told me that it could be the thermostat went on the blitz, not sure how true that could be.

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » May 4th, 2009, 5:07 pm

could be true the thermostat playing up, Coolant temp sensor malfunction, or the fans on the way out

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » May 4th, 2009, 7:29 pm

^^ sounds good Also check the fans themselves bro.. check them.. pull the plug on the sensor and see if they are coming on and if so what their circulation is like.

Did you see any oil mixing in the coolant in the rad and over flow bottle?

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » May 5th, 2009, 7:03 am

Anil_Sooknanan wrote:could be true the thermostat playing up, Coolant temp sensor malfunction, or the fans on the way out

X2!

ruffrider27

Postby ruffrider27 » May 5th, 2009, 8:50 am

got the same problem with my b14 it was the water pump going talk done

drunkenscorpion

Postby drunkenscorpion » May 5th, 2009, 12:07 pm

.:PROZAC:.. wrote:^^ sounds good Also check the fans themselves bro.. check them.. pull the plug on the sensor and see if they are coming on and if so what their circulation is like.

Did you see any oil mixing in the coolant in the rad and over flow bottle?

Fans working good...first thing I checked for myself. And no....head gasket still good...no oil mixing in coolant.

drunkenscorpion

Postby drunkenscorpion » May 5th, 2009, 12:09 pm

ruffrider27 wrote:got the same problem with my b14 it was the water pump going talk done

How do you check to see if the water pump is going?

drunkenscorpion

Postby drunkenscorpion » May 7th, 2009, 4:03 pm

Happened again last night while driving down the highway :cry: Will carry the car to an electrician to have it checked out. Once the car is switched off for a few hrs, the problem goes away.

In the mean time, any other reasons/suggestions?

Postby buzz » May 7th, 2009, 10:10 pm

could really be a water pump problem when i think about it

blew a head cylinder gasket like that :x

debadlad

Postby debadlad » May 8th, 2009, 10:31 pm

got a water pump cheap if you need one

quendell

Postby quendell » May 9th, 2009, 10:31 am

dude it's either the water pump or the fans one out of the two but trust me those fans have a funny way about them. the play games with yuh head work one minute and dont the next sometimes all it takes is a pot hole and they trip off and stick it happened to me and when ever i check they seemed to be working fine lol if not the fans water pump bro

dbaby

Postby dbaby » May 9th, 2009, 8:31 pm

Some b14 fans relay tends to play the a$$ at time also the coolant temp. sensor as well you have to check them properly,also a good idea is to replace the themostat,oh i see you have some great advice from the top :lol:

drunkenscorpion

Postby drunkenscorpion » May 12th, 2009, 7:39 pm

Update- Radiator is said to be filled with sludge. How that happened?...I don't know. Suggested to change radiator as the water is not being visibly circulating when car is running. A flush, as the mechanic said, will not make a difference given the amount of sludge found. Honestly, can't remember doing a rad flush any time in the past. Head gasket seems to be intact at this point. Building a radiator tomorrow, and then doing a full service on the car. Mech said it makes no sense checking everything else until the rad is changed....i.e. water pump, thermostat etc. Never did any rad work in the past 5 years....guess its about time.

Adrenalinerush

Postby Adrenalinerush » May 13th, 2009, 11:51 pm

fuh real...I bought a 300zx on saturday, so I peltin comin down the road...next time I checked the temp, ting almost to H so I pull aside one time. when we really check it, the radiator had realll rusty water (who puts water in a VG30 radiator?!?! coolant ftw! :!: ) anyway, I drained it, and bought the flush (still in the system for one more day) but ever since I did that preliminary flush (and after all that gunk came out), I never see the temp move a mm above normal...even when I hittin the rev limiter at 7000 rpm :wink:
water = rust buildup = sludge = BAD heat exchange properties = overheating :|

*which is why yuh supposed to use COOLANT :idea:

drunkenscorpion

Postby drunkenscorpion » May 14th, 2009, 11:35 am

Yeah, had coolant in the rad, but since the initial overheat, I started putting water.

Update: Seems the connection at the back to the engine from the radiator is broken due to wear and tear, and the corrosion that was in the rad. This is what caused a leak that could not be seen causing the overheat as the water leaked out the rad.